We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Savannah”
Review of 17 Hundred 90 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
17 Hundred 90 Inn
Ranked #10 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay. Everything was great. We stayed in room 207, it was a large room with a fireplace, and a great comfortable bed! Loved the charm of this inn. The staff was very helpful, and the restaurant on site was really good. We also enjoyed the little pub, very local and friendly. Also couldn't beat the location, we were within walking distance to anything we wanted to see.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnjbap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
There are newer reviews for 17 Hundred 90 Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 632 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

This place has charm & character and historic architecture. All rooms have gas fireplaces, antique furniture and a refrigerator. Even though the room looks antique we still had a flat screen TV. We didn't see or experience any ghost activity unfortunately. I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebluegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We found and booked this hotel through Booking.com and the entire experience couldn't have gone smoother. The inn is run by a local couple who actually worked at the property. We found that to be quite refreshing. We stayed in room 205. The queen bed was super comfy and we adored the fireplace that comes to live with the flick of a switch. The bathroom isn't fancy, but it large and has everything you need. The inn is close and within walking distance to everything you'd want to do in downtown Savannah and the location makes it easy to take a quick jaunt to Tybee Island. You MUST eat at the 1790 restaurant, it is so good and fresh. The shrimp and scallop scampi was delectable. We liked how the inn is on all of the ghost tours. While we didn't have any direct contact with "Anna" there were a few things that could be construed as coming from her... we found pennies in drawers (she apparently likes to leave pennies) and one night with the lights turned off, the bedside lamp kept coming on and flickering in a Morse code sort of way. One night the fireplace, which normally runs with a steady place, roared up to a large flame then would go down to practically nothing and this happened repeatedly for about 10 minutes then returned to its steady flame. I don't know if it was "Anna" but it was fun to think about the ghostly possibilities. The inn overall was wonderful from the staff to the food to the location. We'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beatlegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The inn is centrally located, walkable to the riverfront, historic squares, and SCAD as well as restaurants, museums, and shopping. Although the building needs continued TLC, the accommodations were cozy and spacious for two people, and at a reasonable price for an expensive city. We stayed during a chilly few days and did use the heat, which was audible when in use, but essentially "white noise" for sleeping. Our room was along the second floor hallway, so there was some noise of other guests, both in another room and the hall, but that can be expected in an old home. The staff was friendly and offered any needed assistance. The complimentary continental breakfast was cereals and pastries, coffee and juice.

Room Tip: Persons with mobility issues may have difficulty navigating the narrow stairs to the accommodations.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKBTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Let me start off by saying I have been to Savannah many, many times and I have stayed at many places there... 17 Hundred 90 Inn was hands down the best!! I was so sad to leave. I was hesitant about booking at first because all the main house rooms were booked and I wasn't sure I wanted to stay off the property, but I took a chance and I am so glad I did.

My family and I went in January for my birthday and stayed on the top floor of the guest house. It was like a mini apartment with a private living room with fireplace, a separate bedroom and an exquisite bathroom with a relaxing jetted tub.

The location was great and within walking distance to everything. There was a free continental breakfast which consisted of cereals, fruit, assorted muffins and danishes etc. We only dined for breakfast, but the dining room was gorgeous with exposed brick walls and chandeliers. Totally up my ally!

The innkeepers were so kind and eager to help with whatever we needed or whatever questions we had.

I couldn't recommend this place more! 5 stars in my book!

Room Tip: Top floor of the guest house (I don't remember the number).
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at 17hundred90 Inn for a weekend celebrating our anniversary. Our room was very cozy with a fireplace and wood floors. The staff was very nice. The restaurant was very good as well (A separate review is posted about that). This Inn is "haunted" but we didn't have any out of the ordinary experiences. Location is great, within walking distance to everything in Historic Savannah.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbdusf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We booked the Inn because it was in the heart of Savannah, not because of the reported resident ghost! We are generally non-believers, but not 'scaredy cats' either. On arrival, we were a bit put off by the exterior appearance. In an old and architecturally-famous city, we expected it too look more charming. It was not. But once we entered the front door, we knew we had just what we wanted. The building's interior exudes character, from the deeply stained wooden ceilings to the slightly lumpy ancient and uneven floors. It is truly old and that is a significant part of the appeal. The staff offered help with our luggage. The stairwells are narrow and navigating them required some care. Persons with physical challenges should be aware.

The first room we were offered was one which had a window onto an interior corridor only, not the exterior as one would expect. That was not acceptable to my wife who has claustrophobia. Once we pointed that fact out, the management quickly found us another room, this time in their annex building just a few doors away from the original building. The room we were then offered was actually a two-room suite! Don't expect that every time, but it was a lovely touch. The annex is of the same charm, although was obviously a superior structure when it was built.

The rooms are appropriately fitted out with period furniture, mostly genuine antiques, which give the overall impression that an 'olde inn' should. If you don't like antiques, this may not be the place for you, but we loved it. Air conditioning is in place. We did not need it when we visited. We were pleasantly surprised to find it in such an old building - constructed as it was early 1800's (despite the 1790 name).

The included breakfast is modest, but adequate, with mostly cold things, continental style. A full breakfast is available at additional cost, I believe. Speaking of dining here, the Inn's restaurant is fabulous. We had one evening meal there and it was one of the best restaurant meals we have ever had - and we dine out a lot! Everything was prepared to perfection and served with class - and at the end, the waitstaff told stories of Anna, the resident ghost, to the attendant guests' delight. It was a charming evening.

Parking is a bit troublesome as one would expect in an older property in a downtown area. There is not sufficient parking for all guests' vehicles, so on-street parking with attention to parking meters may be expected for some guests. We lucked into a space on their small parking lot and our car stayed there for the duration of our visit.

Finally, the staff were helpful and pleasant throughout. Not just the "have a good day" type of greeting; these were human beings who genuinely wanted to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Thank you for that genuine hospitality.

Savannah was on our 'bucket list'. It is a lovely city to visit. If it is also on yours, please stay at this Inn. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_CornerBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,806 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 114 in Savannah
1,253 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Hundred 90 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Hundred 90 Inn

Address: 307 E President St, Savannah, GA 31401-3808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $145 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 17 Hundred 90 Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your 17 Hundred 90 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hundred 90 Hotel Savannah
1700 90 Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing