We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful historic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Volente, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in the Mary Marshall Suite. Loved the Hotel and the caring staff who were always available and very helpful. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with balcony porch access. I will return to this Hotel.

Room Tip: There was no pool. Mary Marshall Suite was very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,800
    542
    112
    42
    23
See reviews for
460
1,368
96
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you're lucky enough to visit Savannah, especially in the temperate fall, stay here. It's a small hotel with big charm and a wonderful staff. The rooms are comfortable and have lots of character, with comfy beds. There's a good breakfast buffet plus wine and cheese in the evenings. Best of all, it's centrally located in the historical district and an easy walk to the squares, beautiful houses and the river.

We had a great time talking to the staff, who had some great recommendations for restaurants and sights.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are in the back of the hotel. The 2nd floor has access to the street facing verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbrofm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deleware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Staff at The Marshall House makes this work The place is very elegant but the staff is very helpful friendly and down to earth Amelia was very nice and a new employee she helped when she could But Michelle was there to help and the staff all worked together. they were very ready to recemond places to eat tours etc. Brandt Brandon everyone was great The Breakfast {included} was very good .All in all Couldn't have asked for more

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brotherh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed one night in the King balcony suite. The room was amazing with comfy bed, claw foot tub, and the best part was the balcony with rocking chairs. Plus they have a wine hour each night. We wish we could have stayed more than one night.

Room Tip: Choose the King balcony room for more space and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wetoutwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havertown
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with fantastic location , great concierges , Brent, Courtney & Michelle. The beds were so comfortable. The morning breakfast was nice too . I loved our room , it was so spacious & the floors were original & so pretty . ( room 407)
I would definitely return here for my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danisteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed over a long weekend in October in the Mary Marshall Suite & a balcony king which was next to it. Since we were a few girls who hadn't seen each other in some years we wanted a place where we could sit and visit if we didn't want to hang out in only restaurants/bars. The weather was perfect for sitting in the evening on the balcony in rockers. We also enjoyed morning coffee in the parlor of the MMS as they actually provided coffee makers which is becoming rarer these days at hotels. The Marshall House is centrally located to Broughton and the river plus easy walking around the 21 squares in the historic district. We found the bathrooms spacious and the beds very comfortable. Also, I wanted an elevator as some of these historic inns don't alway have one. Charles, in particular was very helpful and directed us to some restaurants which I'm sure I might not have tried such as Aligator Soul a few blocks to the west off Broughton. Complimentary breakfast was served in a beautiful ground floor courtyard. Wine and cheese in the evenings was available but we didn't partake. All in all, the hotel and long weekend was wonderful and I'd return again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the balcony while facing Broughton had the added delight of sitting on the balcony in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for a week for our honeymoon. It was comfortable, clean, located near lots of things to do in Savannah, and the staff were some of the most friendly people I've encountered. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Courtyard suites are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,921 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing