We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I was hoping the place looked as good as it did in all of their pictures and it was! You will not be disappointed in this place. The staff is outstanding...they are SO friendly and helpful in general and with places to eat, etc. We've never encountered a staff as attentive and polite as they are (we love Jeremy and the later guys!). The breakfasts are excellent...homemade and original recipies served by the owners who are also so polite (like the staff). Again, I can't say enough good things about the place...it's worth the money to stay in the nicely decorated rooms. :)

Room Tip: I recommend the 3rd floor for the quietest rooms and the south side for the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KKW0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

We thank you taking the time to review the Hamilton-Turner Inn and please know that your feedback is appreciated.

I enjoyed having you as our guests and will be sure to pass on your gracious comments to the rest of our staff. We are always delighted to know that our guests have had an experience worth sharing and we again appreciate you taking a moment to let others know how much you enjoyed visiting our Inn.

We do look forward to your return!

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
Day Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,057 - 1,063 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

We arrived a little before the check-in time of 3:00 pm and although the inn was closed until check-in, the staff member was very kind to offer us his on-street parking space and moved his own car. The inn fronts the lovely Lafayette Square, a beautiful park. Our reserved room was the John Habersham room. Apparently all the rooms are named. Upon inspection of the room we pulled the dresser out and found a used napkin wedged behind it. Also, later in the evening, when we returned from our evening stroll, upon pulling back the bed linens, we could see what looked like blood stains on the mattress through the sheets. Amenities: the evening reception consisted of white and rose wines, egg rolls sans sweet and sour sauce and cheese. It would have been nice to enjoy a glass of water or something non-alcoholic. The breakfast of Southern biscuits and gravy was sodium-heavy but the scones and yogurt and fruit were very good. The music playing in our room was a very nice touch as well as the rear door providing outdoor access. It seemed like every tour that travelled through the city - including the carriage tour that we had taken - stopped in front of this inn as it has a lot of history. This inn receives a Very Good rating solely based on the historic quality and the location.

Room Tip: The John Habersham room is in the basement. Get a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveler2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

While we appreciate your high rating and apologize for some of the issues you encountered during your stay, we wish these things would have been brought to our attention during your stay so that we could have had an opportunity to rectify any issues that were perhaps overlooked by our housekeeping staff.

I must say that the John Habersham Room was just renovated within the last couple of months, and not only has new furniture but also a new mattress. Each of our beds at the Hamilton-Turner Inn has a mattress pad that covers the mattress, the pad and all linen is washed and treated after each guest departs. Again, if you were uncomfortable with your bedding, it would have been the pleasure of any member of our staff, regardless of time of night, to change out the mattress pad and remake your bed. This was never brought up to any member of our staff during the stay or upon departure.

As it relates to our wine and hors d’oeuvres, water, ice tea (sweetened or non-sweetened), hot tea of various flavors, lemonade, orange juice, apple juice, tomato juice, cranberry juice even coffee are all available at the guest’s requests. It was simply a matter of asking or informing our staff that you preferred an alternative.

Please know that it is our mission to make sure each of our guests has the most enjoyable stay and we regret not having the opportunity to rectify your concerns while you were here.

We thank you for your review and do hope that you will choose the Hamilton-Turner inn should your travels lead you back to our beautiful City of Savannah.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
Day Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a weekend at the Hamilton Turner Inn in The heart of historic Savannah. We researched a lot and chose this inn based on other reviews, location, and amenities. They did not disappoint. The owners and staff are very friendly and extremely helpful in making dining or tour reservations. The breakfast each morning is delicious. Beyond breakfast there is mid day tea, lemonade, and refreshments, afternoon wine and hors d'ovres, and a nightcap. The location is in the middle of historic Savannah, so we were practically a 15 minute walk or less to everywhere. Beautiful, quaint Lafayette Square is right out the front door with the amazing St. John the Baptist cathedral to the right, both of which made for a rich, magical vision as we returned in the evening. The room was beautiful, spacious with a lovely and very comfortable four poster bed, lg. flat screen tv, quaint bathroom complete with toiletries and bathrobes, and great huge windows looking out. Turndown service with cookies and a brandy nightcap ended each night.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cashfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I always stay at the Hamilton-Turner when in Savannah. We find it to be a jewel of Savannah with an ideal location, meticulous restoration, owners and staff that are attentive to guests requests and knowledgeable of the history of Savannah and surrounding areas. Definitely a highly recommended stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We are so busy trying to meet the needs of everyone else in our families, work, and so on and on and.... that we couples forget how much we need each other. This long weekend let us reconnect with eachother and the Hamilton-Turner staff greatly enhanced this opportunity. They always anticipate what guests need, protect your privacy, and always ensure you know you are welcomed there. Did I mention the amazing breakfasts? I have experianced five star restaurants and this one should be on that list!!! You tell them where you want to visit and they will make reservations for you and, even arrange for transportation if needed.

This is the place to stay if you want to enjoy true Savannah hospitality.

Room Tip: Each room has its own character and I would suggest going back and enjoy each one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruz_garcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to review the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

Our staff makes every effort to ensure each of guests has the most relaxing experience and we sincerely thank you for your acknowledgment of those efforts. Your gracious compliments will surely be passed on to our staff.

We look forward to having you again as our guests.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
Day Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here last year and it is still our favorite Inn in Savannah! The staff are so helpful and courteous you just feel like family! The Inn is beautifully furnished and decorated. Our room was bright and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious! If the shower had a little more pressure....
We do not hesitate to recommend the HT Inn to anyone!

Room Tip: We like the downstairs rooms with their own private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelanywhere10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to tell others of your experience.

A large portion of our guests are return visitors such as you. It is vital to the success of any Inn to create an atmosphere that guests enjoy enough to return to, so thank you for loyalty to the Hamilton-Turner Inn. We enjoyed having you as our guests and are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay once again.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
Day Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I took my wife to Savannah for a Big Birthday, did my research, found the Hamilton Turner and was delighted with the result. beautiful location, huge attention to detail, courteous, competent staff and owners and a delightful experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

We thank you for choosing our Inn to spend such a wonderful occasion. Our staff appreciate your kind comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that you will choose the Hamilton-Turner Inn should your travels lead you back to our beautiful City of Savannah.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
Day Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 116 in Savannah
2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Lafayette Square, corner of Abercorn and East Charlton, Savannah, GA 31401-4636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#31 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $241 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing