We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our Savannah Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

First and not our last trip to Savannah. What an interesting city with great history and this Hotel/Inn reflects it in a charming way. As you have read from others parking is limited when we checked in the young man that greeted us at the door said he would go find us a spot on the street which was very quick then helped us in with all our bags, check in was fast and they served tea and sweets in the living room and went straight to calling around getting dinner reservations for us (make reservations before you come to Savannah if you have you heart set on a certain place they book up fast), so nice of him to do this. We had the green room (can't remember the name) on the second floor which overlooked square across the street, the room was large, nice four poster king bed, loads of storage and large bath. Ok the color, I would change it to a more calming neutral color and update the bedspreads ect., looks a little 80's but nice and kept up. This had been done to some of the other rooms but I loved looking over the square .Location was great, we walked everywhere and loved coming back to our lovely home in Savannah. Its is on the tour route, buses and horse drawn carriages go by and stop for a second to tell the history of the home. They are cautious not to let people in the house if they are not guests, if I where not staying here, I would have wanted to come in for a look around also. I found most all the B&B's had this policy, but you do want to just walk in the homes they are beautiful here.
Breakfast, you do have to give them a time, I'm sure it is to keep things moving. We loved ours and there is alot of it, great fun talking with the others guests. Antique tea pots, china, butter dishes nice touchs, dont stop doing that, I will expect it on our next trip.

Room Tip: Book the bigger rooms, worth the price differance. Second floor rooms seemed grander.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adinaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with potential guests of ours. It is always great to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay enough to spread the word. Thank you for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn and we hope for the opportunity to have you again as our guests.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a beatiful place to stay in Savannah. The location was convenient to everything. The recommendations that were give by the staff of where to eat were right on target

The staff was very helpful in every way. The breakfast was wonderful.

Will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Thank you for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn as your place to stay during your visit. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we do hope for the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This inn is beautifully appointed and extremely well-located. The only negative for us was the shower! We stayed in the Thomas Charlton room on the first floor. Lovely until you try to shower: really a trickle. The staff kindly tried to "repair" the shower, but no luck. The inn-keeper was not helpful at all. Frankly, if we had been warned (I see another review mentions the plumbing) about the shower (maybe worse in this particular room), we would have chosen another inn. For the price and Select Registry status, we expected more.

Room Tip: Be careful about your room choice and ask for a good shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tbellone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

First allow me to thank you for choosing our Inn to spend your visit to our beautiful City of Savannah.

I do regret to hear of the inconveniences caused to you during your visit and hope for the opportunity to make things right.

Several changes have occurred during your last visit, we have resolved the shower issue in the Thomas Charlton Room and as of July 1st, we have new owners and Innkeepers. Therefore, we do hope that you will give us another chance to wow you, meet your expectations and live up to the standards that have made the Hamilton-Turner Inn the number 1 property in Savannah.

I look forward to contacting you soon.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

I will be in contact with you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here with extended family in three rooms. We really enjoyed the lovely Parlor. The location of this Inn is terrific, we could walk anywhere in Sanannah and the area seemed quiet to us.

Study the rooms carefully when you book because there is quite a range and you select the exact room that you stay in. We were happy with our room but glad we hadn't selected one of the rooms on the lowest floor. The bathroom plumbing had to be explained to us which is a bit of a worry. The showers were OK, not great.

Breakfast was lovely and non dairy options were provided when requested. Really appreciated the pots of tea provided and the beautiful china. We had to book in a specific breakfast time the day before which was a bit if a challenge since we had a tour that left at 9am and there was only one breakfast time available when we checked in but we were able to make it work. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Recommendations for restaurants were hit and miss, some met our needs well, others weren't at all what we were looking for.

It is pricy but I think it's worth it for the ambience since it felt like we were truly experiencing Savannah, not just a hotel that could have been anywhere.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank ozmel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for reviewing the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to historic Savannah. Sincerely, it was our pleasure to have you as our guests and we do hope the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here and took the time to experience the Inn in its entirety!
Now I imagine we are not the normal couple that would stay here, we are 30s and quite heavily tattooed (my other half more than I) so we definitely stood out but staff was always extremely pleasant!!
(I really liked Mike-so, thank you Mike)
This is an OLD house, you will hear creaks and doors and voices and possibly even the boiler and if you're lucky you may see the ghost of the colonial soldier who haunts the property.
We stayed on the ground level in the Eli Whitney Room...it has a private garden entrance, exposed brick walls and a claw foot tub! (As a side note the shower was always hot).
They serve breakfast in the mornings in the front parlor it was always delicious BUT...they had one breakfast each day and you also had to pick a time for breakfast the day before (9:30 is the latest-too early for me:) So unless you specifically ask for something other than the breakfast (the can do fried eggs and toast on request) you will get the special of the day. In the mornings there is always coffee and tea in the parlor (6-10am) In the afternoons there is lemonade, sweet tea and the treat of the day to indulge in. At 5:30pm (my favorite) it was wine time! There are 3 types of wines and some snacks. Go sit in the parlor all fancy like, sip some wine and enjoy! I did!
In the evening they serve port. All included as part of the experience!!!
I would definitely recommend a stay here for the experience of it all. This beautiful house is a stop for many tour groups for its historic value but fortunately it is NOT open to the public so you'll just have to stay here to get to enjoy it in all it's splendor!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

We appreciate you choosing our Inn to spend your visit to our beautiful City of Savannah. What a pleasure it was to have you as our guests and we do hope for the opportunity to have you again.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Hamilton-Turner House was a spectacular experience for first timers to a B&B! They set the standard with the room we selected, service they provided, the breakfast (stuffed French toast with bacon) was absolutely incredible. Overall, I don't think I would change a thing . This was definitely the best place I've stayed and recommend it highly

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacksonJamesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

We greatly appreciate your kind words and review. It is our wish to provide you with the best service possible so that you can have the best experience possible. We will be sure to share your sentiments with our team members.

Again, thank you for sharing your sentiments with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I just wanted to right a quick review of our 2 night stay at the Hamilton Turner Inn. We were in the James Olglethorpe Suite. It was stunning.. If we could have stayed in that room entire time, getting room service it would have been heavenly. We also opted to have the romance package.. I had beautiful roses in my room upon arrival.. The inn took care of all our restaurant reservations and even gave us a bunch of the staff recommendations. The 2 we picked were delicious. We also had a private horse drawn carriage ride in our package.. The town is gorgeous but our tour guide was a little on the blah side. We have never been to Savannah and told her so, hoping she would wow us but that was not the case. I loved all the little touches that the inn had, such as chocolates in our room upon arrival and cookies along with a little card printed with our breakfast time, weather forcast for the next day on the turn down service.

All and all we absolutely loved the inn and would stay there in a heartbeat again. Just not sure if we would return to Savannah.. It was too much like our home in Wilmington, NC.

Room Tip: Choose the James Olglethorpe Suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sydrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Thank you for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn as your place to stay during your visit. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we do hope for the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,845 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,125 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 114 in Savannah
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Lafayette Square, corner of Abercorn and East Charlton, Savannah, GA 31401-4636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#9 Family Hotel in Savannah
#31 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $250 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing