We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Joan's on Jones B & B
Ranked #24 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding weekend in the Jones Street Suite and chose this B&B because we had a dog and they allow dogs. The room was much bigger than I had expected and we had lots of room. The location is more towards Forsyth Park than the Riverfront, so it was a bit of walking. I didn't get to meet Joan since she was heading out of town, but the two housekeepers (one was named Ann) took great care of us. There was a bottle of wine and snacks waiting for us in the room when we checked in and there were some doggie treats for our dog as well. The off-street parking was wonderful, and the street parking is free in front of the house on the weekends. The other housekeeper offered to walk our dog for us while we were out which was really nice of her. The only thing that bothered us was the dog that lives upstairs started barking and howling at 8am every morning, which some other reviewers had mentioned. My husband didn't wake up (heavy sleeper) but I woke up, but was able to go back to sleep after the dog stopped. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justined0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    5
    10
    3
See reviews for
5
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This ideally located, pet-friendly and very PRIVATE two-suite inn isn't hard to book if you call the owners and have some flexibility with your travel dates. Most hotel search engines will show no availability, but I believe that's because Joan's On Jones does not take credit card reservations, a necessity if you're trying to book online. Deposits are accepted by check, via snail-mail. What you sacrifice in the instant convenience of online booking, is more than made up for by what you get: a location second to none on haunting (and haunted?) Jones Street at the heart of Savannah's historic residential district, complete with ancient brick paved streets, gas lanterns and moss-draped oaks; free parking at the inn's rear garden entrance, a priceless amenity in a neighborhood where tourist parking is scarce; private ground-floor entrance, either beside the residence's grand front staircase if you're staying in the Jones Street Suite, or behind a locked garden gate for the slightly less costly Garden Suite in the original brick-walled kitchen, which is entered from the "lane" at the rear. (Never call a Savannah lane an "alley!" In a neighborhood of antebellum town houses, many with carriage houses converted to residences, some of these narrow lanes can be prime real estate.) I lived in a Savannah superb for two years and used to take my terrier to friendly Beasley Dog Park, a fenced off-leash facility located beside Beasley Elementary School jjust outside the historic district and a scenic walk from Joan's On Jones. If you travel with a well behaved dog of any size, this is a most accommodating b&b with enough intriguing, shaded walking streets to keep you and your dog entertained for hours. The inn's pet fee is non-refundable but if you return on future trips you won't have to pay it again... If you're looking for the kind of bed-and-breakfast experience where you share the home with other guests and dine with them, look at other options. If you prefer your privacy but want to be at the heart of the city's most prestigious residential area, Joan's On Jones is a superb choice... Do be careful walking at night in Savannah or any tourist town. Your suite is in an upscale part of the historic district, insulated a bit from the rowdier scene near and on the cobblestone wharves of River Street, but tourism attracts crimes of opportunity and Savannah sees its share. One more note: the carriage tours here are a MUST! Unlike Charleston, where carriages are now restricted in the prettiest residential blocks, Savannah can be seen at its absolute best from a horse-drawn carriage. Too bad my terrier hates horses!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susansname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
423 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We love Savannah, and a good base of operations is the foudation for our mini-vacations there. Joan's B&B just oozes old south charm. A curiosity is that the main entrance is really the back entrance, but this egress takes you through a delightful garden patio that is absolutely private and affords a great way to cool down, have a drink and debrief each other on the day's activities. The unit is well-appointed with kitchen facilities and the hosts and their dog are great companions. By the way, if you meet their expectations, the place is pet-friendly - an important part of our travel requirements. Oh, and they are within walking distance to one of the finest restaurants in Savannah - Noble Fare!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Savannah is a city I love--and this location is the best. You find yourself in a lovely historic home. Spacious accomodations--well-worn but appropriate furnishing. Quiet, private. The parking is a real plus--and we never used our car. Downsides--could have been a bit cleaner, and the breakfast is minimal.

Room Tip: There are only two suites--ours was the non-garden one--and we found it fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancysta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Looking for a "typical" B&B? Well Joans on Jones won't fit that category. This 19th century historic and charming home is owned and operated by the consummate hosts - Joan and Gary Levy. We were greeted as "long lost relatives" with warmth and enthusiasm. Adding to the welcoming committee was their puppy - a rambunctious, friendly labradoodle named Beauly.
Our front suite contained gorgeous period pieces, including the most comfortable 4-poster bed ever. There were so many little touches that added to our comfort. How many B&B's or 5-star hotel properties have their own coffee grinder filled with fresh coffee beans? Free and fast wi-fi? Fresh fruit and pastries? Beautifully-equipped bathroom? And adding to all of these features - the best location in such a historic and walkable city as Savannah? Honestly, we left with such a good feeling that we're already planning a return trip. Thanks Joan and Gary!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I found Joan's on Jones to be a wonderful experience. We travel with our pet and it was refreshing to find such a wonderful pet friendly place to stay. The location is perfect. We parked our car upon arrival and didn't use it until it was time to leave. We stayed in the front room which is right on Jones street. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. It felt like an apartment rather than a room. The room had fresh flowers, a bottle of wine, and doggie treats in a bandanna for our dog when we arrived. Fresh breakfast pastries, fruit, juice, milk, coffee, and cereal were left in the kitchen area for breakfast. Our room was cleaned while we were out and the breakfast items were restocked for the next morning. We love our privacy and we were not disturbed by Joan or her husband at all during our stay. However Joan did offer upon our check in to help us with anything we may need.
We were very happy with this stay, Savannah is a charming city and Joan's on Jones made our visit flawless. We will definitely visit Joan's on Jones again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a great stay in Savannah. The location of Joans on Jones was great. If you aren't familiar with the city and want to head towards the river walk, it is a 1.6 mile walk. Not that close. However, with all the food options and.... being in near proximity to Mrs. Wilkes Kitchen, the walking was much needed!

We stayed in Suite A- the front one. It is cute. Fridge was stocked with sodas, juice, milk, bottle of wine and some breakfast pastries. There was cereal, whole bean coffee in grinder and fresh fruit.

Elaine was the caretaker and very nice. The Jones's were out if town. She was helpful and gave us some suggestions.
We brought our dog and she was very sweet to him. She brought him a bandana and dog treats.

So far so good but... A couple things noticed. The wall and door between the suites is very thin so you can hear kitchen activity, dishes, water running and conversations. The bath towels smelled like mildew and so did the bed sheets. We asked for new towels and were brought fresh ones nicely folded and fresh from dryer BUT- no luck. I think the smell is locked in all the towels indefinitely.Definitely time for new ones. We ended up using our beach towels our whole stay. The bed skirt also had some stains on it.The French sliding door between the bedroom and living room was broken/ kept sliding off track.

Not a bad place, but not spectacular either. The nearby parks were great for the dog. It does feel like you live here when you stay here. Check out the downstairs tavern at the Old Pink House and order the Fried Green Tomato BLT salad.... Featured on the Food Network. It's worth your time!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twentysixpoint2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Dresser Palmer House
Dresser Palmer House
#15 of 31 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Roussell's Garden
#19 of 31 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Presidents' Quarters Inn
#6 of 31 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Downtown
The Stephen Williams House
The Stephen Williams House
#18 of 31 in Savannah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 31 in Savannah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joan's on Jones B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joan's on Jones B & B

Property: Joan's on Jones B & B
Address: 17 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Joan's on Jones B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 1860s Victorian in the heart of Savannah's Historic District, consisting of two roomy, antique-filled suites. Each features sitting room, queen-bed bedroom, private entry and private bath. You'll love the amenities like goosedown pillows and duvets, complementary wine, fresh flowers and luxury soaps. Joan & Gary Levy live upstairs & are available for advice on touring, restaurants and shops nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Joan's on Jones B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joan`s On Jones Bed And Breakfast
Joan`s On Jones Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing