We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful place to stay in Savannah...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamilton-Turner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Savannah...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I had such a great time staying at the Hamilton Turner Inn. The inn is strikingly beautiful from the outside and wonderfully authentic and clean on the inside. It's in a great location - convenient to everything but in a quaint part of Savannah overlooking a park. The owner and her staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were all absolutely delicious. One night, we sat out on a back terrace and had a glass of wine. The surroundings were so lovely. The next time we visit Savannah, this will definitely be the place we stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLG916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    105
    32
    14
    21
See reviews for
138
759
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here on our trip down the SC coast because friends recommended it. We were very pleased with our stay.
We stayed in one of the standard rooms on the ground floor in the converted stables (ka the Carriage House) and were very happy although you could say they were cosy rather than roomy.
We received a friendly welcome on arrival and good service during our stay.
We particularly liked the hors d'oeuvres with wine served in the lounge at 5:30 PM as a good opportunity to meet fellow guests.
Breakfast is served in the smallish dining room and was typical Low Country fare and very good.
If we come to Savannah again, we would stay here.

Room Tip: There have been grumbles about the size of the rooms in the main house basement so if you want a sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-Newbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My first visit to Savannah and loved being at the Hamilton-Turner. It was a truely authentic experience. Everything in the place is beautiful and real. No fake antiques. Even the construction of the rooms: natural brick, real plaster, amazing woodwork. And all clean, cool and comfortable. No musty smells. The staff is friendly, attentive and unobtrusive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssonheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in one of the rooms in the carraige house.
Excellent lodging,food, and those who served us, treated us like royalty.
It is no wonder that this Inn is highly and nationally acclaimed!
If you have an opportunity to come to Savannah you won't regret staying at this
oustanding and lavish Inn. The hosts make you feel at home,very accomodating.
Excellent place and great people! Savannah is warm and friendly and the Hamilton- Turner Inn
is a direct reflection of the people of Savannah.

Room Tip: The carraige house is quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cinimod57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a really nice stay at the Hamilton-Turner Inn. It's in the heart of the historic district (where I prefer to stay when in Savannah) which allows for some wonderful walking tours of the area. The breakfast was excellent both mornings, with plenty of hot coffee, fresh juice, fruit, phenomenal pastries, and homemade granola. Our entrees were cooked to order and fueled us up for our activities. The staff is formal and polite but very helpful and gracious. We especially enjoyed the privacy and quiet atmosphere of the inn - a far cry from the bustling hotels near the river. Our room, though small, was more than adequate, with a comfortable bed and plenty of storage space for a long weekend. I would definitely stay here again when in Savannah.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TruthBeKnown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family and I spent a few days in Savannah and stayed at the Hamilton-Turner Inn. What a wonderful place. It's in a excellent location downtown, very close to the nightlife and great restaurants. Plus the complimentary breakfast was to die for. The turn down in the evening was a nice touch. Next time we are back in town we already know where to stay and you will too if you stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in roon 304 and 402 great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRU1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Wasnt really expecting a bed and breakfast to be the #1 place to stay in Savannah, but it lived up to everyones recommendations. We stayed 2 nights in the eli whitney room. The room was very nice, historic appearing, and what we cared mostly for...had a very comfortable bed. We had a back entrance to come and go as we pleased without walking through the main part of the house. The employees were great, we were warmly greeted from everyone that worked at the Inn. Nice little amenities, wine and cheese hour, night time port before bed and of course complimentary breakfast, all included. Breakfast includes a continental breakfast section with all your cereals, yogurts, etc and then a served cooked portion; we had quiche the first day and pancakes the second day, both were good, nothing exceptional for breakfast, but good

I thought that parking would be difficult because its street parking only, but the front desk will help find you a spot in the neighborhood. We didnt have much trouble at all, and you really dont need your car once you get here. We left it parked in the same spot and just walked everywhere.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, nothing bad to say about this place

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jdang8394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
Downtown
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Property: Hamilton-Turner Inn
Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401-4636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#9 Family Hotel in Savannah
#31 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing