We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Excellent Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Ranked #30 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 20, 2005

We recently stayed at the Hyatt, what a wonderful hotel! The staff was fabulous. The valet parking was so easy and quick. We went for our anniversary, and couldn't have been happier! The newly renovated rooms are gorgeous and so cozy! Plenty of down pillows, fresh down duvets, excellent in room coffee, comfy beds. The location of this hotel is right in the middle of everything in the historic district. There is a very fun Irish Pub right down the street. This hotel is the only one on the river, and you have direct access to River Street from the hotel elevators! Definite 2 thumbs up!

2  Thank Chriwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,051 - 3,057 of 3,136 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Cary, North Carolina
11
Reviewed August 10, 2005

My husband and I have been to Savannah for vacation four times. We have stayed at three other inns near River Street and at the Hyatt during our last visit in May. We enjoyed our stay so much that we will only stay at the Hyatt from now on.

The service was superb. The we had breakfast in our room and the food was excellent but pricey. All staff that we encountered were all very polite and friendly, as expected in Savannah.

Hyatt's proximity to River Street can't be beat.

The valet service was awesome! For day trips, we would call down and our car would be waiting for us, already air-conditioned. On the return, we would hand the keys over to the valet. Nice service!!

The room was very comfortable but a bit pricey. We paid more than we expected when we made our reservation. We asked for room with a "river view", which we were told was available. Well, we got a "river view" but we really wanted a "river front" room. We had to pay an extra $75 a night for the "river front" room. This misunderstanding on definitions of terms also happened to friends also staying at this Hyatt so be sure to ask for a "river front" room if thats what you want. A "river view" room will give you a small view of the river; a "river front" room is a room on the river side of the hotel and the entire river is viewable.

We hardly noticed the renovation that was going on.... We look forward to our next stay at the Hyatt in Savannah.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2005

I stayed here for business in mid-June for a week. While there was still some renovating being done and lack of restaurants in the hotel, there were many things that made up for it. The staff was very friendly and helpful, we had no issues with cleaning-our room was always immaculate. The food served during my conference here was good and the staff bent over backwards to accommodate your business needs. Some downsides: the pool was small and the area to get to the pool needs some cleaning up, parking cost of $15 per day (although you could park around the corner in a garage for half the price), and the business center needs an upgrade (didn't accommodate USB flash memory drives). Otherwise, I would stay here again-it's close to great restaurants and bars and I had a wonderful city and river view from my room.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dylanzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2005

"When it's good, it's very very good." Still renovating (June 2005) so minimal food service available. Obvious deficiencies that should have no relation to the work being done. For example- our nonsmoking room, at check-in, had a half-full trashcan complete with cigarette butts & ashes! Other housekeeping problems, too. We were with a group, and the catering was very uneven--some food excellent, some food suffering from old age. "Business center" had outlandish charges and very limited services for Internet, printing, etc. Very friendly staff, however. Great location.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MeterMaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Greensboro, NC
13
Reviewed June 7, 2005

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency from May 27th-May 30th with another couple friend of ours and had a great time. We thought that the hotel was very nice. The renovations are pretty much complete except for the restaurant and looked very nice. The beds were so comfortable and the rooms looked great. The pool is a little small but we were there mainly to sightsee. We did eat breakfast at the hotel that Sunday and had the buffet. It was very good and fairly reasonable in price. We got great service! We loved the location right on River Street and got a good deal on our room throguh Hotwire. We didn't really like having to do the valet but parking is limited and our car was fine when we got it on Monday. Definitely recommend the trolley tours in this hot weather and if you can get in, eat at The Lady and Sons. We also had a lovely dinner at the 17 and 90 Inn. Overall we were very pleased as we were very nervous after reading other reviews but our stay was great and we were so pleased that we chose the Hyatt.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2005

We just returned from several days at the Hyatt Regency Savannah. After reading several of the negative reviews, we were a bit hesitant about staying here. However, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The lobby and sleeping room renovations were complete and everything was quite lovely. The rooms were very nice and comfortable and what you would expect from a nicer Hyatt hotel. The hotel is in a great location - you can walk right out onto River Street which has many restaurants, bars and shops. I highly recommend taking a horse drawn carriage tour through the city - they will pick you up right at the hotel. A nice way to tour a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nacogdoches, Tx.
17
Reviewed May 22, 2005

Watch out if you are a senior and ask for senior rates at the Hyatt Regency in Savannah, Ga.......Made reservations thru the Hyatt website...Was given the senior rate of 318.75 per night for 2 nights for a river view room. Checked on the back of the door in the room for rack rates and it was 325.00 per night. Talked to one couple and they stated they paid the rate of 25l.00 per night for a river view room....
The room was old with dirty drapes and old furniture. Never did find the bell that was suppose to tell me when a ship was passing.
It took four tips to get to my room. Only two tips to get me out of room. No one at desk at 7am when I needed to check out.
Would not go back to the Hyatt in Savannah, Ga.
Will return to Savannah as it is a great place to visit

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#15 of 115 in Savannah
3,214 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 115 in Savannah
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Savannah

Address: 2 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#19 Green Hotel in Savannah
#19 Business Hotel in Savannah
#26 Family Hotel in Savannah
#30 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $134 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restyled Hyatt Regency Savannah is located on the Savannah River and in the heart of Savannah's Historic District. Our guests can enjoy the newly opened Moss + Oak Savannah Eatery or walk to many of Savannah famous restaurants. Within blocks of the hotel is shopping, dining, museums and nightlife. The hotel offers three guest room views atrium, historic city view and river view with contemporary guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Savannah Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing