We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality at its finest!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Ranked #31 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality at its finest!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The room was very comfortable and the hotel was in a great location on the River! I was unsure of how I felt about the room at first. It felt a little dated, due to the size of the room and the bathroom, but very comfortable.

Early one morning the fire alarms went off and they evacuated the property. Later in the afternoon boxes of candy were delivered to the guest rooms with a letter of apology from the manager. I was shocked since the fire alarm was due to a guests negligence (what I was told) and had no bearing on the hotel.

The next night my room key was not working and hotel security had to come help me. The next morning there was another apology for the inconvenience under my door along with a coupon to use for an appetizer in the bar, room service, breakfast, etc.

Their customer service exceeded all of my expectations! This was true Southern Hospitality!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank family_of_5_travel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    850
    443
    205
    105
See reviews for
529
966
74
780
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Don't be filled as you're driving in, at first it looks like you're going to be in a rough area but then you cross the street and boom: downtown Savannah! We got lucky enough to be upgraded to a river view room by Zach at the front desk because we were on our honeymoon which was so wonderful! I didn't think people did things like that anymore. The room was lovely, very clean and the decorations were nice. The bed was super comfortable!

The two options for parking were city parking ($16 and no in and out privileges) or hyatts garage ($22, unlimited in and out).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Browniesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt for business. It was an excellent setup with ground floor conference facilities and all the amenities you could ask for including a great breakfast restaurant, lounge for the evenings, main floor starbucks coffee, and convenient and fast elevator service.

The hotel is situated in the heart of old savannah and minutes from the riverside entrance you'll find crooners singing in the acoustically pleasant covered walkway, a number of pubs and restaurants, and some local craft shops.

You might also enjoy watching the variety of freighters and barges passing through to the port regularly. Large windows throughout give a great waterside view from most locations in this hotel.

Room Tip: book in advance if you want a king bed, they have a limited supply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

First time visit to Savannah. Hyatt provided an excellent "home" for my visit. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for River Street and historic district. Vu Lounge patio is a great place to relax and enjoy the river. Rooms are large and well cared for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

They haven't refurbished since they opened in the 80! The bathroom looked like a 49$ a night room on 95! The smell in the room was irritating my nose and throut. Old, old, old. Kept shoes on at all times and remove spread. The view of river was nice, but not worth the price.

Room Tip: Go to the Bohemian next door and spent an extra 50$
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerib732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencySavannah, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Savannah. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay. We appreciate guest feedback such as yours, as it allows us the opportunity to correct and improve our operation.

Sincerely,

Heather R. Miller
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
376 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

From the minute you arrive at the Hyatt you can see the river behind ..this river dominates the city..on the boardwalk behind the hotel are the original docks , now mostly nautically themed bars and restaurants .. We walked around there in the evening and felt very safe and comfortable ..the Hyatt has a great bar with outside seating overlooking the docks and prices are good.. The massive atrium looks really good and makes the hotel memorable ..the place was full on the Saturday night we stayed , but it was still fine, not too noisy , there's good security , nice helpful staff and a brilliant breakfast restaurant overlooking the river which we thoroughly enjoyed..I woul say the staff at this hotel are an unbelievable asset as each one we interacted with was welcoming, respectful and helpful.. The rooms are clean tidy, fine in fact, just could be a little bigger , hence my review can't be the full 5 stars ..but it's a 4 star room, in a 4 star hotel with 5 star staff and a 5 star location .. A few nights here woud be perfect for anyone ..

Room Tip: We chose a high level river facing room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our first time in a Hyatt Regency. We have stayed in many Hyatt properties from Hyatt Place to Park Hyatt. The staff here was great all around. From valet, to front desk, to concierge (Sally is the best), to cleaning, to management, everyone we interacted with was great. Very accommodating and helpful. The location is wonderful and convenient.The facility is nice enough though it felt more tailored to conventions and groups than families or vacationers.

We arrived at 10am and our room was not ready (totally understandable). They said it would be ready shortly so we went to tour the city a bit and have lunch. About 4pm the hotel called and said our room was ready. Pretty late in my opinion. We booked a suite for comfort and size. The suite was decent size wise but felt like a slightly larger Hyatt Place room for two to three times the price. The bathroom was a total disappointment. It was tiny and not very nice. Hyatt Place bathrooms are more functional. Only one person could be in there at a time. Imagine 3 females having to take turns with the mirror. It took forever. My oldest finally moved to the kitchenette area to do her makeup. Not very convenient.

We are not a high maintenance family. When we travel we like to splurge and stay somewhere nice. Having stayed in a Park Hyatt suite perhaps our expectations for a Hyatt Regency suite were simply too high. For the money I expected something nicer than a Hyatt Place however. When we had to leave a day early due to illness Matt was nice enough to let us cancel our final day (did I mention the staff is GREAT). There was nothing "wrong" with the hotel. All in all it's a convenient place to stay with a great staff. Just don't expect much in the way of luxury. Next time we are in Savannah we will try the Andaz.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heisrisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencySavannah, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Savannah. Our goal is to Exceed your expectations and I would like to apologize for the challenges your experienced with your room. We appreciate guest feedback such as yours, as it allows us the opportunity to correct and improve our operation. Thank you so much for sharing your positive comments regarding our staff. We have shared these warm comments as we take great pride in our Customer service.

Sincerely,

Heather R. Miller
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,991 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Savannah

Property: Hyatt Regency Savannah
Address: 2 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#19 Business Hotel in Savannah
#19 Green Hotel in Savannah
#30 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convention Hotel located on the Savannah River and in the heart of the Historic District. Three views are offered: Atrium, cityview and Riverview. Atrium hotel with lobby decorated with greenery and plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Savannah Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing