We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Ambiance at The Marshall House”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Husband and I went there for a long getaway weekend for our anniversary the end of January. Hotel definitely has the Old Southern charm. Great location to walk to anything within the historic district being that hotel is right in the heart of everything. Hotel staff were courteous and on top of things. Valet service was always prompt. Yes you will need to valet for around $15 a day plus tip. Decent complimentary breakfast. Room had large comfortable bed that felt like home. Shower was a little small especially if you are over 6 foot like my husband or a bigger person in general. The one draw back that was the most bothersome was the noise level from the street. A new nightclub had opened up across from the hotel and a lot of street noise and hollering up until around 3am. We were on the front side of hotel, so if you are on the back side you may be okay. Over all it was a good experience and would recommend the stay.

Room Tip: stay away from the front side of hotel unless you are a heavy sleeper and dont mind the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sevans39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,439 - 2,445 of 2,898 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

The location is perfect, we didn't use our car the entire time. The front desk and concierge really helped make our Savannah experience unforgettable

Room Tip: The base rooms are clean but small but it's totally worth it because the location cannot be beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttroy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Marshall House June of 2011 for 3 nights. We enjoyed everything about the hotel. The locations is excellent and walk-able to everything in the historic district. The rooms were small but cozy. The bathrooms were adequate. The room was relaxing with soothing colors. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was minimal but adequate. The hotel is historic and said to be haunted which was part of the reason we booked a room here. We didnt encounter any ghosts but loved the hotel and would stay here again. Parking is valet. The restaurant next door bistro 45 is nothing to write about however.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

The location of he hotel is fantasic & the staff of the hotel are very friendly & helpful. The wine & cheese receptions are another plus to your stay & a great way to meet to other guests at the hotel..

Room Tip: Go for a room with the balcony if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

The staff at the Marshall House were very attentive. They actually greeted me by name whenever they saw me. The valet service worked fine getting the car promptly and the valets were a great help. Even the breakfast servers were friendly and quickly brought some sweets out that had just run out. A very nice group of folks. The room was nice, and though not large, comfortable. Mints and bottles of water are complimentary, a nice touch. Located right on Broughton Street makes for an easy access to most sites. We enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We only stayed for one night but it was really nice! Breakfast wasnt that great though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drrobynpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have been traveling for two weeks and at each and every hotel, I have requested a quiet room and got it. At the Marshall House I did ask for a room with a balcony which I did not know were only streeet-side rooms. We switched rooms for the second night and it improved our night's sleep 100%. The hotel is quaint and lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel with the caveat the Superior Room is very tight. I have no idea what the regular king room must be like, but the rooms are very small.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if you want a good night's sleep; the street noise is disturbing. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,137 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 115 in Savannah
1,383 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#14 of 115 in Savannah
3,161 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 115 in Savannah
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $147 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing