We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What...no signature chips? Or..”

Tortugas Island Grille
Ranked #165 of 870 Restaurants in Savannah
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Tuesday-Thursday 11:00 am to 9:00 pmFriday 11:00 am to 9:30 pmSaturday 10:00 am to 9:30 pm (breakfast, lunch,and dinner)Sunday Brunch 10:00 am to 2:00 pm Closed on Monday
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What...no signature chips? Or..”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

No fried green tomatoes, shrimp cakes or an ice bucket for our bottle of wine. With only 2 other tables dining it was hard to imagine? I ask you how can you say you have "homemade" chips and tell us you are out...yet still offer potato skins and baked potato? Thankfully the jerked triple tail and shrimp and grits were amazingly yummy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moneycheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    31
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great! Not what I expected.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I belong to the American Legion, stopped in at Post 184 in Thunderbolt. Local suggested we try Tortuga's for supper. Excellent recomendation! I have dinedat some top restaurants in Savannah. the food here matched or even bettered some of them. Not fancy decor but nice. I have drove by before on trips in the area and it looked unasuming so I went on by and chose someplace else. It is not romantic, it does not have tux wearing staff, but the fare is that good! I will come here again. Beer and wine, no spirits. I am here for good food and was satisied. Not the bar food you find so much of in a touristy town like Savannah. A place where locals go foe good food and social or family gatherings. Quiet, good food and pleasant. A very nice change. I called out the chef as was suggested by my new found friend at the American Legion to compliment him. He came out in a ball cap and sport shirt. Not like a stuffy chef at other restaurants and was very happy about our compliments. You could tell he loved his job and wanted satified customers. Nice find in a touristy town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had not been to Savannah in years and went to Tripadvisor to find someplace to eat. This place was awesome. Cozy atmosphere, candlelit and quiet, great service, and dinners that were so good we can't wait to go back. We simply Loved it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank se_solomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great location in Thunderbolt. The shrimp and grits are my fav. Drinks are priced right, and the service is always prompt. Joyce is my favorite, and always has great suggestions. The owner's are very accomadating.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaeljonesjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“heaven on a plate”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The blackened grouper BLT is wonderful, as is the homemade potato chips with blue cheese appetizer. Yummmmm. The service is friendly and the atmosphere is nice. We make a point to have a meal at Tortugas each time we visit Savannah, although it seems most of the clientele are locals.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RenieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortugas Island Grille also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tortugas Island Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing