We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always our choice when in Savannah!”
Review of Forsyth Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forsyth Park Inn
Ranked #11 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our third St. Patrick's stay at Forsyth Park Inn. We stayed in the cottage again and enjoyed it very much. The staff is wonderful and the breakfasts were delicious. It is a nice walk down to the river which allows us to get away from the crowds when we have had our fill. We have already booked for next year and will continue to stay there when in town.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiminnc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 613 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Savannah is known for many things and one is their beautiful Squares. I love River Street, but when staying the night in Savannah I truly believe you have to stay on a Square to get the real feel of the city! This is why I love the Forsyth Park Inn. It's beautifully set across the street from Forsyth Square. From the wrap-around porch you can see one of the fountains Savannah is famous for.

The Inn itself is warm and inviting. The rooms are all nicely decorated. The food was great! The Forsyth Park Inn is known for its delicious breakfasts which you can eat inside or out on the porch overlooking the Square (that's what we did - simply lovely!). In the afternoon the Inn provides guests with beverages and hors d'oeuvres and later in the evening guests get sweets served with coffee and herbal tea. The staff was helpful and knew the city well.

I would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ecrweil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, Owner at Forsyth Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Forsyth Park Inn for your recent stay in Savannah. We have read your comments about the inn and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at The Forsyth Park Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The best feature of this inn was probably the location situated at the midpoint of Forsyth Park. It was an easy walk to most of the historic squares in Savannah and to the waterfront. The old house has a lot of southern charm and character----creaky stairs and all. The price was on the high side, but I guess par for the course in Savannah among in "inn crowd". The breakfast, although somewhat creative and tasty was rather spartan in portion size. The gentleman who welcomed us on a Friday evening arrival was rather perfunctory in performing his check-in responsibilities and left us with the impression that he really doesn't enjoy his job that much. Although on a rather busy street, our room faced the back and was quiet. The inn had sent us an e-mail before we arrived inquiring of our interest in attending a "Southern Bar-B-Que" on a Saturday afternoon , but that they would only offer this if there were a minimum of 15 guests who signed up ahead-of-time for a fifteen dollar fee. We dutifully appeared at the designated time only to encounter no one else attending nor anyone bar-b-queuing . They brought us some cold chicken and fixins in a styrofoam container. We thought it was a Less-than-honest approach. On the positive side the inn is well appointed with what appears to be several antiques and the landscaping is beautiful and the rocking chairs on the porch are a nice touch. Also, the cleaning and cooking staff seemed quite friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grabotex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, Guest Relations Manager at Forsyth Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Forsyth Park Inn to host your trip to the city of Savannah. We were delighted to have you as our guest. We apologize for the less than stellar approach involving the BBQ. We were going to cancel your order after we did not meet the requirement of people, but thought you might still want to have it, and the person doing the grilling was doing a large number for an additional event, so we thought we would go ahead and have some prepared for you. The dinners were delivered in the to go boxes but were supposed to be warmed and presented on dinner plates. Adjustments will be made to make sure this doesn't happen in the future. Again, we apologize - it could have been much better. Your gracious comments about the rest of your stay will be shared with our staff as they will be pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a sincere pleasure to have you as our guest and we do hope for the opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A friend and I spent two nights at Forsyth Park Inn on a short getaway to experience Savannah's art, architecture, and charm. Our experience far exceeded our expectations. We knew the inn would be nice from the pictures on the website, but unless you have been there you don't realize just how nice it will be. The very best part was the "Southern hospitality," the epitome of what Savannah is reputed for. Everyone at Forsyth Park Inn exudes it in waves! We felt welcomed and cared for throughout our stay, and the enjoyment we got from the city was significantly enhanced by the experience at Forsyth Park Inn. For that, we offer our most heartfelt thanks.

Room Tip: Room 3 is beautiful and capacious with two king size beds and plenty of space around them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We left a cold, snowy New Hampshire Winter to spend a few days at the Forsyth Park Inn. Our second stay was even better than our first time five years ago. This trip was very special because it included our ailing and aging Yellow Lab dog, Emma Lou. We stayed in the Cottage, which was beautiful and roomy. So much was done in advance by the owner, Lori, and the Innkeeping Staff (Daphne, Andrea, Dwayne, Jerry) to make us feel welcome and comfortable. We were given local veterinarian contact information and "advance" Valentine surprises were arranged for my wife, Kathy. During the course of our stay, every request for anything was taken care of, down to the last detail. The entire Staff (Erline, Rosa, Tannie, Cynthia, Kathy) was very friendly and provided excellent service. Everyone gave Emma Lou lots of love and attention. In the evening, Jerry told us about the history of the Inn and the ghosts that are part of it. Breakfast and all of the social events at the Inn were excellent, and we would gather with all the other guests in the evening around the fireplace to meet each other and share experiences. Needless to say, the entire Inn and Forsyth Park, as well as Savannah, are beautiful. Above and beyond the beauty of the Inn, Forsyth Park, and Savannah, the best part of all was the kindness, grace, and generosity shown to us by Lori and her Staff. We truly feel that we have all become friends and look forward to future stays at the Inn. Kathy, Paul, & Emma Lou.

Room Tip: The Cottage is elegant yet very cozy, and is pet-friendly. The other rooms are all beautiful and dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We truely enjoyed everthing ...the room (1) was awsome . The people that run the Inn were very helpful and informative. The food was fabulous!!The other guests were delightful as well! Would go back to this Inn in a heartbeat. It was raining for two days and yet we had a great time the park is right across the street and you can enjoy the grand porch veiw from a rocking chair with coffee in hand. The park stays busy with locals walking their dogs or jogging. The flowers were blooming in Feb. It was so beautiful. The owner has a gift of a green thumb and her garden is awsome. She also fills the Inn with fresh cut flowers, just beautiful. Thank you for a geat weekend!

Room Tip: I had the chance to see several of the rooms on Sat. after guests had checked out! any of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaHartnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Wonderful time; hospitality great and warm. Really enjoyed the location in the historic district,close to town. The home was spectacular and historic with a ghost story to boot! The rooms are very spacious and inviting. Can't say enough about our long weekend!The breakfast was very good and the front porch very appealing to wine in the evening and coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WN2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,373 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#6 of 30 in Savannah
1,458 reviews
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 30 in Savannah
739 reviews
Downtown
Dresser Palmer House
Dresser Palmer House
#16 of 30 in Savannah
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forsyth Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsyth Park Inn

Address: 102 W Hall St, Savannah, GA 31401-5519
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $137 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forsyth Park Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forsyth Park Inn is an authentic bed and breakfast and one of the grandest mansions overlooking Savannah's premier park, Forsyth Park. The Forsyth Park Inn is famous for it's bountiful and delicious full breakfasts, wine and hors d'oeuvres in the late afternoon and tasty sweets, fresh brewed coffee and refreshing tea each evening. Please come and relax in this circa 1893 historic inn and view the opulent park with the most majestic (and famous) fountain in all of historic Savannah. You will take with you memories of a truly magical stay. We are a non-smoking inn and our cottage welcomes pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Forsyth Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forsyth Park Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing