We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got what we paid for ... awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Savannah Midtown
Ranked #88 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed April 4, 2012

From outward appearances, you might think it's up to the La Quinta name. Not so. The bathroom and shower were a ridiculously tight fit and the double room was not much better. Okay, not terrible, but then add the noisy conditions AND the fact that every pet owner in the southeast must know this is a "dog friendly" motel. Hey, we all love dogs, but not when their owners leave them in the rooms at night to bay at the Savannah moon. If you can't find something closer to the water or the historic downtown, you're not trying hard enough. We didn't and we paid the price in sleep.

Room Tip: We asked for a "quiet room" and got people talking in the parking lot late at night, dogs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 809 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

The room could use some upgrades but it was clean and the price was good. Location great. The staff very friendly. We like to say thank you to jutta. She was very helpful and concerned to make sure we had everything we needed. Very professional. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Last minute work trip. Had no choice because other places were booked. This hotel was recommended by Hotel.com. While the room was fairly clean, you could see through all the towels. A/C sucked & you are in Georgia! No elevators. Had to carry equipment up stairs. You can find a much better place all around that area for about the same price. Will not stay there again if there is any way that I can help it.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larry0956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My recent stay at La Quinta on Abercorn was excellent. The lobby was clean, bright and inviting, and the check in process was very quick. The rooms are outside rooms, which I prefer so I can keep an eye on my car. It is an older hotel, but their renovations look great. The room was very spacious and clean. It was quite warm, so I was glad the AC worked well. My only complaint is that the bathroom was very small, to where I had to back up over the toilet to shut the door. For the price and proximity to downtown, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCNick1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I've used these hotels because they are pet friendly. This one was a disappointment. The room smelled humid. The carpet was dirty. One of the hand towels had a blood stain in it.
We found a condom in a drawer!!! This I think, speaks poorly of their housekeeping.
The fridge made all sorts of noises as did the exhaust in the bath room. Trying to adjust the water for a comfortable temperature in the shower was a task on its own. The small closet smelled VERY bad.
A bad experience, the 1st I've had with this hotel chain. This hotel needs serious improvement.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jorge f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Let me begin by saying we stayed in February and have our reservations made for March already. Saying that alone, though, is not enough.

This is an older hotel, as you can tell by the tell-tale presence of exterior corridors. HOWEVER, don't let that fool you.

My review is on the 2-room suites above the lobby, with interior entrance; BUT, before I start, let me tell you that my parents stayed in a "deluxe king" (meaning equipped with refrigerator & microwave) and found it quite comfortable as well.

Let me qualify by first saying that, yes, there are some blemishes here and there due to age. Chipping paint? In places. Patchwork in places where guests have destroyed some molding? Sure. Older plumbing fixtures? Yup. If you'd appreciate a very enjoyable stay with superlative service and comfortable accommodations, take confidence in these words:

The service is great. I met six different people in making my reservation, checking in, eating breakfast, daily cleaning service for overnight stays, checking out, etc.. All of them were really "into" the guest and had that "I sincerely care" way about them.
The continental breakfast is light, as described on their website; but it was absolutely adequate for us. Their coffee in the lobby is actually really good, too!

The 2-room suite is absolutely HUGE! We were a group of 4 and had plenty of room for privacy and to gather together. If you are picking nits, you might fuss about having the shared bathroom positioned in the master bedroom. We, however, had no problem with it. By the way, these are non-smoking suites…and SMELL great – really FRESH!

The master bedroom is on par with the bedroom in the likes of Embassy Suites, with one exception: IT’S FAR BIGGER! No kidding! The bed and bedding make for a dreamy night’s sleep. The 42” LCD is a nice add in…along with the dresser and night stands providing plenty of clothing storage, and a large closet as well. There’s also a nice chair if you’re in the mood for sitting up and chatting.

The bathroom is divided into the dressing area and actual bathroom area. The bathroom area is small, yeah, as described in some of the reviews; but it’s no hill for a stepper. The dressing area is very large with a full counter and full length mirror.

The living area is huge with a nice big chair, 42” LCD TV atop a dresser for clothing storage, and a pullout sofa. The pullout sofa is adequate; but a person would be silly to think that it’s going to be of the same quality as the pillow-top mattress in the master suite. I’ve never met a pullout sofa that matched that!

There’s also a work area with a large desk. There’s a kitchenette as well with plenty of storage above and below, with coffee maker and fridge (no freezer). There is no wet bar.

The drapes and window coverings do a great job of blocking out sunlight if you want to sleep in. The walls/doors don’t do such a good job of blocking out jovial fellows who wake up early and want to chat on the public bench right outside the door of 201. A polite request for quiet will work wonders for that if necessary.

I cannot say enough about this hotel or the comfort of the rooms. As the saying goes, “A picture is worth a thousand words”. I’ve posted some pictures here; but take a look (copy & paste link if it doesn’t take you there straightaway) at the slideshow for a better feel of the rooms.

http://tripwow.tripadvisor.com/tripwow/ta-044d-5094-911c?ln

-Steph

Room Tip: Choose either of the 2-room suites for the best experience. Other rooms are fine; but these are ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soundsgood2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom is split, dressingroom-sink and private bath-toilet; toilet area very tight fit. Usual breakfast fare of waffle, hard boiled eggs that were still hot yet easy to peel. Breads, cereal, pastries and fruit. Parking was a bit tight, don't go in with a trailer. The exterior of the building needs some serious updating and maintenance. The room was so clean that even the air seemed clean. The cording on the edge of the mattress was hard but the main part was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flymeaway44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Clarion Inn & Suites
#71 of 115 in Savannah
173 reviews
Quality Inn Midtown
#60 of 115 in Savannah
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Central Inn
#36 of 115 in Savannah
911 reviews
Avalon/Oglethorpe Mall Area
TownePlace Suites Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Savannah Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Savannah Midtown

Address: 6805 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31405-5822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range: $65 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Savannah Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LaQuinta, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Savannah Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah
La Quinta Savannah
Savannah La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing