We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very friendly staff but dated room...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Savannah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Ranked #29 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location, very friendly staff but dated room...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently, the location is very good. You can walk right out of the back of the hotel and be on the riverfront or walk out of the front of the hotel and are walking distance into the historic district of Savannah. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we needed extra towels they were at our door within a few minutes. The only downside was that while the room seemed clean enough the bathroom was in need of an update.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear JE1205,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and found the staff friendly and helpful and the location good. I will certainly pass along your comments regarding the bathroom to the appropriate department head for review for suggestions like this always assist us in making our hotel better for our guests.

Thank you again and I hope that you will return again.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    685
    352
    157
    85
See reviews for
393
732
54
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Room was nice and clean. Great view of the side of River St and the River. Called and requested a view did not want to look at the lobby. So be careful lots of the rooms are interior view. Patricia checked us in and she was so helpful and nice. In fact all the employees were nice from the housekeeping to the valet. The valet was very quick and welcomed us back everytime they parked out car. Loved that you had to put in your key to go up on elavator. This kept people from River St. from roaming around. Only down side to our whole trip was the motion sensor on the a\c. It would get stuffy at night. Other than that great hotel and room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ja r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear ja r,

Thank you so much for taking time to post a review of your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will certainly pass along your kind words to Patricia and the rest of the staff. We do hope that you will visit with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Was excited to spend our anniversary at the Hyatt Regency in Savannah..however when we arrived..it was very disappointing. The rooms were very dated and drab...they need to put as much thought in to the room decor as they do their lobby. The room may have been clean but it was hard to tell. Needless to say, we did not stay there. The manager was nice enough to cancel our reservation and refund our money.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Andaz Hotel (which is also owned by Hyatt)..what a difference..room was beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencySavannah, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for your stay not meeting your expectations. I wanted to let you know that we are currently undergoing major renovations for our hotel. If your travels ever bring you back to our historic city we would love to be your host again and provide you with a more memorable stay.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Kim
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, North Carolina
Level Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I came to this hotel to enjoy a little of "downtown" Savannah and I was not disappointed. From the moment I came in I felt at home . Every one of the staff members was attentive. My room over looked the courtyard with a balcony. I enjoyed people watching from it. Breakfast was fabulous and such a fabulous view of the Savannah river. It was nice to grab a cup of Starbucks when I needed a pick me up as well. The room as super comfortable and spacious. No real complaints here. A few hiccups but they were resolved. Loved the views from the hotel. Did I mention this? Parking. It is valet, just an FYI. There are several parking garages within waling distance. Entertainment? Just walk (or take the elevator)down to the first floor and out the door. Be sure to get a praline at Savannah Sweets!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear gingerflowers,

Thank you so much for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and found the staff attentive during your visit. I hope that you will be able to come and visit with us again for more of downtown Savannah!

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a lovely, large, clean room that overlooked the riverfront. We found all of the staff to be gracious, friendly and helpful. We would stay here again and would recommend it. This hotel has a great central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. Some rooms face the interior lobby and this would not have been nearly as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Michelle R,

Thank you so much for posting such a kind review of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was able to provide authentic hospitality during your visit. I thank you for the recommendation to your friends and hope that you will return to visit with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our stay at the Hyatt was so nice. We were treated well by all staff members we came in contact with, from the front desk to the guys in valet parking. For those going to Savannah particularly to tour River Street, the location is perfect. They have an elevator that takes you down to the middle of River Street. One note about our room-it had a sliding door that opened onto the public terrace on the 4th floor which could be noisy at times.

The only downside was that we booked a carriage tour through the concierge and at tour time there was a terrible storm so we had to cancel. A manager at the tour company could not be reached and we had to wait until 9 the next morning to leave so we could work out the refund. The concierge that booked the tour gave us a brochure showing a horse drawn carriage, which we learned later was for private tours, and the tour we would have been on was more of a horse drawn wagon, with cushioned benches on both sides (We went to the meeting spot to begin the tour as the storm approached). My husband does not have good mobility and it would have been hard for him to ride on a bench. Also, the next morning a different concierge told us that the person who booked for us the day before should not have because of impending bad weather, and let us know he was not happy with her.

Overall, however, it was a wonderful stay. We are ready to go back!

Room Tip: Avoid terrace rooms if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyMtnLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear KentuckyMtnLovers,

Thank you so much for taking time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and found our location perfect and that our staff was pleasant.

I will certainly pass along your comments regarding the concierge to the appropriate department head so appropriate follow up can be made. I am happy to hear that we were able to settle the refund before you departed the hotel but apologize for it taking time out of your trip.

We do hope that you will return to Savannah again soon, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel staff was great. Rooms were cleaned every time we left the hotel. 24 hour fitness center. Right on river street. They had flutes playing beautiful music right in the lobby. Buisness center with touch screen computers. Valet parking. The Valet manager was excellent. Her name was Luz. She got our huge truck a special place in the parking, because it wouldn't fit anywhere else. Anytime we needed her she was there. I will be going back there again.

Room Tip: The second floor has balcony rooms that look over the river. You can flout and listen to the perform...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Stephen J,

Thank you so much for taking time to review your recent stay with us. It is our job to provide authentic hospitality to each guest and I am so pleased to hear that our staff especially Luz was able to do that for you. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#27 of 112 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Savannah

Property: Hyatt Regency Savannah
Address: 2 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Savannah
#19 Business Hotel in Savannah
#30 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Savannah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convention Hotel located on the Savannah River and in the heart of the Historic District. Three views are offered: Atrium, cityview and Riverview. Atrium hotel with lobby decorated with greenery and plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Savannah Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing