We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View”
Review of Forsyth Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Forsyth Park Inn
Ranked #11 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in room 6, located in the rear of the 2nd floor overlooking the fountained patio. Soothing, quiet and peaceful after our long days of visiting the historic district. Staff were great and quite accommodating in answering questions on the Savannah area during the social periods of breakfast, mixers and evening snacks where we enjoyed meeting the other guests. If your a couple looking for a nice getaway, we would recommend and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Patio side rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eppingforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 610 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our stay was very nice! The staff and owner were all very friendly and accommodating, and the daily breakfast, snacks, drinks and appetizers were wonderful. If you are big on watching TV or movies, our particular room only had a small old tube tv in the sitting room (which wasn't viewable from the bed) but I am not sure if the other rooms have better (or more easily viewed) televisions or not. However, that did not hamper our stay as we had so much planned in the evening with eating out, etc. and we were able to watch a movie from our laptop with the free WiFi. I would recommend the Inn for a couple looking for a romantic escape into the past! :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was our first visit to Savannah, and we will definitely be back! The Forsyth Park Inn Bed & Breakfast was a delight to behold, and we enjoyed our stay there so much. We were even able to select our room in advance by going online to view photos of each room. We stayed in room #7, which was large and comfortable. It had a beautiful king-size bed with gorgeous linens and comfort beyond compare. The breakfast each morning was delicious and filling -- cinnamon pancakes the first morning and scrambled eggs the second morning, along with a fruit cup, numerous juices and other beverages, and ambiance to boot. The service was excellent with a very friendly and gracious staff. The wine and "goodies" each evening were exceptional as well. Our stay at the Forsyth Park Inn to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary was just the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, street side, and while we could hear the traffic a bit, it was not enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenHat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My stay at Forsyth Park Inn was very pleasant. I enjoyed the staff, breakfast and snacks that were available. However, I mostly enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs on the porch. We stayed in room #2 which is located downstairs near the front desk, which is where my issue is. The room itself was very cozy, the bed was comfortable and I surprisingly slept very well. The room also faces the court yard and I enjoyed the sounds of the fountain at night. However, you can hear everything going on in the lobby and with reception. There was one receptionist that wore high heeled boots (on hardwood floors!!!) and it seemed liked she stomped everywhere she went and it was the most disturbing noise ever!!! It was so bad that we had to leave the inn until after 9p, which was when she left. Between the hours of 9p and 6a it is a very peaceful place, but after those hours you will need earplugs, unless you are upstairs. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay and I was even happier that I did not see the resident ghost "Lottie" (Google it). If you can get a special deal, I would say go for it, just pick your rooms wisely.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 are located downstairs, and are very lound and near the ice machine and reception. Rooms 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheStampCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, Owner at Forsyth Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to let others know of your experience at the Forsyth Park Inn. We are so sorry to hear about your discomfort with the noise level of room #2. We have spoken with the staff regarding the type of shoes worn during their shift. It was just one of those things you really dont think about until someone brings it to your attention, so thank you. We are also appreciative of your kind remarks and are always pleased to know that our efforts in providing guests with the highest level of customer service is well received. Your gracious comments will be shared with our staff as they will be pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a sincere pleasure to have you as our guest and we do hope for the opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Forsythe Park Inn twice now. Both experiences have been wonderful. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. Couldn't ask for a more comfortable room, great breakfast, sweets at night and appetizers and wine in the evenings. Dwayne and Jerry are very informative and friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed all of their restaurant and bar suggestions as well as tour suggestions. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. We will definitely be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenJen1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Front desk fellow - Dwayne - friendly without being unctious, very accomodating, makes a point of remembering your name when you come down the next morning: a nice touch.

Spotless place, handy parking on the street outside, lots of steps (as expected in a Savannah old house). We stayed in a ground-floor room at the back and it was silent.

Get up in the morning and sit on the balcony when you eat breakfast and watch the exercizers run and walk their way around Forsyth Square. If you hang around till lunch time, there's a cafe in the middle of Forsyth Square which is pretty, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MovingMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was my husbands and I first bed and breakfast that we ever stayed in. I was very happy and pleased. Jerry and Dwain were awsome very helpful and friendly and the rest of the staff as well. The food was excellent the location was great you can walk to everything. The house was charming our bedroom was cozy. The only thing I was concerned with was they need to put a bar somewhere near the tub it is a ball and claw bath tub and there was no where to grab on to when getting out. (Hung on to poll for shower head not a good idea.) The rooms were clean and comfy. The room we stayed in was room 6... I hope some one turned in my necklace I forgot it in our room realized it the next day after we left. It was on the turn knob on the lamp next to the door. I called for them to check the room but someone already was in the room they said they would ck later. They did call me back but it was not there. Over all though great place to stay...

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room with a ball and claw tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkk521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,898 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#6 of 30 in Savannah
1,453 reviews
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 30 in Savannah
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forsyth Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsyth Park Inn

Address: 102 W Hall St, Savannah, GA 31401-5519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $161 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forsyth Park Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forsyth Park Inn is an authentic bed and breakfast and one of the grandest mansions overlooking Savannah's premier park, Forsyth Park. The Forsyth Park Inn is famous for it's bountiful and delicious full breakfasts, wine and hors d'oeuvres in the late afternoon and tasty sweets, fresh brewed coffee and refreshing tea each evening. Please come and relax in this circa 1893 historic inn and view the opulent park with the most majestic (and famous) fountain in all of historic Savannah. You will take with you memories of a truly magical stay. We are a non-smoking inn and our cottage welcomes pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Forsyth Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forsyth Park Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing