We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners are wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“New owners are wonderful!”
Reviewed April 10, 2006

I could not have forseen the change in ownership from the time I booked our stay to the time of our visit. I also cannot imagine a more gracious host and hostess than the new owners of Hamilton-Turner. After only 10 days of ownership they proved to be the perfect hosts and so very helpful in every aspect. They are experienced innkeepers and their experience shows! The breakfasts were something out of Bon Apetit! Perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. The home itself is magnificent. The new owners are in the process of "spiffying" up the place which will only make the experience of staying there more memorable. The afternoon wine and hors d'ouvres gave us the chance to meet our fellow "Inn-mates" and share the days experiences. I can't imagine staying anyplace else more beautiful and charming than Hamilton-Turner.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank darlinbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    119
    37
    14
    21
See reviews for
171
848
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 1, 2006

We love to spend time in Savannah and have always stayed at the Hamilton-Turner House.

Jane, Christine and wonderful Staff make each visit special.
We always look forward to our return visit with them.

They make Savannah our home away from home.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2006

We had no idea that our stay would be so delightful. This was our first trip to Savannah and for our Saint Patrick's Day stay and celebration, we chose the quaintness of the Hamilton-Turner Inn in the historical district. The rooms are lovely and comfortable, yet maintain the historical décor. Each day started out with a lovely breakfast in the dining area and each evening started with wine and hors d’oeuvres in the parlor, all wonderfully prepared by Chef Diane. The entire staff is very friendly and helpful, and did their best to assure our stay in Savannah was the best ever. For our next trip to Savannah, the Hamilton-Turner will definitely be at the top of our list. Thanks for a wonderful time, Larry & Judy.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AlaLEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2006

February 2006. The Hamilton-Turner Inn is a majestic old mansion, lovingly restored into a magnificent B&B. It is featured on tours as the first home to receive electricity in Savanna! My wife and I had reserved one of the small ground floor suites on the basis of price (each had a private walk-out to the exterior, a nice touch) but once we had seen the scale of the suite on the second floor with light streaming into the interior through a huge 15 ft.?? bay window - we just HAD to pay the difference for the experience and the memory. Staying two nights was nice as we could really explore the city and this inn is perfectly located - right in the Historic District. We could park and forget the car if avoiding Thursdays. Do take a trolley tour on day #1 to get your bearings of the area. The second day you can use it a shuttle.. stepping on and off at will. Try lunch at the SOHO Cafe-perfect! One night we walked the 3 or 4 blocks and had a perfect dinner in the cozy pub downstairs at the Pink House. A great meal with a huge fireplace and piano accompaniment. Very memorable! Our highest rating to the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

Helpful?
10 Thank Warren in Oakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 26, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a stay at the Hamilton-Turner Inn and we just can't say enough about it. The Inn is just beautiful (antiques, woodwork, architecture) The rooms were so CLEAN - honestly the SMELL was WONDERFUL - clean, pressed bedding that was dreamy to sleep on. The hosts were as gracious and accomodating as they could be. I must say the chef, Diane, was a delight! Not only did she cook a divine breakfast, as well as hors doerves and sweet treets, but she was as warm and friendly as her cooking was delicious. We absolutely recommend this Inn as the place to stay in Savannah and we can't wait to return.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2006

On our first trip to Savannah, we stayed at the Hamilton-Turner. Everyone from the owner to the housekeeping staff were friendly and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The furnishings were lovely and the turndown service at night with Chef Diane's lovely cookies, muffins, etc. was quite an added bonus. Chef Diane worked wonders in the kitchen making her signature dishes. Baked peach french toast was exquisite as were the sweet potato pancakes. She was very knowledgeable about the Savannah area as well and was so personable that you felt like your best friend was making your breakfast. She was always willing to accommodate special requests as well which is truly appreciated by those who are on special diets. Thanks so much for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, IN
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2006

This was my first experience at a bed and breakfast and I can't say enough about how wonderful it was. I was in Savannah for a training Institute at the DeSoto Hilton. We were offered conference rates at the DeSoto, but I chose instead to stay at the Hamilton-Turner Inn, which was within easy walking distance of the DeSoto. I was able to take advantage of the weekday business rates, which put the pricing of the Inn at the same price as the conference rate at the DeSoto. I brought several people I met at the conference over to see the Inn, who were staying at the DeSoto, and they were quite jealous of my accommodations.

The room I chose was in the carriage house. Both the main mansion and carriage house are furnished in antiques. While I loved the elaborate, museum quality furnishings of the mansion, for a five night stay I was happy in my choice of the simpler, "homier" furnishings of the carriage house. Another lady and I spent a rainy afternoon in the cozy living room of the carriage house studying for our certification exam.

Diane, the chef, was a wonderful lady. The gourmet breakfast surpassed expectations. Each evening guests are asked to choose breakfast the next morning, which usually consisted of a choice between something like a sausage and egg dish, or gourmet croissants cooked like pancakes with fruit and lemon sauce with bacon. Or, you could request eggs to your liking. In addition there was a fruit cup and choice of juice, and some mornings, a basket of assorted sweet breads.

In the evening, the hor de overs (sp?) were scrumtious. They were so good, it was hard not to fill up on them and skip dinner. Which wouldn't be a good choice because the restaurants in Savannah are so good. I did not have a poor meal the entire week.

For dining, I recommend the Pink House(best grouper dish I have had in my life, reservations recommended), Six Pence Pub, and the pizza place at the City Market (can't remember name, but is popular local choice), which is the best pizza anywhere, IMO. The Pirates House is touristy, but worth eating at because of being the oldest restaurant in the country, and you can look down on the tunnels where they used to drug the men who drank in the tavern, then shanghai through the tunnels to crew the ships who came to the port. Also, there are a lot of restaurants along the waterfront. Savannah really knows how to prepare seafood.

Everything in historic Savannah is pretty much within walking distance. It is a lovely city, and I can't think that there could be a better choice to stay than the Hamilton-Turner Inn. I look forward to returning someday.

Helpful?
14 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,742 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,074 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Property: Hamilton-Turner Inn
Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Lafayette Square, corner of Abercorn and East Charlton, Savannah, GA 31401-4636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#9 Family Hotel in Savannah
#31 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing