We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy”
Review of 17 Hundred 90 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
17 Hundred 90 Inn
Ranked #10 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zelienople
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Happy”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very pleased with this B&B. We stayed at their guest house just down the street. It needed a little TLC, but looked like they were in the process of maintaining the building. It was very quaint and quite, right in the historic district and walking distance to shops and restaurants. Also loved the Tavern in the Inn. Had dinner their every night. Food was very good, try the crab stew! Had a good time talking to all the locals.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    176
    53
    25
    19
See reviews for
69
390
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you look at B&B's around Savannah, you know that they can run on the pricey side. We stayed at 1790 on Valentine's weekend in room 311, which is separate from the main Inn. I think for the price, the room was just fine. The owners really put a lot of love and work into this property - and they have the before and after restoration pics to prove it! If you're looking to stay in a restored Savannah home for a reasonable rate, definitely give this a try. If you are looking for a pristine and perfect room, you might want to pay a little bit more at one of the other B&Bs. However, you can't beat the location - about 2 blocks up from Broughton, so an easy walk to that area and River Street, which is likely the way you'll be heading at night. Also, even if you don't stay here, be SURE to eat here! We had an amazing meal our first night in town (luckily we made reservations right when we checked in, they were almost completely booked on a Thursday!) - our server Steven was fantastic and the food was superb. The dining room is adorable as well - wood, exposed brick, etc. - can't say enough good things about the dining experience here- definitely go!!

Room Tip: If you do stay offiste in 311 or 312, I would pick 312 as it is in the rear of the house and 311 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLN723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Staff was super friendly and helpful. We were able to stay in Rm 204 that is known as Anna's room. Had a little activity in the room at night. Kids loved it. Great location. Short walk to restaurants and such. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie3641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We always try to stay at a haunted hotel whenever possible, so I couldn't resist this place. I could only get the most haunted room (204) for one night, then they put us in another room (of my choice) for the second night of our two night stay. This was our first trip to Savannah, and even though it was pouring rain the entire time, I loved every minute of our stay.

This hotel is old, it's beautiful, the staff is wonderful. The rooms are very comfortable. The fireplace was not working in our room the 2nd night, which was a bummer since we'd been out in the rain all day, so I wish they could have taken care of that ahead of time. They did offer us a choice of a few other rooms with working fireplaces, but the one with the red bedspread was by far their prettiest room (that I saw) and our stuff was already there, so we stayed put.

The hotel is in a really great location. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. To me, the inn's continental breakfast is not worth bothering with, when you have so many great choices for dining in the historic area. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but we did sip drinks on comfy sofas in front of the fire at the bar.

I didn't get a weird vibe from the haunted room, but when we were packing up our stuff to move to the 2nd room on our 2nd day, I misplaced my small black leather jewelry box. I'm so not a disorganized person and to me, everything has it's place. The box would either be in my suitcase or on the bed. Nowhere else. But It was gone. I pretty much tore the whole room apart looking for it, and after half an hour I found it in my purse, which was on the other side of the room. That might not seem weird to anyone else, but I know for a fact that I didn't or would ever put that box in my purse. It doesn't belong there. Perhaps the ghost was playing games with me, because my husband, aka Mr. Skeptic, thought I was crazy. Thanks Anna!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brendadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax, Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Last night my GF and I stayed in Room #204. We started by blessing the ghost Anne and thanking her for allowing us to stay in her room. After a long day of pub crawling & a late dinner we ventured back to the room around 2am. Since we are both female, we weren't sure how Anne would treat us. My GF had no experience (that she remembers), but I definitely felt a presence through the night. There was a heavy push on me (nothing physically hurtful) as if someone was on top of me & I felt a tickling of my foot at one time. Plus, some strange sounds, but nothing that was scary. My GF and I had some wonderful conversations with the staff & we were treated very well. We will go back again one day - but probably experience another room.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We went here for light dinner and drinks. The place was recommended by our hotel, The Presedent'squarters, which is right across the street. We ate at the bar. There are comfy sofas and gas fireplaces (it was chilly for GA). We had a wonderful waitress, and the food was good. My husband had the Burger, cooked just right, and I had the crab cakes, the best I have had outside of the eastern shore of MD, fluffy and not a lot of filler. The regular restaurant looked very nice, but we wanted casual and laid back, and this fit the bill. Very reasonably priced also.

Room Tip: Did not stay at the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

My BF & I stayed in the infamous room 204. It was a very bright & welcoming room. My BF felt the presence of Anna instantly upon entering the room & the first night as well w/ heaviness in his chest & footsteps by the bed (fireplace side) & a glow behind the TV which was off. The staff was so friendly & accommodating. Best local bar. Awesome location. The restaurant food is top notch (better than the Pink House) as well as the bar menu for a quick bite. Patrick even took us for a quick night tour in the Inn's 1923 Buick. We can't say enough about the 1790......we will be back there soon & plan on staying in room 204 again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank bayridgestar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,742 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 113 in Savannah
1,305 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#10 of 113 in Savannah
1,237 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Hundred 90 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Hundred 90 Inn

Property: 17 Hundred 90 Inn
Address: 307 E President St, Savannah, GA 31401-3808
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 17 Hundred 90 Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your 17 Hundred 90 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hundred 90 Hotel Savannah
1700 90 Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing