We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

we had a great time at the Marshal house. The staff seemed to truly enjoy their job and were great. They made it easy to hang around the front room. Savannah is a great city and this is a great location from which to explore.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicaRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,948
    559
    115
    42
    25
See reviews for
499
1,470
103
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antony, France
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is really a charming hotel which has a “different” style. It has a lot of character, warm and nice atmosphere. The service is of very good quality, starting with the valet parking and including the complete staff. The rooms are clean, they are furnished in an old fashion style, but very comfortable. The welcome drink (wine and cheese) was also highly appreciated. I stayed only one night at the Marshal House, it made my stay in Savannah very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you want a great, clean, historic inn this is for you. The staff is very generous. The rooms are clean, historic with beautiful hardwood floors and furnishings. The rooms also have the best of modern technology with flat screeen tvs, and wi-fi. It's a modern romantic place! Enjoy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doubled31326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I arrived with my Mom on a Sunday evening and the only negative I have is that there was no one at valet and the young lady working at reception had not a clue what to do with my car. Luckily the Conceirge was also present and as soon as he hung up, he asked for my keys, gave me a claim ticket and made sure to document any damage. My first 2 keys did not work and when I ran down to exchange them, she did tell me to call from the house phone if the new ones did not work and she would send somone up. Sure enough, they did not work and true to her word, she sent an employee up with new keys within a minute or two, literally. The 3rd set worked.

That was the end of any inconveniences we encountered. The Room, 208 (double queen) was very spacious, clean and inviting. The beds were comfortable, with an abundance of pillows and comfy bedding.The windows in our room overlooked what is now an interior courtyard. This is not usually my favorite location due to noise but there was none. The bathroom was clean and spacious and well appointed as well.

The Marhsall House offers a wine and cheese happy hour from 5:30 - 7:00 every evening. Both nights it was well attended and we struck up a conversation with a couple of other guests and met some new people which was nice. The wine and cheese were pretty basic, as you might expect for complimentary, but the atmosphere in the lounge was excellent.

Complimentary continental breakfast is also offered every morning and the it was quite nice for complimentary and continental. The offerings included: toast, bagels, 2 types of quiche, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal assortment, muffins and pasteries, apple and orange juice and coffee. The courtyard that our room overlooked is where breakfast is served and it also was a very nice atmosphere.

The Marshall House itself is a beautiful property, with its history evident everywhere: original floors, and original guestroom doors. It has a long and interesting history, having just been restored in 1999 after nearly 50 years of being boarded up. We took a ghost tour and The Marshall House was on it, but sadly we had no enounters;)

We booked the ghost tour through the concierge, who was incredibly helfpul. This was a pleasant surprise as I had emailed the concierge prior to our visit and did not receive a reply.

The location of the hotel is perfect. You are literally within walking distance of everything. I will have hard time trying any where else in Savannah after our stay here.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms have windows that open on the 2nd floor balcony, so make sure you request this feat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathieschafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Great old hotel in the middle of the historic district. Easy walk to the river front and a number of restaurants and pubs. Beautiful lobby/sitting area. The continental breakfast is good. Highly recommend.

Armondo, member of the bell staff, was great. He remembered our names throughout the week and was always pleasant when he saw us. He was also the first impression for the hotel greeting us when we arrived and he did the hotel justice! Proved to be a valuable resource.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I are in our mid 60's and travel frequently. We are not hard to please but we do recognize quality. In all of our travels I must say that our stay at the Marshall House goes to the top of the list. The hotel staff without a doubt were the most pleasant and attentive we have ever experienced. Southern hospitality at it's best. Our room although a bit small was very comfortable.The bed and bedding were extremely confortable. The lounge area off the lobby was the perfect place to rest and read a newspaper. In fact I found it so relaxing that I briefly fell asleep one afternoon in one of the chairs. The fresh lemonade all day long was also a nice touch.
Breakfast each day was good and lots of items to choose from. The complimentary wine and cheese each evening was just great before stepping out for the evening. The location couldn't be better. Within walking distance to anywhere in the historic district. In the five days we stayed never once did we use our car. To sum it all up we had a outstanding stay at a outstanding hotel. And once again I just can't say enough good things about the hotel staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired199501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I looked at a lot of B&B's before going to Savannah. The Marshall House was recommended by three people. It is a great location and has a lot of character. The staff was outstanding in making our a stay a pleasant one. The rooms are small but clean. The size of the room did not bother me since I did not go to Savannah to sit in my room. Breakfast was great and the wine & cheese reception was a nice touch. When I go back I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 113 in Savannah
1,280 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#12 of 113 in Savannah
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 113 in Savannah
1,215 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing