We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here in Savannah!”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Marshall House is stellar.

We booked the hotel for our 10th anniversary trip, about 3 months in advance, and could one get 1 night there out of our 3 nights in Savannah…man I wish we could have gotten more. I didn’t realize until days later how great the location was but it was near perfect in the middle of all the action. It’s not often that I will point out hallways and floors in hotels but they had awesome old wood floors, and in the hall way – you could see the sagging of the floors between joists. Inside our room we could feel the gentle slope down towards the hallway. As odd as it is to say – it really gave the hotel character.

I've stayed inmany other old/historical hotels and they’re usually either too modernized or too dirty and gross. Marshall House was perfect mix of old character and modern convenience. I loved it and I usually hate everything 

Complimentary wine reception was great for quick drink before dinner – complimentary breakfast was an awesome way to start the day.

I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,173 - 2,179 of 2,898 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beautiful, historical, charming, comfortable, extremely welcoming with a great location in the city! Easy to walk from Hotel to many sites in town. Tours pick you up from hotel. Great breakfast, and convenience of on site cafe. I loved the old wood floors, the modern draperies and linens and cleanliness with attention to detail.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

From the moment we got out of our car the friendliness and efficiency of all staff was apparent. A delightful hotel situated within walking distance of everything that Savannah has to offer. Our room was comfortable and well appointed. The complimentary breakfast exceeded my wildest expectations - it was fabulous. Everything about the Marshall Hotel and their attentiveness to detail was top notch.

Room Tip: We had a king overlooking the street. It was on the 3rd floor and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trek520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in the Mary Marshall Suite. Loved the Hotel and the caring staff who were always available and very helpful. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with balcony porch access. I will return to this Hotel.

Room Tip: There was no pool. Mary Marshall Suite was very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you're lucky enough to visit Savannah, especially in the temperate fall, stay here. It's a small hotel with big charm and a wonderful staff. The rooms are comfortable and have lots of character, with comfy beds. There's a good breakfast buffet plus wine and cheese in the evenings. Best of all, it's centrally located in the historical district and an easy walk to the squares, beautiful houses and the river.

We had a great time talking to the staff, who had some great recommendations for restaurants and sights.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are in the back of the hotel. The 2nd floor has access to the street facing verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbrofm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Staff at The Marshall House makes this work The place is very elegant but the staff is very helpful friendly and down to earth Amelia was very nice and a new employee she helped when she could But Michelle was there to help and the staff all worked together. they were very ready to recemond places to eat tours etc. Brandt Brandon everyone was great The Breakfast {included} was very good .All in all Couldn't have asked for more

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brotherh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed one night in the King balcony suite. The room was amazing with comfy bed, claw foot tub, and the best part was the balcony with rocking chairs. Plus they have a wine hour each night. We wish we could have stayed more than one night.

Room Tip: Choose the King balcony room for more space and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wetoutwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,137 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 115 in Savannah
1,383 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#14 of 115 in Savannah
3,161 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 115 in Savannah
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $147 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing