We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsafe Accommodations at the Forsyth Park Inn”
Review of Forsyth Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forsyth Park Inn
Ranked #9 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unsafe Accommodations at the Forsyth Park Inn”
Reviewed March 10, 2007

We just returned home from Savannah a day early because we
were so uncomfortable at the Forsyth Park Inn. We stayed in Room #7 one of the two highest priced rooms. The room faced the park which we thought would be lovely however it was just noisey. The traffic whizzes by day and night, the windows have cracks and don't close tightly and the window coverings are only blinds and sheer curtains which do nothing to block noise or street light. However the most distressing issue with this room is the bathroom which is shabby and unsafe. The shower is located in a small and narrow claw foot tub which is 22" off the floor. There are no grab bars to assist in getting in. As soon as you step into the tub it begins to wobble and perhaps that is why there is a washcloth stuffed under a leg! The tub does not drain and the shower liner is too long so you are in ankle deep water with fabric swirling underfoot in an unsteady tub.
The marble in the bathroom is cracked and dirty, there are paint spashes on all the surfaces and a window transom is covered in peeling black paint. All of the metal in the room is rusty. To say the least it is a disaster and should not be rented out at any price! We immediately told the receptionist our concerns about the shower when we checked in but she dismissed us by saying no other rooms were available and there is a no refund policy for early departure. We tried to stick it out but in the end forfited $300.00 just to get out of there.

  • Disliked — bathroom
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank twosavvytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    107
    16
    12
    9
See reviews for
86
345
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2007

We had a perfect stay at The Forsyth Inn this January. The staff is wonderful. I was concerned about the resident cat, Misty, because of my cat allergies but the place is so clean that the cat dander never materialized. The staff made sure the cat was secured in another part of the house when I was in the common areas.
The breakfast was delicious and unique each morning. The evening wine and snacks were just as good. It was nice to visit with other guests in the morning and evening.
The rooms were nice, just like staying at " your good friends" home in their guest room but with daily maid service and turn down. You can easily walk to all parts of the historic district and downtown. If you are out too late, a cab will cost you no more that $5. We didn't use our rental car at all, just to go to/from the airport (20 minutes away).
We found a cool new Jazz Club downtown called Kokopelli's Jazz Club. They import great jazz acts and have 3 night time seatings. Can't say much about the food in Savannah as it is just OK.
If and when we ever go back to Savannah, we will stay at Forsyth Park Inn. Highly recommended for the folks who like to stay in B & B's.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SunRiseEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2007

We highly recommend the Forsyth Park Inn. Everything about the inn was perfect. Great rooms, service, food, and location. A must stay. Hope to see you all again soon.
Scot and Andrea

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
Thank awsomeSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

We decided to have our wedding in the courtyard and arrived a few days before. Everyone was so helpful no matter if someone requested more tea or directions to dinner. I really feel like everyone did all they could to make our stay and wedding wonderful. The breakfasts in the morning were outstanding...especially the scrambled eggs. The coffee and tea in the afternoon as well as the wine and hors d'oeuvres were awesome too. The desserts in the evening were a great way for all of us to finish our evening. The rooms were impeccable and yet still so comfortable. I don't believe I've slept better on a trip. Another review mentioned not liking the basement rooms, but I didn't notice any smell or dampness in either of the rooms. I couldn't have asked for a more perfect location for my wedding ceremony than the courtyard.

All of my wedding guests are still talking about their stay at the inn. I know I am not alone when I say that when any of us go back to Savannah, we'll be staying at the Forsyth.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mybluemach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2006

Enjoyed the bed and breakfast. Wonderful verandah. Room was spacious and well maintained. Food was very good. Would definately stay again. Highly recommend!

  • Liked — veranday overlooking park
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared to find parking which sometimes can be challenging
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jkilzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2006

The Forsyth Park Inn is a warm and relaxing B & B which makes you feel like you are at home. After entering the main entrance and catching your breath from looking at the beautiful stairwell, you will be greeted by a friendly and knowledgable staff. The evening appetizers and the evening desserts top off a relaxing day of exploring Savannah. Then, the next day started with a delicious breakfast and the entire day was enjoyable thanks to the help of the staff of the Inn by helping us find gems of things to do in Savannah. The home is architecturally pleasing to the eye and the courtyard garden smells terrific with all of the lush greenery. I will return to this location, for the Forsyth Inn stole my heart.

  • Liked — The clean and beautiful location
  • Disliked — I loved everything!!!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SCTravels55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

We spent three nights at the Forsyth Inn in Savannah recently.
I was a little apprehensive as I'd never stayed at a bed and breakfast and I wasn't sure what we'd find. Turns out we found a beautifully preserved and decorated 19th century home with excellent food, great service, and friendly people who made us feel welcome. It was a wonderful experience and we'd like to return sometime, perhaps in the spring.

Helpful?
2 Thank WatusiLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,624 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,257 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forsyth Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsyth Park Inn

Property: Forsyth Park Inn
Address: 102 W Hall St, Savannah, GA 31401-5519
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forsyth Park Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forsyth Park Inn is an authentic bed and breakfast and one of the grandest mansions overlooking Savannah's premier park, Forsyth Park. The Forsyth Park Inn is famous for it's bountiful and delicious full breakfasts, wine and hors d'oeuvres in the late afternoon and tasty sweets, fresh brewed coffee and refreshing tea each evening. Please come and relax in this circa 1893 historic inn and view the opulent park with the most majestic (and famous) fountain in all of historic Savannah. You will take with you memories of a truly magical stay. We are a non-smoking inn and our cottage welcomes pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Forsyth Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forsyth Park Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing