We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars are not enough, First Class all the way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“5 Stars are not enough, First Class all the way!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

5 Stars just are not enough to rate this charming first class Bed & Breakfast/Boutique Hotel. We didn't want to leave at the end of our stay. The location is perfect for walking the wonderful town of Savannah. The House is a historic masterpiece dating back to 1873. It was the first residence in Savannah with electricity (1883), and even survived the great Savannah fire of 1898.
Needless to say this mansion's 17 converted suites are spectacular. Upon checking in, we received a glass of "welcome" champagne with raspberries. Yum! (It is these added touches that make this place even more amazing).
We stayed in the Thomas Charlton Room on the main floor (technically that is the 2nd floor). Beautiful large room with a beautiful bathroom. It has lovely floor to ceiling windows and a small walk-out balcony looking over the courtyard. Loved the cookies placed on the bed at turndown!! **The ONLY issue someone could have with this room is that it is next to the kitchen and you can smell whatever they are cooking for the morning breakfast. We didn't mind because the smells were fabulous - but if you are sensitive to that sort of thing you might want to go to the 3rd floor**.
We loved the tranquility of the sitting room for either morning coffee, afternoon snacks, evening wine or late evening port wine. The hospitality from the staff and owners was top rate all the way. They were helpful, informative and friendly!
My husband and I will definitely be back when we return to Savannah.
We LOVE The Hamilton-Turner Inn!!!!

Room Tip: Thomas Charlton Room - The ONLY issue someone could have with this room is that it is next to the ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    117
    35
    14
    21
See reviews for
156
823
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had an outstanding time at this charming inn. The staff could not have been more accommodating. Fabulous breakfasts, great happy hour with wine and yummy appetizers. The staff offered excellent tips on dining and tour guides. The rooms are beautiful. We stayed in the Pulaski room - in the basement, but above ground with a private entrance which was nice. Can't recommend this inn highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbcvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Valley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Hamilton-Turner turned out to be our favorite inn while visiting the South. The photos on their website give you an idea of what the inn looks like but until you actually stay in this historic home, you won't truly know how special it is. In case you were wondering about the rumors about this being a haunted house..... it's nonsense. It's a gem.

Room Tip: The Johnny Mercer was beautiful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjrpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

A friend and I stayed here for two nights in June. Staff is attentive and helpful and the owner is absolutely in her element insuring that the Inn and the breakfast room run smoothly. Rooms are well-appointed - We stayed in 301 which had 4 sizable windows and a fabulous view of the square, very comfortable 4 poster bed and a large beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi tub. It was pretty warm during the day, so we didn't need the pretty little fireplace that was front and center in the room. Breakfast was amazing and varied each morning. I am gluten- free and they offered a selection of items for me. Also included was afternoon wine and treats, and evening port.

The Inn is in a great location for walking tours around Savannah and the front desk is very resourceful with lots of information regarding a wide range of sight seeing Parking is free and easily accessible on side streets next to Inn.

I would highly recommend this Inn and can't wait to return on my next trip to Savannah, which, by the way, is a lovely city!.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlv0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASHLAND, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had a great experience staying at this Inn. The room was spacious and finely decorated. The manager was knowledgeable of the area and provided good information on what to see. The breakfast was excellent. You could select what time you preferred to eat which helped expedite service. The only drawback was that on site parking was not available so you had to find on street parking near the Inn. It was not a problem when we arrived on Sunday but we noticed the street was filled on Monday morning.

Room Tip: All rooms were very nice our room had a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We are golf tour operators from Nashville, TN (Grace of Golf Travel), but this is not about golf. It is about a great place to stay that has a charm not often found. We were greeted with a glass of champagne and shown around both the house and the carriage house. Prior to dinner, assorted cheeses and snacks were served in the parlor. The staff arranged our dinner reservations for an excellent dinner in Savannah with a pedal cab ride to the place. After dinner, we were met by a carriage driver to give us a late evening tour around Savannah. (If you haven't been to Savannah, you should add it to your list of places to visit, but watch Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil first!).

We missed the port wine serving in the parlor as a result of our evening plans, but we won't the next time!

Breakfast was a pleasant surprise (served on china) with a most unique french toast, served with a variety of breakfast meats. There was also a station with fresh fruits and their own special granola (which we purchased to bring home).

The owner and staff were all superb with their service and willingness to handle every detail we needed. We strongly recommend Savannah, GA and the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace_of_Golf_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The inn is gorgeous and comfortable. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. It is in the heart of Savannah. We definitely would stay there again. The food was great too. Breakfast was yummy and unique. And the snacks were great too. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyMcKillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,000 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Property: Hamilton-Turner Inn
Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401-4636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#9 Family Hotel in Savannah
#31 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing