We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Joan's on Jones B & B
Ranked #22 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
434 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We love Savannah, and a good base of operations is the foudation for our mini-vacations there. Joan's B&B just oozes old south charm. A curiosity is that the main entrance is really the back entrance, but this egress takes you through a delightful garden patio that is absolutely private and affords a great way to cool down, have a drink and debrief each other on the day's activities. The unit is well-appointed with kitchen facilities and the hosts and their dog are great companions. By the way, if you meet their expectations, the place is pet-friendly - an important part of our travel requirements. Oh, and they are within walking distance to one of the finest restaurants in Savannah - Noble Fare!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    5
    10
    3
See reviews for
5
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Savannah is a city I love--and this location is the best. You find yourself in a lovely historic home. Spacious accomodations--well-worn but appropriate furnishing. Quiet, private. The parking is a real plus--and we never used our car. Downsides--could have been a bit cleaner, and the breakfast is minimal.

Room Tip: There are only two suites--ours was the non-garden one--and we found it fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancysta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Looking for a "typical" B&B? Well Joans on Jones won't fit that category. This 19th century historic and charming home is owned and operated by the consummate hosts - Joan and Gary Levy. We were greeted as "long lost relatives" with warmth and enthusiasm. Adding to the welcoming committee was their puppy - a rambunctious, friendly labradoodle named Beauly.
Our front suite contained gorgeous period pieces, including the most comfortable 4-poster bed ever. There were so many little touches that added to our comfort. How many B&B's or 5-star hotel properties have their own coffee grinder filled with fresh coffee beans? Free and fast wi-fi? Fresh fruit and pastries? Beautifully-equipped bathroom? And adding to all of these features - the best location in such a historic and walkable city as Savannah? Honestly, we left with such a good feeling that we're already planning a return trip. Thanks Joan and Gary!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I found Joan's on Jones to be a wonderful experience. We travel with our pet and it was refreshing to find such a wonderful pet friendly place to stay. The location is perfect. We parked our car upon arrival and didn't use it until it was time to leave. We stayed in the front room which is right on Jones street. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. It felt like an apartment rather than a room. The room had fresh flowers, a bottle of wine, and doggie treats in a bandanna for our dog when we arrived. Fresh breakfast pastries, fruit, juice, milk, coffee, and cereal were left in the kitchen area for breakfast. Our room was cleaned while we were out and the breakfast items were restocked for the next morning. We love our privacy and we were not disturbed by Joan or her husband at all during our stay. However Joan did offer upon our check in to help us with anything we may need.
We were very happy with this stay, Savannah is a charming city and Joan's on Jones made our visit flawless. We will definitely visit Joan's on Jones again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a great stay in Savannah. The location of Joans on Jones was great. If you aren't familiar with the city and want to head towards the river walk, it is a 1.6 mile walk. Not that close. However, with all the food options and.... being in near proximity to Mrs. Wilkes Kitchen, the walking was much needed!

We stayed in Suite A- the front one. It is cute. Fridge was stocked with sodas, juice, milk, bottle of wine and some breakfast pastries. There was cereal, whole bean coffee in grinder and fresh fruit.

Elaine was the caretaker and very nice. The Jones's were out if town. She was helpful and gave us some suggestions.
We brought our dog and she was very sweet to him. She brought him a bandana and dog treats.

So far so good but... A couple things noticed. The wall and door between the suites is very thin so you can hear kitchen activity, dishes, water running and conversations. The bath towels smelled like mildew and so did the bed sheets. We asked for new towels and were brought fresh ones nicely folded and fresh from dryer BUT- no luck. I think the smell is locked in all the towels indefinitely.Definitely time for new ones. We ended up using our beach towels our whole stay. The bed skirt also had some stains on it.The French sliding door between the bedroom and living room was broken/ kept sliding off track.

Not a bad place, but not spectacular either. The nearby parks were great for the dog. It does feel like you live here when you stay here. Check out the downstairs tavern at the Old Pink House and order the Fried Green Tomato BLT salad.... Featured on the Food Network. It's worth your time!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twentysixpoint2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed at Joan's for two nights while in town for a wedding. We had read the reviews on here, but decided to give it a try anyway since the reviews were so mixed. I have to say that the negative reviews were not too far off base.

Joan's on Jones definitley had a couple nice features and I will mention those first. The location was fabulous and having off street parking was wonderful We were able to walk everywhere within just a few minutes. The continental breakfast was adequate, but it certainly wasn't what I would expect at a B&B in this price range. You should be aware that this isn't the typical B&B and someone's analogy of "being in Joan's basement" was accurate. We choose to stay in B&Bs so that we can be more immersed in the local scene and so that we can talk with the owners and "pick their brain" about places to go and sites to see. This was definitely not the case at this B&B.

The place was quaint, but I wouldn't call it clean. The tub and tub surround need to be bleached or replaced and the floors could use some work. We removed the comforter on the bed for the duration of our stay. There was a faint odor of dog urine. Upon our arrival we met Elaine, the caretaker. She was very nice and accommodating and answered several of our questions about local dining. We did not see Joan at all until we were leaving on our final day. As we were packing the car, Joan leaned over her balcony and rudely shouted "Are you leaving now? Do you have some keys for me?" That was the extent of our interaction with Joan.

Just a couple other points...the television from the owner's lodging was very loud (at 1 am, too), the dog in the suite next door barked incessantly when it's owners were not there (not Joan's fault, of course), and you should probably let the owners know if you plan to sit outside to avoid getting wet when they water their plants on the deck over the garden sitting area.

Overall, the stay wasn't unpleasant, just not as pleasant as I would have expected for the price. I think if you travel with animals that Joan's is probably a very good option. Travellers with their animals are likely more tolerant of barking, dog hair, animal smells, etc. However, if you don't travel with animals and aren't interested in listening to barking dogs and a loud TV, you may want a more traditional B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Loved the location of Joan's for our girl getaway. Perfect for walking Savannah's lovely square. Good service, Joan was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Dresser Palmer House
Dresser Palmer House
#15 of 30 in Savannah
467 reviews
Downtown
Printmaker's Inn at Forsyth Park
Roussell's Garden
#18 of 30 in Savannah
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Presidents' Quarters Inn
#6 of 30 in Savannah
919 reviews
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 30 in Savannah
714 reviews
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 30 in Savannah
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joan's on Jones B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joan's on Jones B & B

Property: Joan's on Jones B & B
Address: 17 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Joan's on Jones B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 1860s Victorian in the heart of Savannah's Historic District, consisting of two roomy, antique-filled suites. Each features sitting room, queen-bed bedroom, private entry and private bath. You'll love the amenities like goosedown pillows and duvets, complementary wine, fresh flowers and luxury soaps. Joan & Gary Levy live upstairs & are available for advice on touring, restaurants and shops nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Joan's on Jones B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joan`s On Jones Bed And Breakfast
Joan`s On Jones Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing