We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Joan's on Jones B & B
Ranked #23 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a great stay in Savannah. The location of Joans on Jones was great. If you aren't familiar with the city and want to head towards the river walk, it is a 1.6 mile walk. Not that close. However, with all the food options and.... being in near proximity to Mrs. Wilkes Kitchen, the walking was much needed!

We stayed in Suite A- the front one. It is cute. Fridge was stocked with sodas, juice, milk, bottle of wine and some breakfast pastries. There was cereal, whole bean coffee in grinder and fresh fruit.

Elaine was the caretaker and very nice. The Jones's were out if town. She was helpful and gave us some suggestions.
We brought our dog and she was very sweet to him. She brought him a bandana and dog treats.

So far so good but... A couple things noticed. The wall and door between the suites is very thin so you can hear kitchen activity, dishes, water running and conversations. The bath towels smelled like mildew and so did the bed sheets. We asked for new towels and were brought fresh ones nicely folded and fresh from dryer BUT- no luck. I think the smell is locked in all the towels indefinitely.Definitely time for new ones. We ended up using our beach towels our whole stay. The bed skirt also had some stains on it.The French sliding door between the bedroom and living room was broken/ kept sliding off track.

Not a bad place, but not spectacular either. The nearby parks were great for the dog. It does feel like you live here when you stay here. Check out the downstairs tavern at the Old Pink House and order the Fried Green Tomato BLT salad.... Featured on the Food Network. It's worth your time!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twentysixpoint2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    5
    10
    3
See reviews for
5
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed at Joan's for two nights while in town for a wedding. We had read the reviews on here, but decided to give it a try anyway since the reviews were so mixed. I have to say that the negative reviews were not too far off base.

Joan's on Jones definitley had a couple nice features and I will mention those first. The location was fabulous and having off street parking was wonderful We were able to walk everywhere within just a few minutes. The continental breakfast was adequate, but it certainly wasn't what I would expect at a B&B in this price range. You should be aware that this isn't the typical B&B and someone's analogy of "being in Joan's basement" was accurate. We choose to stay in B&Bs so that we can be more immersed in the local scene and so that we can talk with the owners and "pick their brain" about places to go and sites to see. This was definitely not the case at this B&B.

The place was quaint, but I wouldn't call it clean. The tub and tub surround need to be bleached or replaced and the floors could use some work. We removed the comforter on the bed for the duration of our stay. There was a faint odor of dog urine. Upon our arrival we met Elaine, the caretaker. She was very nice and accommodating and answered several of our questions about local dining. We did not see Joan at all until we were leaving on our final day. As we were packing the car, Joan leaned over her balcony and rudely shouted "Are you leaving now? Do you have some keys for me?" That was the extent of our interaction with Joan.

Just a couple other points...the television from the owner's lodging was very loud (at 1 am, too), the dog in the suite next door barked incessantly when it's owners were not there (not Joan's fault, of course), and you should probably let the owners know if you plan to sit outside to avoid getting wet when they water their plants on the deck over the garden sitting area.

Overall, the stay wasn't unpleasant, just not as pleasant as I would have expected for the price. I think if you travel with animals that Joan's is probably a very good option. Travellers with their animals are likely more tolerant of barking, dog hair, animal smells, etc. However, if you don't travel with animals and aren't interested in listening to barking dogs and a loud TV, you may want a more traditional B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Loved the location of Joan's for our girl getaway. Perfect for walking Savannah's lovely square. Good service, Joan was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is our second stay at Joan's on Jones and we just love it! The location is perfectly set in the historic district just between beautiful Forsyth Park and River Street. The room we stayed in, The Garden Suite, is large and perfect for an extended stay with a bedroom, bathroom, little foyer and kitchen. The suite also sits on the backside of the inn with access to the cute little garden area and has a private entrance. Best of all (for us anyway), this place is pet friendly! This is a must for us since we always travel with our dog.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsLita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

First time staying here. Located on Jones street, minutes away from everything. Right down the street from Mrs. Wilkes and the Crystal Beer Parlor, both must visit restaurants. Personalized service, complimentary mini breakfast left in your kitchen everyday for the following morning, plus free wine and doggie treats. Stayed in the Garden Suite and loved it! It was more like our own personal house! Bedroom, living room, parlor, garden, kitchen, vanity area and bathroom. Only thing that could have possibly made this trip better would be a big jacuzzi style bathtub, everything else was perfect!

Room Tip: Look for specials online and book in advance because there are only 2 suites to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xoxo_Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Overall, our visit to Joan's was unpleasant, but I want to talk about the high points of the stay first. The room was very pretty, but not special. The courtyard was nice, and the air conditioning was fabulous. The kitchen was well appointed with anything we needed while we were there (though we didn't cook, so I don't know about the stove). It is located in a nice block and the shop across the street (One Fish, Two Fish) had some very pretty jewelry.

The low points include: dirty room, unbelievable noise, rude owner, less than satisfactory amenities. The details are below.

The cleanliness of the room left something to be desired. The carpet had clearly not been vacuumed; there was an abundance of dog hair when we arrived. There was also people hair all over the bathroom, accentuated by the dropped bobby pins in the bath and behind the door. The dishes were a bit dirty and had to be rewashed before they could be used.

While staying in the room, (which, by the way is not in what I would normally consider a bed and breakfast style hotel, but is more akin to the in-law unit in Joan's basement), we were privy to Joan and Gary's arguments, conversations with the dog, and many many war movies at full volume. There is nothing so romantic as having your dog go totally bonkers because Tondee (Joan's dog) is going ape over the realistically loud showing of Normandy taking place right above your head (at midnight).

Of course, it probably was our fault for bringing the dogs. When we arrived Joan declared "well, I didn't even know you were BRINGING dogs. I hope you know we'll be charging you for that." The interaction was rude, and felt unpleasant.
Yes, we were aware. We knew because we had emailed Joan specifically about bringing our dogs, and she had agreed that we could bring them in spite of one being a bit large.

All in all, Savannah was great, but this place was a nightmare; one that sounded like Hamburger Hill.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jollyinnkeeper, Owner at Joan's on Jones B & B, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Sounded Like WW2:
We are SO sorry you had an unpleasant stay! The only way I can think to make it up to you is to give you a refund, which has already been sent to you. We have taken great care to address the cleanliness issues and will endeavor to keep it that way for future guests!
Joan's on Jones & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
185 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

The noise level was less than desirable. The 2 suites are connected by a "thin" door, such that one can hear normal indoor voices easily. A warm breakfast, e.g. omelet, etc., instead of a continental-style breakfast would've been nice for the price you pay. The suite was stocked with the same pastries & fruits the entire visit. I believe the orange juice and milk were refilled. Even though "servicing the suite for cleaning" was offered each day, the suite was not as clean as it should be.

It was great to have off-street parking available for guests. The mattress was great.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnbrownstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jollyinnkeeper, Owner at Joan's on Jones B & B, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear May 19-20 Guests:
I certainly apologize for any way I may have presented myself to you upon your arrival! Perhaps it was because you had been placed in the other suite that had no sofabed and you had originally had that suite. Most people prefer the rollaway to the sofabed...it's far more comfortable. Guess that started things off on the wrong foot. I would be pleased to offer you a free one-night's stay at Joan's on Jones if you'd like to try us again. With sincere apologies,
Joan Levy, Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Dresser Palmer House
Dresser Palmer House
#15 of 31 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Roussell's Garden
#19 of 31 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Presidents' Quarters Inn
#6 of 31 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Downtown
The Stephen Williams House
The Stephen Williams House
#18 of 31 in Savannah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 31 in Savannah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joan's on Jones B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joan's on Jones B & B

Property: Joan's on Jones B & B
Address: 17 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Joan's on Jones B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 1860s Victorian in the heart of Savannah's Historic District, consisting of two roomy, antique-filled suites. Each features sitting room, queen-bed bedroom, private entry and private bath. You'll love the amenities like goosedown pillows and duvets, complementary wine, fresh flowers and luxury soaps. Joan & Gary Levy live upstairs & are available for advice on touring, restaurants and shops nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Joan's on Jones B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joan`s On Jones Bed And Breakfast
Joan`s On Jones Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing