We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Azalea Inn terrific”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Azalea Inn & Villas
Ranked #4 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NYC Traveller
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Azalea Inn terrific”
Reviewed April 9, 2007

During our visit to Savannah, we found that it truly lived up to – even surpassed – its reputation as one of the most beautiful towns in the US, and the Azalea Inn was an excellent place to stay for us who wanted the charisma of the city to follow us ‘home’ after our explorations. Our experience of Savannah focused on the town’s more traditional charms – restored old houses, lush green parks, a couple of excellent meals. Full disclosure: for decades I’ve been in love with Savannah’s closest ‘rival,’ Charleston SC, and thought no town – southern or otherwise – could approach it for beauty, history, and atmosphere. I stand corrected. Charleston has its impressive waterfront Battery, and that town’s longer, wealthier history shows in its organic, mazelike streets and eclectic architectural styles. But Savannah was a designed city – designed originally around four square parks (gradually, and logically, expanded to 24 or so) – and the Savannah one finds today is the result of a relatively brief period of immense mid-19th Century wealth and the resulting architectural coherence. We saw magnificent houses in an opulent neo-classical style (ca. 1820) and houses in a flamboyant late-Victorian style (ca. 1890), and of course many homes and other buildings in the transitional styles between. The bulk of the houses in the historic area are grand indeed, in spacious urban yards with handsome gardens and plenty of breathing room. And Savannah’s numerous, gracious parks only add to the sense of space. These parks force the modern visitor to conform to the town’s slower tempo by breaking up all the main north-south AND east-west streets; car traffic can only move in a straight line for a couple blocks before having to detour around the next urban garden, while the happy pedestrian strolls past a dozen or so handsome homes before crossing through the heart of the next leafy park.

The Azalea Inn is close to the south edge of the historic area, quite near the large white fountain in Forsyth Park which is one of Savannah’s most famous images. Trees are decoratively draped in Spanish moss (which, according to one tour guide, is “neither Spanish, nor moss”). Indeed, if Mother Nature were a decorator, she might be accused of having gone a bit overboard with the mossy draperies. But this is part of what makes “opulent” such an accurate word for Savannah; even the gardens are decked-out in their own aromatic boullion fringe and passementerie. Also just a couple short blocks from the Azalea Inn is Mercer House, famous as the lavish home where a certain antiques dealer shot and killed his male prostitute (as so many of us read in “Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil”). So Savannah, like any famous beauty of a ‘certain age’, has a fascinating – even lurid – past. The Azalea Inn is a handsome, well kept Victorian house, painted crisp yellow and white, with attractive small gardens front and back. The interior architecture divides itself into the public and private areas that were typical of the period – you can see the difference on both sides of one particular threshold (now lacking its door) just past the grand stairway, where rich mahogany paneling, intended to impress the well-dressed “front-door” guests, gives way to humdrum bead-board wainscoting, evidently suitable only for the servant classes, my dear. The Azalea Inn’s well-known dining room, with its murals depicting Savannah’s history, is at the bottom of those wide paneled stairs. In photographs, I found the murals to be somewhat kitschy-looking, but in person they are playful and decorative; fun to chat about with other breakfasting guests (everyone sits at one big table), and fun again later when you recognize some of the depicted buildings in the actual town. The murals were painted by students from the prestigious local art college, and contain numerous visual jokes and intentional, snicker-worthy anachronisms.

Our room was on the second floor overlooking the pool – Magnolia Place, it’s called. It’s not one of the rooms that have been redecorated since the new owners, Teresa and Jake, bought the place a little over a year ago. That’s unfortunate – the couple is doing a really lovely job with their newest interiors, but our room hadn’t gotten ‘the treatment’ yet. It was dated looking, with a Cinderella-style lace, ribbon and fake flower “bower” draped over the bed’s canopy frame. The room would be better off without it. And, yes, there was some tired wallpaper here and there – minor concerns. Otherwise, the room was a delight - with its own bathroom and tile fireplace. To the right of the fireplace there was a tall window which, via an intriguing sill that could split to form two small gates, doubled as a door onto a very spacious private porch. That window, a genuine example of one of the ways Savannah’s Victorian-era architects made peace with the steamy local climate, displayed all the real charm that the ‘flower-bower’ unsuccessfully attempted. The porch overlooked the pool area, with a Hopper-esque, gingerbread-y roofscape visible through the leafy trees beyond. (The dusty plastic plant on the porch might give some thought to joining the ‘flower bower’ in permanent exile). Minor decor quibbles aside, the room was in fact very comfortable, and I’m confident it will soon be handsome too.

The owners and staff at Azalea Inn are super-helpful and friendly. There really is such a thing as southern hospitality - a concept regarded with squinty-eyed suspicion here in New York City. Teresa, Jake, and their employees are quick to offer recommendations, make reservations, answer any questions, and, in our case, loan a lap-top computer for checking e-mail. (The house has wireless internet access). Jake and Teresa also highly recommended the Firefly restaurant (I think that is its name) – their own walking-distance favorite. In fact, as a group of us guests were discussing restaurant possibilities late one afternoon, the owners joined the debate just before they headed out to Firefly for their own dinner, saying they’d ‘check out the situation’ (it was a very busy holiday-weekend in Savannah). A few minutes later they called from the restaurant, saying Firefly could accommodate us that evening, and having already made reservations for us. Service! And the restaurant turned out to be exactly what we were looking for – an excellent meal served at a cozy sidewalk table overlooking one of Savannah’s more off-the-beaten-path parks – a great recommendation.

Truly, I would give Savannah absolute highest marks for offering an experience of real southern hospitality and charm in a grand antebellum atmosphere. And the Azalea Inn, for its price-range, would surely be one of the best places to stay. And getting better all the time! Strongly Recommended!

  • Liked — Atmosphere matches that of the rest of Savannah - Southern Charm
  • Disliked — Not yet fully renovated - a minor issue
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BradStaubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    88
    27
    6
    8
See reviews for
93
617
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2007

What a beautiful place! What an awesome experience! This was my first time at a bed and breakfast, but it certaily won't be my last! The Azalea Inn was much more than I ever expected! My sis and I stayed in the Magnolia Room complete with a beautiful covered porch with ceiling fan! Every morning I would take my coffee and sit outside to welcome the morning. We stayed 5 nights but wished it could have been more. The staff at the Azalea Inn catered to our every whim, and the breakfast every morning was like something out of a magazine. Delicious! You have to have the Savannah Surprise! I'm hooked! In the afternoons they had wine and cheese, sweets, and friendly atmosphere with the other guests. The fresh roses on the mantle of the fireplace were beautiful. I truly was treated like royalty. Thank you Teresa, Jake, the two Jennifers, Kim and Ms Betty for an unforgettable stay. I will be back!!

  • Liked — The beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cyndisfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, AL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

Words cannot say enough about the accommodations, the owners, and the staff of the Azalea Inn! From the moment we arrived, we were treated like newly discovered friends, rather than just another couple of guests. Our stay began with a tour of the inn and its impeccable gardens, which was reassuring to see that there were modern amenities combined with historic charm. The gourmet breakfasts and snacks rivaled the other meals that we had at the famous (and not so famous) local restaurants. The inn is conviently located in a historic neighborhood that is full of recently restored historic homes, and it is only 2 blocks from a major grocery store. For us, it is the only place to stay for future Savannah trips.

  • Liked — The friendliness and helpfullness of the owners and staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheBamaBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

We love staying at B&B's when we travel and the Azaela Inn B&B was my favorite so far. The inn itself is beautiful with lots of character. Savannah is full of history and so is this inn with walls painted depicting different times in history as well as beautiful furnishings throughout. The inn keepers were just great. Very attentive and personable. They were always there ready to make a recommendation or just chat about what you did with your day. Our room was very comfortable and we had everything that we could want in a B&B. The inn is located within walking distance to everyting in Savannah and we enjoyed our daily strolls through the town. I highly recommend the Azaela Inn and we would definately stay again.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TennesseeDawgfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2007

We absolutely LOVED the Azalea Inn! We toured Savannah but found that
we would have rather lounged around the Inn. I highly reccommend staying in the Cotton Exchange room, the jacuzzi tub was SOOOOOO worth the pick. The back deck and pool are so relaxing. We are already planning our next trip back. Teresa was so sweet and a great cook. I can't wait to go back and see my buddy Joey (Teresa's Yorkie) I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!

  • Liked — whole property
  • Disliked — nothing was bad!!!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jaelynandkylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINNIPEG
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2007

My husband and I were travelling to Atlanta Georgia to the NASCAR race and decided that since we were travelling such a long way from home (Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada) that we would spend a few extra days exploring the State of Georgia. I have always wanted to stay at a B&B and started my web search. I researched all the B&B's in the Savannah area to great extent and kept going back to the Azalea Inn website. There was just something about that Inn that was so appealing to me. I contacted the innkeepers and made reservations for March 12th through to March 15th.

The minute we drove up to the beautiful yellow Inn we felt the sense of comfort and home. My first instincts didn't disappoint us. We walked through the front door and immediately embraced the space and spent the next few days in a peaceful, warm environment. Teresa, the innkeeper met us with a lovely welcome, showed us the common area of the Inn and discussed the beautiful hand painted murals on the dining room walls. They were magnificent and also a wee bit whimsical. You really have to spend some time at the Azalea Inn to appreciate and understand the marvelous art work. Teresa then showed us to our suite. We had reserved the Cotton Exchange Suite which was everything we had imagined and more. I remember walking into the suite and telling Teresa that we were never going to leave.

Our suite was absolutely beautiful - a king (very comfortable) bed adorned with lovely bedding, a large jacquzzi tub with a chandelier hanging above it accompanied by a dimmer switch, a cozy sitting area with great leather chairs in front of a fireplace (very romantic!), a wetbar and fridge which was always filled with bottled water. We also had our own porch which overlooked the pool and garden area, where we could have our coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening.

The gourmet breakfasts were wonderful. We looked forward to something different each morning and were able to eat at our leisure between 8 & 10 and either joining other guests in the dining room or enjoy the sumptuous meal on our porch. The delicious aroma of baked sweets filled the air in the afternoon and evening where there was always a sweet delight for guests to enjoy throughout the day. My husband really looked forward to this! Each evening a wine and cheese reception (accompanied also with hot appetizers) was held for guests in the dining room and it was a wonderful time to exchange the days events with the other guests. Arriving back at the Inn after dinner we enjoyed a lovely glass of sherri before retiring for the night.

We would like to thank Teresa, Jake and their staff for their wonderful hospitality. They were all so helpful and accommodating with making reservations for dinner, a horse and carriage ride, directions to anywhere we wanted to go. The memory of our stay at the Azalea Inn will always be with us and we hope to return one day.

A special note to Teresa - you were a delight to talk to and our stay at your Inn was only enhanced by your beautiful personality. We loved your yorkies also!

Doug and Donna Harding

  • Liked — Our accommodations and the innkeepers
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandmotherofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2007

My husband and I stayed at The Azalea Inn in Savannah for 6 nights and we loved every moment of it. We felt completely at home and thought that the owners made a great effort to add some nice extra touches. We especially enjoyed the evening cocktail hour as it gave us a wonderful opportunity to share some lighthearted conversation with others. Information was readily available (ie. restaurants, directions) whenever we needed as was a friendly chat with the inn staff. However, we always felt that our privacy was being honoured and respected when we just wanted to relax in the courtyard. We would return to The Azalea Inn in a heartbeat. We met some great people there (hello Virginians and Winnipegers!) and felt that our experience was truly memorable. Many thanks to Theresa and Jake for their hospitality.

  • Liked — The comfortable environment and the wonderful little touches
  • Disliked — Just a little too far from the main historic district but nothing that caused problems
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravellingduoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,257 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,624 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 30 in Savannah
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azalea Inn & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea Inn & Villas

Property: Azalea Inn & Villas
Address: 217 E Huntingdon St, Savannah, GA 31401-5714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azalea Inn & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendevous at the romantic Azalea Inn & gardens, an historic Savannah Georgia bed and breakfast inn (ca 1889) in the colonial Savannah garden district featuring parking, reinvented southern cuisine, heritage gardens, balconies, courtyard pool, and veranda with rockers. An ideal Savannah Georgia vacation idea, romantic wedding engagement place, scenic colonial coast tour, photographic walking vacation, boutique downtown shopping in the Design District, or just-because romantic or friends getaway. Ask about business travel rate, Sunday - Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Azalea Inn & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azalea Inn & Gardens Hotel Savannah
Azalea Inn And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing