We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay over Thanksgiving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Azalea Inn & Villas
Ranked #4 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Azalea Inn & Gardens over Thanksgiving, and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. We stayed in the Live Oak Canopy room (on the second floor of the main house), and it was exquisite: very large private patio, working fireplace, incredibly comfortable bed, nice shower, etc. Breakfasts were delicious and filling. Teresa, Jake, Shannon, Madi, and the entire crew were wonderful: they epitomized southern hospitality. I especially loved the assortment of books and DVDs that you could borrow and take up to your room to enjoy, and the treats at cocktail hour and later at night made this much more than a simple B&B experience. Finally, the Azalea Inn & Gardens feels a little out of the thick of things (not on a square, for example), but it is mere minutes by foot to Forsyth Park and onward to the squares and ultimately waterfront: my husband and I did it all by foot and would have had it no other way. GREAT STAY!

Room Tip: I think that a room on the ground floor would be a bit loud, because of the foot traffic. We LOVED...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azalea_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Azalea Inn & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We are so honored that you chose the Azalea as the place to spend your Thanksgiving holiday. We do pride ourselves on giving excellent customer service and are very happy to hear that you noticed! Savannah is a beautiful city and a great place to visit, so we hope to see you many more times in the future. We especially love to create wonderful, and memorable breakfasts and treats. This is one of our favorite tasks (cooking and eating!), and we love being complimented on our food! Thanks for the recommendation to others; that is so very appreciated. Until the next time you visit Savannah!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 998 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed and the Azalea Inn over the Thanksgiving holiday. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Theresa and her staff were all excellent hosts - always very attentive to our needs. The breakfasts were scrumptious and very unique. The Thanksgiving dinner was excellent. All and all a wonderful stay. MOST HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azalea_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Azalea Inn & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thanks so much for the kind words and the wonderful review. We all work very hard together to provide great service and attention to detail. This is important to us all year long, but especially so during the holiday season, wanting each of our guests to leave feeling so happy after their visit to Savannah and having wonderful memories of this holiday. Thanks again and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was our second trip to Savannah & both times my daughter & I stayed at the Azalea Inn & Gardens. It has become our home away from home. The staff is friendly & extremely helpful. The breakfast meals were wonderful. We loved our room with the fireplace, as it came in handy on those chilly nights. We enjoyed the afternoon wine & snack time. The bedtime sweet dessert hit the spot with tea. Loved the experience...we will be back.
Merry Christmas & Happy New Year to all @ the Azalea Inn & Gardens.
Beverly from Tampa, Florida

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevsangels04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azalea_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Azalea Inn & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We were so happy to have you both come back again for a return visit! This is one of our favorite things—to see return guests! It really affirms for us that we are doing things right. So thank you! It is also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed breakfast each morning. And you are so right about the fireplaces being so great during these cold nights. Again, thank you again for staying with us on your trip to Savannah…..we can’t wait for the next time! We have renovations currently happening with the addition of two small apartments next door, so this might be a fun change for you to both experience next time!
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had a fantastic 4 days in Savannah celebrating my wife's birthday. The staff was fantastic. The breakfasts were beyond description. The chef is innovative and serves a fantastic meal. The late afternoon snacks and wine hit the spot. I would highly recommend Azalea Gardens for location, rooms , breakfast and staff. We will definitely stay again when we are next in Savannah.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cotton Exchange it had a jacuzzi tub and fireplace and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azalea_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Azalea Inn & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Marvin,
What a pleasure it was having you and Joanne here celebrating her Jubilee!! I so enjoyed talking with you both and discussing my favorite topic--FOOD!! I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip, heading to NC to the Biltmore and then having a great Thanksgiving with family. It is so important to us all here at the Azalea Inn and Gardens to make every guest's visit special, but the funny thing is that the guest's usually make things special for US too!! It is a great business to be in, meeting wonderful people every day. We look forward to you both coming back sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I'm not sure I can add much more to the glowing reviews, other than maintaining the statistical average. We stayed for 2 nights in September and loved it. I chose the more economically priced Olive room. It's small, but not cramped. There's a small balcony overlooking the pool where we ate breakfast one morning when the early seating was full. Unfortunately it was too cool to swim, but the pool would be a bonus on any 85+ degree day.

The only suggestion for improvement I had was to add more towel bars in the bathroom, which was supposedly on tap for an upcoming renovation.

Food was excellent. I got the croissant casserole recipe and am looking forward to trying it out for a New Year's brunch. The coffee was actually a bit weak for my taste; however, the array of teas was great. And be sure to take advantage of the free wine and apps at happy hour.

The location is in a residential area, close to Forsyth Park. I liked the location - we walked around the park in the morning and hung out there one afternoon. After touring around the waterfront area, I would definitely not recommend staying there - too noisy and touristy.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Olive room, be aware that it will be noisy since it's on the first floor in c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azalea_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Azalea Inn & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thanks for the lovely glowing review and also the suggestions. It is through our feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to constantly improve things here at our beautiful little Inn! We will soon be doing some renovations to our Sweet Olive room and we will bear in mind your comments on additional towel bars.
Thanks for appreciating our food. It is one of the things we try very hard to really keep super high standards on and always try to please every guest. We can’t wait for you to try our croissant casserole recipe! And please always give your feedback immediately, so that things like the coffee can be fixed for you on the spot. There are different opinions on coffee, and we are happy to make a stronger pot for someone with that preference. We don’t mind the requests! We are here to make your vacation as wonderful as possible.
We too love our beautiful Forsyth Park and are happy that you enjoyed it. We love our peaceful area here, just a short walk away from the whole Historic area.
We look forward to having you back for another visit and to enjoy some other recipes!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was actually a business trip for my girlfriend and I who started a vodka company! We were in town for the Savannah Food & Wine Festival (another must go to in Savannah) and after pouring over 650 cocktails there was nothing else we wanted to do than go back to our room and sit in front of the fire (with a cocktail of course)! We definitely plan on going back with our husbands so that they can enjoy the fabulous rooms, the incredible breakfasts, the basil lemonade (made with a certain Vixen Vodka) and Joey of course!!! A bonus for us was Leoci's Trattoria across the parking lot - you have to try the mushroom lasagna - you will die! I also want to go back in the warmer months to enjoy the pool. I want to try a different room each visit, they're all so beautiful!! Teresa and Shannon are our new soul sisters! We cannot recommend this beautiful Inn more highly!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azalea_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Azalea Inn & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

We were so happy that the Food & Wine Festival was including other interesting drinks and of course, your Vixen Vodka was a wonderful addition! What fun it was to see you both and we were so happy to have you as guests here at the Inn. We look forward to many more future visits, whether you come bearing vodka gifts for not!! 
Seriously though, thanks so much for the kind words about the Inn. We all work very hard to make everything as perfect as we possibly can for each and every guest. We are so glad that our efforts did not go unnoticed! Until next time, ladies!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Two families came together and took over the inn the first weekend in November for a small family wedding. The accomodations were first rate; the entire staff was beyond wonderful and the food - oh my gosh!!!! It was great spending time with family and also learning so much about the inn and Savannah from Teresa and Shannon and all the staff. I asked for the recipes we enjoyed and am glad to report that the Daffodil Cake and Lemon Squares will be making their debut at Thanksgiving dinner and the Curried Fruit Bake and Praline French Toast with be premiering at our home when we host lots of family during Oaks and Derby in May. Many thanks. By the way, got home and still had some doggie snacks for Joey :) although he would have preferred cheese. Eileen and Mac Bray

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenMac1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azalea_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Azalea Inn & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

What a fun group and great wedding you all had! Thanks so much for choosing Azalea Inn and Gardens for your wedding party and also a fun time for the family to get together. We are very happy that you loved the food, as this is a huge part of what we do. And of course Joey is a doll, loves all of the guests, but you are so right—he does love the CHEESE!! Thanks to each and every one of you. It is folks like you that make our job so fun and EASY!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,371 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 30 in Savannah
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#6 of 30 in Savannah
1,458 reviews
Downtown
McMillan Inn
McMillan Inn
#3 of 30 in Savannah
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azalea Inn & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea Inn & Villas

Address: 217 E Huntingdon St, Savannah, GA 31401-5714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $187 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azalea Inn & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendevous at the romantic Azalea Inn & gardens, an historic Savannah Georgia bed and breakfast inn (ca 1889) in the colonial Savannah garden district featuring parking, reinvented southern cuisine, heritage gardens, balconies, courtyard pool, and veranda with rockers. An ideal Savannah Georgia vacation idea, romantic wedding engagement place, scenic colonial coast tour, photographic walking vacation, boutique downtown shopping in the Design District, or just-because romantic or friends getaway. Ask about business travel rate, Sunday - Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Azalea Inn & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azalea Inn & Gardens Hotel Savannah
Azalea Inn And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing