We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAMILTON-TURNER INN” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamilton-Turner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
ASHLAND, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“HAMILTON-TURNER INN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had a great experience staying at this Inn. The room was spacious and finely decorated. The manager was knowledgeable of the area and provided good information on what to see. The breakfast was excellent. You could select what time you preferred to eat which helped expedite service. The only drawback was that on site parking was not available so you had to find on street parking near the Inn. It was not a problem when we arrived on Sunday but we noticed the street was filled on Monday morning.

Room Tip: All rooms were very nice our room had a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    107
    32
    14
    21
See reviews for
139
766
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We are golf tour operators from Nashville, TN (Grace of Golf Travel), but this is not about golf. It is about a great place to stay that has a charm not often found. We were greeted with a glass of champagne and shown around both the house and the carriage house. Prior to dinner, assorted cheeses and snacks were served in the parlor. The staff arranged our dinner reservations for an excellent dinner in Savannah with a pedal cab ride to the place. After dinner, we were met by a carriage driver to give us a late evening tour around Savannah. (If you haven't been to Savannah, you should add it to your list of places to visit, but watch Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil first!).

We missed the port wine serving in the parlor as a result of our evening plans, but we won't the next time!

Breakfast was a pleasant surprise (served on china) with a most unique french toast, served with a variety of breakfast meats. There was also a station with fresh fruits and their own special granola (which we purchased to bring home).

The owner and staff were all superb with their service and willingness to handle every detail we needed. We strongly recommend Savannah, GA and the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace_of_Golf_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

The inn is gorgeous and comfortable. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. It is in the heart of Savannah. We definitely would stay there again. The food was great too. Breakfast was yummy and unique. And the snacks were great too. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyMcKillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

The home is beautiful. The furnishings were exquisite and fit into the time period. The innkeeper was not what I had expected. My expectation was a warm gracious welcome. I immediately thought we had made a wrong decision when the innkeeper greeted me. In my opinion the innkeeper seemed quite cold and unfriendly. My daughter and granddaughter came in shortly after. The innkeeper showed us around in what we felt as cold and seemed unaccepting to a child with special needs. Would we go back .... Yes as the beds and all accommodations were fine but would be prepared for a cold unfriendly welcome. Not at all the sweet Georgian hospitality that we were expecting.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a beautiful inn that is well-located and the staff was friendly and very helpful in making dinner reservations. They have a lovely wine and cheese reception in the evening and breakfast was good. We would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to others. Sorry we could not stay longer and enjoy all it had to offer. On a different note, they were also helpful in making reservations for a trolley tour of the city but I would skip that. It was very convenient but was not worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnoF1687LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

So happy I made reservations here! I almost made reservations at another 3 star hotel, but when I was told how nice this place is I had to find out for myself! I was visiting family while wanting to travel a bit. Great location and just absolutely amazing hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I can't imagine a better place to stay in Savannah. It is a stunning Victorian mansion, with beautiful and very comfortable rooms that are extremely well maintained. The public spaces are also terrific, as is the hot breakfast served every morning. It is on one of the loveliest squares in Savannah, which is terrifically located. Will definitely stay here again if we return to Savannah.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Property: Hamilton-Turner Inn
Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401-4636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#9 Family Hotel in Savannah
#31 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing