We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week away”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Never knew a getaway could be so wonderful thanks to the staff at the Marshall House. The personal attention to our every needs made it a trip to remember. Love Savannah will definately be back, at the Marshall House.

Room Tip: The staff knows all the best site and do take the trolley tour. The hotel has a history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,110 - 2,116 of 2,854 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had stayed at the Marshall house two years ago and this time returned with another couple. From the greeting at the door, the friendly and helpful staff made our stay very enjoyable. The rooms were delightful and the included breakfast, and wine and cheese hour, hit the spot. The hotel has a very relaxed ambiance and the decor, while historical, was comfortable. The location is central to the heart of Savannah and convenient to amenities, attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at the Marshall House Hotel in Savannah, Ga.
The service was impeccable from the moment we pulled up and had our car Valet parked.
The front desk service was friendly and timely. We loved the hotel decor and it's historic
feel. We were pleasantly suprised by the beautiful opulence felt in our room. The comfy bed, big flat screen tv, original wood floors and claw foot bathtub. Everything made us feel at home and like wewere living history in style and comfort.
Let's not forget the wine and cheese each evening and the hot or continental full breakfast
offered each morning.
This hotel will be our pick every year for sure. Hopefully, we can afford to visit more often.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juretha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this property because we were attending a wedding reception at the hotel. We booked room 215 which had a King Bed and also had a balcony. The balcony can only be reached if you book one of the special 2'nd floor rooms facing the street. The balcony is accessed through a window in the room. If you have mobility problems this could be an issue. The room was spacious and decorated nicely with extremely high ceilings. The bathroom was a tad small, but very clean. The bathroom contained a claw foot tub with a shower attachment. Some people in previous reviews complained about street noise, which there is, but it wasn't as loud as some past reviewers made it sound. The king bed slept great. I heard some of the rooms were a bit small.

The ambiance of the hotel made this stay worthwhile. Also the location is in the middle of the historic district, in which you can walk to a plethora of historic buildings, restaurants, shops, etc. A breakfast is served in an atrium that includes quiche, bagels, cereals, etc. Also on most nights there is a wine and cheese reception. Did not see or hear any ghosts though.

Will definitely stay here again and would recommend this place to others. There is valet parking for $15.00 per night, but there is a multi-level city garage right behind the hotel. You can either pick up a parking pass from the visitor center or pay the daily rate at the garage.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaxJaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I wanted to stay in the central historic district and this hotel was perfect. Walking distance to everything. I stayed in the Mary Marshall Suite and found it had ample amenities for a historical hotel. The staff answered all my questions and fulfilled my needs. They do not have room service so if you want something late at night forget it. Overall it was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Locojos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I went to Savannah for the first time this week and we were blown away by this hotel! We purposely chose the hotel given its historical significance and location. We often choose our accomodations based on the same criteria when travelling and therefore have stayed at a number of wonderful historic hotels. From the moment we pulled up and Bernard helped us to the time we left, it was a first class experience. We arrived right as the guest reception was taking place and it felt like home. The hotel lobby, library and bar were breathtaking and overflowing with charm. Our room (balcony level) was VERY spacious, beautifully restored and appointed. We loved the 12 foot ceilings and original floors..oh and did I mention the black and white checkered porcelain mosaic tile and clawfoot tub in the bathroom...amazing. Brant was a class act with our reservation to dinner and anything else we might possibly need. No suprise, but the complimentary breakfast was excellent and all the items appeared to be made from scratch. The atrium in which breakfast was served was equally as beautiful as the other areas in the hotel. It truly couldn't have been any better! Will never stay anywhere else in Savannah.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We just love the ambiance in this old historic hotel which is centrally located for walking to all the major attractions and restaurants. The lobby is cozy and has a free wine and cheese reception each evening and a wonderful free breakfast in the atrium with quiche and other standard items.
Even the in-room coffee is good...which usually isn't the case! The decor is very lovely. They have a bar with alot of atmosphere and the staff is very friendly and courteous. The only downside is that you either self park for $10 min. per day or valet for $15. per day. with unlimited in and out priveleges. We had a superior king room and it was very spacious. You do have to remember it is a pre civil war building and the floors are uneven and the woodwork is old...but the charm and all the artwork is well worth it. Each floor has a different theme artwork relevant to the history of Savannah. It's almost like a museum! One small complaint, the housekeeping wasn't complete...the shampoo and toilet paper weren't replenished and the coffee grinds weren't cleaned out of the pot.

Room Tip: We asked for a room overlooking Brougton street, but there really is no view worth seeing from the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LInda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 114 in Savannah
1,128 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,130 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 114 in Savannah
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,992 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $145 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing