We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“My new home away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamilton-Turner Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My new home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was the breakfast, it was the location,it was the decor, the beautifully decorated room and comfortable bed, it was the attentive staff who always smiled and made me feel as though I was more than just another guest. There were several reasons why I will never stay at any place other than this Inn!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamTrav6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

It is delightful to know that you enjoyed your visit to Savannah and your stay at the Hamilton-Turner Inn. It was sincerely our pleasure to have you as our guests and look forward to having you again during a future visit.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    103
    31
    14
    21
See reviews for
132
753
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tidewater, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Staff was friendly, helpful, and attentive, but also let us have our privacy. Great location, comfortable room. Loved the appetizers and drinks in the parlor every day. We highly recommend this Inn to anyone who plans to visit Savannah.

Room Tip: Isaiah Davenport room is in basement, but has nice private entrance--very convenient. If you need go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It was such a pleasure to have you as our guests and I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your review and do hope for you will choosing our Inn should you return to our beautiful City of Savannah.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here one night. My husband and I were in a suite and our 2 teenage children were in a regular room. Both were very nice. It was expensive, but worth it. We had never been to Savannah before and the staff were very helpful in pointing out things to do. Location was great. We walked to everything we wanted to see. Only thing I would change is the breakfast. It was good, but seating is by reservation and you are at your own table. I prefer the communal seating of other inns and B&B's we have been too, but that's just me. Overall, this is a nice inn that I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TnTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

It is delightful to know that you enjoyed your visit to Savannah and your stay at the Hamilton-Turner Inn. It was sincerely our pleasure to have you as our guests and look forward to having you again during a future visit.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This bed and breakfast is absolutely beautiful! My husband and I loved the wine at 530 because it really brought the hotel guests out of their rooms so we could visit with some of the guests.

The breakfasts and appetizers weren't phenomenal, they were eatable and complete, but not like mommas cooking. The service desk was knowledgable and helpful, but didnt follow through on helping us make a reservation to let us know they had confirmed the appointment for a carriage tour. They didn't communicate with one another about the plans when they switched jobs so we had to find the other worker instead of talking to the service desk attendee. We also went in to breakfast at our specified time and the breakfast host asked us in a very agitated voice to go sit in the living area that our table wasn't ready. It was our first morning so we weren't aware of the way things worked. The bathroom ceiling looked as though there was a leak and the wallpaper was peeling back and bubbling above the shower area.

There was a very helpful lady at the front desk, though. And a very bubbly energetic man that showed us around our first day. We also really enjoyed the cleaning service that was very thorough and quick and the turndown service in the evening with cookies in our pillows.

My husband and I overall enjoyed our stay, however, in the future we may try a different b and b with more consistant attention to details.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heatherryanmorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience.

I am so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. As our valued guests, your gracious comments are appreciated and will be shared with our staff. It was a pleasure to have you visit with us and do hope you will choose our Inn when you return.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a luxury property with one flaw. They have a small dining room which requires designated seating times. The first morning things went as planned. The second morning another couple was late which caused them to put us in the living room for a 30 minute wait for our table. It was annoying.

The property is well located, with generally good service and food. I'm sure our experience wasn't the first time this happened so should have an over flow area where ou could eat when things get backed up

Room Tip: Our ground floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with potential guests of ours. It is always great to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay enough to spread the word. Thank you for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn and we hope for the opportunity to have you again as our guests.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This property is impeccably appointed and staff are very responsive, friendly, and knowledgeable. (Thanks Holly!) The Inn's staff are so gentle in their approach that guests benefit from the impression that they are the only residents of this magnificent mansion on Lafayette Square - I know we did. The location is terrific and Savannah's 21 other charming squares are only minutes away by foot. The property serves terrific breakfasts (included) and makes treats available in the common areas throughout the day including free wine and hors d'oevres for guests in the evenings. We spent Christmas at the Inn and this was a perfect home-away-from-home.

Room Tip: This is a very vertical building so be prepared for stairs. Some rooms are on the first floor, too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelnudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

We appreciate you choosing our Inn to spend your visit to our beautiful City of Savannah. What a pleasure it was to have you as our guests and we do hope for the opportunity to have you again.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights, with our dog in room 105 (Isaiah Davenport room).
Location: on Lafayette Square, perfectly located for walking in the historic district.
The Inn: Exquisitely decorated and furnished, it's clear that the innkeepers put a lot of love and attention into this home, right down to the smallest details. A beautiful and very well maintained Inn...absolutely gorgeous at Christmas time. Refreshments provided in the parlor throughout the day...the port wine after dinner hours was a lovely touch.
The room: Small, yes, but cozy and well appointed. Lovely antique furnishings and charming bathroom. VERY comfortable bed! Note that the pet-friendly rooms are on the lower level, below the main areas of the house, and each room has very convenient private entrances for dogs. Even though the room faces the square, street noise wasn't a problem (although if you're a napper, keep in mind that the Church bells ring on the hour during the day.) Loved the music playing upon arrival!
Service: Excellent...Everyone was very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The innkeepers even loaned us a crate for our dog so we wouldn't have to purchase one. Note that gratuities are preferred in the room envelope upon checkout, as I offered to tip the porter upon arrival but he politely declined. It's evident that their main priority is the comfort of guests. Breakfast is delicious and plentiful, and the dining room is just lovely.

Overall, I am so glad we found this place...was a bit surprised at the some of the negative reviews...particularly re: service. All of the policies are clearly spelled out beforehand, they seem reasonable and are geared to ensuring that all guests are both courteous and respected. Due to the unique beauty of the inn, there are lots of tourists who come to take pictures from the square, and I shudder to think of all those visitors stomping through the house snapping pictures and knocking over antiques. I appreciate the fact that the Inn is reserved for guests only, as it lends to the tranquil and "homey" atmosphere, as well as the overall safety of guests. As we travel frequently to Savannah, we definitely plan to make this Inn our "home away from home." And it's pet friendly too...can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If stairs are not for you, choose the Johnny Mercer room on the main floor. keep in mind there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hermeschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It was such a pleasure to have you as our guests and I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your review and do hope for you will choosing our Inn should you return to our beautiful City of Savannah.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,721 reviews
Downtown
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Property: Hamilton-Turner Inn
Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401-4636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#9 Family Hotel in Savannah
#31 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing