We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Ranked #30 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great property and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My experience in the last few years is that Hyatts can be a little hit or miss. Well, this is one of the good ones.

The hotel is well maintained. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. And the location can't be beat; it's right in the heart of all the action in Savannah.

I was there for a convention, and the food service was very good. There's not much to the restaurant, I doubt many people want to eat in the hotel when there are so many great bars and restaurants in the immediate area.

My only complaint was the desk chair in my room. I always appreciate a desk and chair for working on the laptop, but in this case the chair could not be raised to a height that would be suitable for using the desk. Pretty lame.

Room Tip: Some exterior rooms probably have great views. I had an interior room, and since they all open onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4FunAndBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Travel4FunandBiz,

Thank you so much for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be perfect for your travels. I am also so happy to hear that the staff was friendly and accommodating. I will pass along your comment regarding the desk chair to the appropriate department to be looked at.

Thanks again and look forward to having you with us again,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    818
    412
    192
    100
See reviews for
502
904
68
753
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Have stayed here before and really enjoyed it. The rooms, the location, the view....This trip,however, very disappointing and unbelievably upset with the {lack of} service. Traveling in the area and wanted to make a stop here. Called ahead (same day) to book a room for 2 adults and one 14 year old. They said they had a Hospitality suite. We were not concerned with the price so this sounded great "till we arrived". Great Bell hop took us to the room, started putting our clothes away..
The room had a beautiful living room, dining area and kitchenette...Everything but a Bedroom! Even the Bell hop was confused and called the front desk. My husband headed to the front desk only to return and pack up our stuff to leave. There was no bed.
They expected (3 of us) to use the pull out sofa. (And it was not even made - no linens). Said they would come in later and make up for us (it was already 8 pm).
It was pretty unbelievable the lack of customer service received from the staff. Even the Manager on Duty did not have the time to talk with us. They just said that we booked a "Hospitality Suite". Not being in the Hotel industry we did not realize that there would not be a bed in the "suite"...Pardon us for being surprised! Obviously we left and stayed at another local hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a Bed if you are planning on sleeping over!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth k, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Savannah. Please accept our apologies for the challenges you had during your stay. We appreciate guest feedback such as yours, as it allows us the opportunity to correct and improve our operation. Our goal is to always Exceed your Expectations and we apologize we fell short during your system. I have notified upper management about the challenges you face upon check in. Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime if you need anything else at Elizabeth.kim@hyatt.com. We are positive if given the opportunity again we can exceed your expecatations. We hope you enjoyed your time in our historic city.


Sincerely,

Elizabeth Kim
Assistant Food and Beverage Outlets Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

With so many choices in Savannah I browsed the internet forever before finally settling on the Hyatt. We trusted the dependability of the chain and were not disappointed. The room (once we upgraded to a room with a balcony) offered an amazing view of the river and the large barges and ships that travel the waterway. you can only stand on the small balcony though, don't expect a large area with seating; for that the hotel bar offers a great view.

We loved the convenience of the elevator that takes you directly onto River Street. Valet service was convenient as well.

Room Tip: unless you are a frequent visitor to the area and have seen plenty of the view, opt for the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Donna N,

Thank you so much for taking time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that were able to offer you a lovely stay in Savannah. We do hope that you will return to visit with us again!

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

A recent business seminar was located at this property. Based on other reviews, my expectations were not extremely high. I was pleasantly surprised. While it is true that the property is not the newest, the service was excellent. I also found it to be clean and well maintained. The location is very convenient and the views from my riverfront room was excellent. I will return to this property and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Theroadtrip,

Thank you so much for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay during your seminar. We like to exceed each of our guests expectations and I am so happy to hear that we were able to do that for you. We do hope that you will return again soon for another visit.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansunset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The location of this hotel is what makes it special. It is truly at the heart of the action. You can walk pretty much everywhere downtown Savannah and the River Walk. The service was average, don't expect to get five star service or feel like you matter. It might be that the hotel is so large that makes you feel like one more guest. That being said, the hotel was comfortable, very cold (the AC was running full blast!), and the room was clean. The elevator faces the lobby and has glass walls so it was a fun ride every time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceansunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear oceansunset,

Thank you so much for taking time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the property. I will pass along your comments regarding the staff for review and discussion. We like to exceed each of our guests expectations from the location, property and service levels and I apologize that we fell short with the service.

Thank you again and we hope that you will return again for another visit.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

If it is all about the location then choose the Hyatt Regency. If responsive customer service, attention to detail, and value enter into the equation then Location less customer service=less than expected.

My previous visits to Savannah from staying at the hilton to holiday inn and others, I experienced the charm, the inviting social community, and relaxed atmosphere that calls me back to Savanna again and again. With all that you decide: Location A, Customer Service C, Attention to detail given price B, Savannah Charm C.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AcworthGAVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth k, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Savannah. Please accept our apologies for the challenges you had during your stay. We appreciate guest feedback such as yours, as it allows us the opportunity to correct and improve our operation. Our goal is to always Exceed your Expectations and we apologize we fell short during your system. We are positive if given the opportunity again we could achieve this goal. We hope you enjoyed your time in our historic city.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Kim
Assistant Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchantville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

we travelled to savannah on business for a 2 night weekend stay. the location of this savannah hotel can’t be beat, it is one of the few hotels on river street and it is within a walkable distance to most of what downtown savannah has to offer.

positives:
- check in was a breeze. we arrived early (1pm) and a room was ready for us!
- the location was awesome, one elevator ride and you were on river street enjoying all the touristy attractions. the river boat is right outside the window. plenty of bars and restaurants nearby to choose from.
- staff was very nice and personable, always passing with a friendly smile or greeting!
- conference space was clean, comfortable and the food catered for it was very nice. the catering staff were very accommodating!
- taxis were ready and accessible.
- the security was always around and you really felt safe here.
- gym and indoor pool appeared clean and the hours were sufficient (open until 10pm).
- the elevators are clear and overlook the hotel lobby and are fun to ride up and down!

negatives:
- our room had two double beds and it one of the smallest beds i have ever slept in, almost equivalent to a twin. we could not get a good night’s sleep and one night had to sleep in separate beds.
- as mentioned in the positives, the location is awesome, but that often comes with some negatives. the noise at night was not deafening but it was noticeable. a lot of partying happening on river street can be heard from the rooms.
- the prices in the gift shop were outrageous. i was feeling ill the first night we were there (too many po boys) and they charged $15 for a package of Pepcid (a small package with only 8 pills)!
- the prices in the bar were also outrageous, i’m a hyatt gold passport member so thank goodness for the happy hour all day discounts it was expensive!
- my mother in law sent us a bottle of wine through room service as a surprise on our first night. she let us know it would be arriving, but night one we didn’t receive it. the next day we still had not received it. finally we received the bottle of wine and complimentary goodies (bear claws and cookies which were delish!) at around 6:30 pm that night, luckily we were in the room at that time. but they gave it to us without a wine opener (!) we had to chase the women down the hall requesting a wine opener, then another woman came up about 10 minutes later with the wine opener (one of those dinky plastic ones) and left. it took us about 10 minutes to open this wine bottle using the corkscrew plastic opener. explanation for delay: the wine had been sent to the wrong room on the first night and the attempted delivery on saturday afternoon failed because we were not in the room at the time.
- the overall appearance of the hotel is a bit worn especially the exterior.

overall this was a nice and convenient hotel to stay during our short, mostly business trip. if we return to savannah in the future we might opt to stay in more historical accommodations (bed and breakfast or small inn).

places you should eat in savannah: bayou café, hueys, and leopolds ice cream!!

Room Tip: we had a view of the river and it was really pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacasRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth k, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Savannah. Please accept our apologies for the challenges you had during your stay. We appreciate guest feedback such as yours, as it allows us the opportunity to correct and improve our operation. Our goal is to always Exceed your Expectations and we apologize we fell short during your system. We are positive if given the opportunity again we could achieve this goal. We hope you enjoyed your time in our historic city.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Kim
Assistant Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,921 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Savannah

Property: Hyatt Regency Savannah
Address: 2 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#19 Business Hotel in Savannah
#19 Green Hotel in Savannah
#30 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convention Hotel located on the Savannah River and in the heart of the Historic District. Three views are offered: Atrium, cityview and Riverview. Atrium hotel with lobby decorated with greenery and plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Savannah Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing