We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great concept but needs work”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 17 Hundred 90 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
17 Hundred 90 Inn
Ranked #11 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
356 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great concept but needs work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This property is one of many in Savannah that employs an old home for upscale lodging. The layout is extremely quirky and involves hiking up multiple narrow stair cases--no offer to assist with luggage. The rooms are well appointed but my tub did not drain, the ceiling had very visible evidence of leaks, and there were some cleanliness issues, of a minor nature. Service is friendly and the in-house restaurant is superb. The breakfast is simple but adequate. This is a place that is all about value. If you feel that you are paying a rate that suggests a flawless upscale experience, you will be disappointed. On the other hand, if you get a rate that is commensurate with, say, a mid-scale hotel, you will probably come away feeling that you had a special experience.

Room Tip: Parking is an issue, especially on weekdays when metered parking may be your only option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waldentenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    165
    50
    23
    18
See reviews for
62
365
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

On a tour of Savanna and a sidewalk board featured lunch. On a i'm here its lunch time let's go for it. Wow....did I say wow. The old charm mysterious build called us in for a deal of a lunch. Great lunch choices ( there were 4 of us) each great. Home made onion rings a must. But we didn't realize the history and Glenn made sure we knew what drew us there....ghosts of course. What an experience and lunch...must see for all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rtatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great atmosphere. Family who owns it will sit down with you to shoot the breeze. We arrived early and they put us right in our room. We had lunch in the restaurant- Very good. Better yet was the dinner. The food was excellent. It was very romantic with candles and a piano player. After dinner we asked Patrick about a carriage ride he called and had us picked up right outside. Then to the bar where we had a wonderful evening with the friendly locals.I see this place getting better each year.

Room Tip: Room 204 is the haunted one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Savannah to stay in Room 204 of 17 Hundred 90 Inn. I'm a big ghost nerd and 204 is reportedly haunted by a heartbroken woman named Anna. Though Anna didn't reveal herself during our short stay (unless the attached "ghost blob" photo counts), my husband and I had a great time.

Everyone we encountered at the hotel was friendly and helpful, particularly the woman at the front desk (though she was obviously skeptical about ghosts). Room 204 was bright, clean, airy, and very pleasant. I particularly enjoyed the journals in which former guests shared their ghostly experiences. The creepy mannequin in the hallway was also a nice touch. My husband and I were amused by all the tour companies that stop outside 17 Hundred 90 Inn to talk about the ghost of Room 204. We took a haunted pub tour that night, and our room was a featured story.

My husband and I didn't try the restaurant downstairs, though we'd read many great reviews. We did enjoy a few beverages at the bar. They have a specialty drink called the Savannah Flu Shot that future guests might like to try. The male bartender was also easy on the eyes.

All in all, staying at the 17 Hundred 90 Inn was a great experience. The only negative thing I can think of is that the WiFi didn't work well in Room 204 as the signal strength was too low.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Probably the best bargain in Savannah's historic district, and a great place to stay as well. Terrific location, charming well appointed rooms with a historic feel have all the modern amenities, and the staff is helpful and friendly. Loved the restaurant and bar as well. Highly recommended. Will be my first choice in Savannah from now on.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms at the 'annex' across the street have their own patios and parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saucyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Easy walking distance to restaurants, historic sites, free city-wide transportation. Inn is family owned and operated. The building itself has its own interesting history and is on many of Savannah's ghost tour itineraries. But don't let the ghost's room keep you away. If price alone isn't enough to entice you to choose this inn, you'll find many other reasons to come back again. Great service, wonderful lunches and dinners, popular bar serving hot hors d'oeuvres.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruston, Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent a girls week at the 17Hundred 90 Inn. It was a wonderful experience! Our room was 107. It was on the end of the building beside an outside entrance. It was like having our own private entrance to the building. The room was spacious with chair and settee. The bed was very comfy. The staff was wondeful and helpful even helping add a roll away bed when my daughter joined us the last night. Breakfast was a filling continental breakfast in the small dining until 10:30. We were so full we just skipped lunch and had a large dinner. I felt very comfortable there from check in to check out. We were lucky enough to get a parking space as they are very limited. We parked and walked everywhere...it's in a perfect location convient to everything. The price was also much better than others I checked in the area. We didn't see or hear ghosts but we did have a wondeful meal in the Inn's restaurant. We will definately be back but next time we will bring more of our friends to enjoy this lovely inn. Patrick and the staff make you feel right at home!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Hundred 90 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Hundred 90 Inn

Property: 17 Hundred 90 Inn
Address: 307 E President St, Savannah, GA 31401-3808
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 17 Hundred 90 Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your 17 Hundred 90 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1700 90 Inn
17 Hundred 90 Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing