We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Savannah Midtown
Ranked #99 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location and value”
Reviewed December 5, 2009

This is an affordable hotel, close enough to historic Savannah, and a great alternative for people traveling with pets. We have an 80 lab, so it can be difficult to find hotels that allow you to stay with such a large dog. The hotel is only about 20 minutes from the riverfront and they offer a free shuttle, but the last pick up is at 9 PM, so a little early on the weekend. But overall a great value and the shuttle drivers were friendly as well.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Issy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    22
    20
    61
See reviews for
41
45
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

nearby historic savannah - the free shuttle on weekends was a plus - friendly driver and staff - we will go back

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awandtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed here a Thursday - Sunday. The front desk was very helpful in arranging a room for us that was by the pool per our request. We informed the front desk of our pet and they advised us to display the "don't disturb" sign to ensure room service would not enter. We had no problems with this.

The hotel was overall clean and very convienent to historic Savannah without the price tag. If you are looking to spend more money on entertainment and dining while still comfort in lodging, Red Roof Midtown is your place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abulluck2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

We were looking for a safe, clean and convenient place to stay during an overnight getaway. The Red Roof was easy to find and is in a nice neighborhood with plenty of close-by stores and restaurants. Savannah's historic district is an EASY 10-15 minute drive (depending on your luck with traffic lights). Our room was comfortable and quiet and the staff members we came in contact with were friendly, helpful and efficient. The only (minor) criticisms we noted were:
- Some mildew on the ceiling above the shower and some corners and edges of wallpaper and borders beginning to lift and peel. (Not surprising given the heat and humidity in Savannah during the summer months)
- A large stain on the carpet between the beds which sparked conversation on theories about its origins until the wife got creeped out and told us to stop talking about it.
- The water level in the pool was quite low. No too surprising as it was the end of a HOT day that obviously been a busy one for the little oasis. The water was still clear and refreshing, but not circulating through the skimmers so floating debris had nowhere to go.
- The dining area... I'll start by saying that this comment can easily be a standard review comment for ANY of hundreds of similar properties across the nation that do their best to adapt their lobby areas to serve dining room duty each morning. The lobby/dining area is small and the buffet area can be a challenge to navigate for anyone but the earliest risers. The food is fresh and the area is clean... a testament to the dedicated young man charged with the daily challenge of working around and cleaning up after legions of shuffling "morning zombies".

Minor nitpicks to be sure.

Thanks Red Roof! We left refreshed and happy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlabamaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon tn
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2009

great hotel,very clean,great staff and very clean
close to down town easy to get to and allot of fun
also have a computer to use and great breakfast

give it a try it's a nice place to stay

number #0703

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

I stayed at this hotel in April and May 2009 and have been highly pleased by the rooms and especially the front desk staff. While it is an older exterior corridor hotel, the staff is very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were well put together and clean. I stayed here when the property was a Hampton and rooms are still in Hampton type condition with less toiletry amenities. Overall it is a great value in the Savannah market.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyfisher_ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

My mother and I stayed at this hotel.
Now I don't know what everyone wants in a hotel , but for me as long as roaches aren't climbing the walls I am pretty happy. I mean, how much time are you gonna be there??
Anyway we were allowed to check in at noon even though I think check in is 3 PM. Now this was on a Wed so I don't know if it had been the weekend we would have been so lucky.
The room was basic and clean...bathroom is a little small but there is an area to "put on your face " and plenty of mirrors to use so that was ok. Plenty of towels, tv worked, microwave, fridge, hair dryer.Not many little soaps and shampoos, but I don't use them anyway.
We went out for lunch right down the street at Sweet Potatoes(which is great by the way!)
We decided to try to explore. Oh my! Beware a lot of streets only go one way and not the way I wanted to go. Going aorund squares takes getting used to as well. Anyway we came back and were going to try to call AAA to get help with directions, etc. My mom called the front desk to see if they knew of one close. The sweet lady at the desk -I believe Deborah-said honey come on up and I will help you!
She highlighted our map to let us know how to go! (in hindsight I feel stupid cause it was a straight shot up Habersham to River St right out of our hotel but hey were from out of town!!)
Now the one bad thing is planes fly overhead at night from the airforce base. I learned quick...turn the AC unit on and got earplugs at Kroger...and I was fine!!
The breakfast is ample if you are not expecting eggs and bacon. I am not a big breakfast eater early anyway...maybe for brunch. Save the room for Mrs Wilkes instead!(Yes you need to go there !) But they have cereal, bagels,pastries, toast ,muffins. And plenty of the most important ...coffee!!
After breakfast, we asked the lady at the desk how to get to the tour stations.She told us if we wanted to use Old Savannah Tours...they would come out and pick us up. Now this is not the 10.00 dollar one but for 25.00 it was worth it not to drive around the first day til I got my bearings. She called them for us and they picked us right up at the front door and brought us back! Also this hotel has a van that will take you to town but we did not use the service so I cannot comment on it..but this is only available on the weekends.
The night before we left I was able to use the computer to check my flight home. The printer did not work to print off directions to the airport,but the nice lady at the desk gave them to me and they were much more simple than the mapquest directions!!
Did not use the pool,but looked nice and clean.
So bottom line:
You are not at the Ritz, but it is clean and comfortable.
You are only 5 miles form town (drive out of the lot and go down Habersham will take you right to River Street shops and resturants.
You really do need a car...so rent one if you did not drive in. You can go to Tybee and see Bonadventure Cemetary if you have one. Parking is sucky and expensive if you have to pay in town-we lucked out and found a spot at River St the first night (meters are free after 5) You can rely on cabs(expensive) or hotel transport (not sure of hours though). Tour bus companies have free parking, so drive and park there and take a trolley. You need to anyway to get familar with downtown.
Staff was friendly and helpful.
Feel free to email me if you have questions...If you have not been here before as we hadn't it can be very confusing getting around!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cralexander58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Midtown
Econo Lodge Midtown
#89 of 113 in Savannah
81 reviews
10.3 mi away
Motel 6 Savannah - South
Motel 6 Savannah - South
#98 of 113 in Savannah
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown
#55 of 113 in Savannah
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Savannah Midtown
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#81 of 113 in Savannah
153 reviews
9.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#85 of 113 in Savannah
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Savannah Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Savannah Midtown

Property: Motel 6 Savannah Midtown
Address: 201 Stephenson Ave, Savannah, GA 31405-5930
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Savannah Midtown 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 is located 4.9 miles from Savannah's famous Historic District. Our guests will find many fabulous restaurants and tons of shopping within minutes. Visit City Market or Memorial Stadium. Enjoy free WiFi in all modern guest rooms . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Motel-6, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 6 Savannah Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Savannah - Midtown Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn Savannah Midtown
Red Roof Inn Midtown
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing