We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roach roach roach roach roach” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Savannah Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Savannah Midtown
Ranked #101 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Roach roach roach roach roach”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

I'll start with the good - it was cheap and in a decent location. The young lady who checked me in at around 7pm on Friday night was very courteous and helpful.

The bad:
I found a roach in my sink area. Yeah.
There was dirt all over my bed sheets, like someone had put their feet on them or something.
There was hair in the bathroom that was not mine.
My garbage never got emptied.

So here's what really pissed me off. One day I didn't receive any clean towels. I took my dog downstairs to use the restroom and decided to stop in the lobby and ask for some. Instead of just handing me a towel, the front desk lady(not the same as the lady who checked me in) decided to lecture me for bringing my dog in the lobby (apparently they don't want him contaminating their fabulous continental breakfast). Girl please. 1) if I had been given towels in the first place like I SHOULD HAVE BEEN, then I wouldn't be in here with my dog asking for them now. 2) he's already in the lobby. Why don't you zip it and give me my towel so I can get my animal out of here? 3) It is *I* who should be worried about this hotel dirtying up my dog, not the other way around. I mean, I found a ROACH in my room. My dog is not dirty. He bathes often. He obviously gets cleaned more than this hotel.

I could go on and on, but basically this place is DIRTY and the staff doesn't do its job. Never, ever again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlin092303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    21
    18
    59
See reviews for
36
45
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, florida USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Once again, we chose the Midtown Red Roof for it's location-a one shot drive into Hauntingly beautiful Ardsley Park/downtown Savannah via Habersham Street which is directly out of the Red Roof parking lot, or go one block to Abercorn Street. Free parking!(all the fancy hotels downtown charge $13.00 a night to park in a garage, by the way). Thank you Donna and staff for the extra towels/tips/helpfulness, etc. We stayed in room 119 on the ground floor. Safe area, pool was gorgeous, but we did not use it-Handy ice machines-fridge/micro in roo all worked-AC great/bed large and comfortable-the bathroom needed some basic maitenance-tub needed repainting/toilet handle was jiggly, little things that can be easily fixed. We were there 3 nights-there were two maintenance guys working on the hotel on Monday morning. We paid $58.49 on Saturday night-$44.99 on Sunday and Monday with AARP discount. Fresh Market and a Publix are three blocks away-we always bring wine/cheese/fruit to our rooms. We also carry our own cappucino machine, and keep the milk in the fridge. No reason to ever partake of a junky free breakfast in any hotel in the USA. We will always choose this hotel. There is also a T.J Maxx one block North of the hotel with a nail place/Marshall's, etc. No complaints at all on this trip.

Room Tip: ask for the ground floor-no lugging bags upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sneepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here over Labor Day weekend and had a great time! I was able to get this hotel at the last minute after our first hotel cancelled our reservations bc they overbooked....stupid. However, I thank Red Roof for everything!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney_A_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We have two dogs, and finding a decent hotel can be tough. This Red Roof was great - didn't charge a pet fee; the property and room were very clean. Staff was very nice, and helpful. Plenty of area to walk our dogs too. Our time here was limited, but we slept well. Room had a fridge, a lounge chair, king bed, with plenty of room to spare. Not bad for $50! A few restaurants within walking distance made it an easy stay.

Room Tip: Book the room on their website for the best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

All I needed was for the hotel to be clean, and for it to be cheap. This provided me with both of those things. The hotel was very clean, although the bathroom was kind of falling apart. The bathtub flooring was coming up, but it did look like it was clean anyways. The sheets FELT clean and not hard and crunchy like some hotels.

The front desk was really friendly upon both check in and check out. The maid service was subpar considering she tried to get me to give her my key when I left my room and chased me down the hall, and also left the TV and lights on when she cleaned our room.

There is a complimentary breakfast but it wasn't anything I'd really eat. Some bread, cereal, muffins. The coffee is actually really good coffee, I was impressed.

They do have a shuttle service, the drive is about 15 minutes away from Historical Savannah, but it driving in is very easy and parking in Savannah is cheap and easy as well. There were a lot of other restaurant's and fast food places near us if you aren't going for the historical feel of Savannah and just want a chain treat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEelbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Booked a two star hotel thru Hotwire. When I learned I would be staying at the Red Roof Inn Midtown, Savannah, I was mortified. I even called Hotwire and told them they needed to read the reviews of this property posted on TripAdvisor.

Guess What? I was totally surprised. The property is very attractive from the outside and Room 169 was very clean and more than I expected for the price I paid. The property has been updated with new windows and plantation shutters in each room. I would recommend this property based on what I saw and I searched to find something wrong, couldn't find it.

The only negative comment I can make is that the pool had a sign posted that the pool is approved for ten people total. I thought this unusual since it is a hotel pool. The furniture around the pool was well worn and in need of replacing. Otherwise, great place to stay. The area is nice and there is an excellent restaurant on Waters Avenue.....The Exchange Restaurant and Bar. Leaving the hotel, turn right on Stephenson Avenue. When you get to the stop light on Waters Avenue, turn right. The restaurant is on the left side, immediately after the turn at the light.

Room Tip: I booked thru HotWire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pfishlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

First room that was assigned was filthy and they gave us another room. Second room was almost as bad. There was mold in the bathroom, vents coated with lint, front panel off the sink vanity and sitting on the floor. We left our second morning with instructions to housekeeping to change the beds and leave extra towels. Upon our return at 6:30 our beds weren't made, dirty towels were still on the bathroom floor and trash still in cans. We were told that housekeeping was gone and they would send the shuttle driver down to service the room. We left for dinner. When we got back he had dropped the sheets off for us to change our own beds. NO clean towels. When we talked to the girl at the front desk she asked the driver to service the room. He stormed out cussing saying it wasn't his job...and guess what? They ran out of clean towels. Why didn't we go elsewhere? There wasn't a room available in Savannah that weekend! What a disaster. I highly recommend this motel if you enjoy paying for filth, mold and the worst service you can imagine. They will certainly live up to your expectations!

Room Tip: Read reviews and plan way ahead.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler5229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Savannah hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Midtown
Econo Lodge Midtown
#92 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown
#58 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#89 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Motel 6 Savannah - South
Motel 6 Savannah - South
#97 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Savannah - Midtown
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Savannah Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Savannah Midtown

Property: Motel 6 Savannah Midtown
Address: 201 Stephenson Ave, Savannah, GA 31405-5930
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Savannah Midtown 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 is located 4.9 miles from Savannah's famous Historic District. Our guests will find many fabulous restaurants and tons of shopping within minutes. Visit City Market or Memorial Stadium. Enjoy free WiFi in all modern guest rooms . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Savannah Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Savannah - Midtown Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn Savannah Midtown
Red Roof Inn Midtown
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing