We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice treat”

Cold Stone Creamery
Ranked #30 of 31 Dessert in Savannah
Price range: $1 - $20
Restaurant details
Crofton, Kentucky, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice treat”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Across the road from our hotel. Nice treat after travelling to Savannah that day. Plenty of choices. Good ice cream.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Kosher old fashioned ice cream-add your own topics”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a great ice cream place an done of the few kosher certified places in Savannah. My kids (ages 5 to 11) loved it! I wish however that they had some fat-free flavors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank working-family-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very good for lovers of old-fashioned high-fat/sugary ice-cream treats--create your own flavor!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My hubby likes this place when he's in the mood for a good old-fashioned, fattening, sugar-laden ice-cream delight, so after dinner last week we made the trip over to Twelve Oaks Shopping Center on Abercorn, and tucked away in the north corner is Coldstone Creamery. If you have never been there the concept is an interesting one: several basic flavors of traditional ice-cream are available, to which you can add any number of items like fruits, candies, nuts, chocolate, syrups, etc., in effect, creating your own unique flavor. The prices are a little high and expect to pay what you would for a lunch elsewhere, but the quality of the ice-cream is considerable and the choices for additional ingredients are pretty wide-ranging. Once you choose your basic flavor it is scooped up onto a cold marble slab where the fruit, candy, nuts, etc. are added to the ice-cream by a worker there, using a sharp, flat paddle to mix and mash the items into the ice-cream. There are a good number of choices for basic flavors, as well as sorbet and "low-fat" frozen yogurt too, but be aware that they are all very high in sugar. That night I tried the pomegranate-mango sorbet (fat-free) mixed with fresh banana slices, blueberries and strawberries, topped with a little marshmallow creme, and the results, though delicious, I could barely finish it and it almost sent me into sugar-shock (nausea followed)! My husband goes all the way with a buttercream vanilla base and adds all sorts of candy, nuts, cherries, whipped cream, and caramel topping--this is the kind of place that easily seduces you into throwing caution to the wind. There are several kinds of candy bars (chopped up, of course, for easy mixing), cookie bits, gummie bears, sprinkles,and other sweet tidbits, as well as fresh fruits, caramel, fudge, marshmallow creme, coconut, pecans, walnuts and sugary delights and really, it's a sort of ice-cream dream-come-true for those who crave a luxurious high-calorie taste sensation. The staff are usually young and cheerful, though the girl who served us seemed a bit surly that evening. There are ice-cream cakes and cartons of ice-cream available,and a clean, warmly-colored eating area with small tables, though most folks seem to prefer the tables outside. You can have your ice-cream in 3 sizes in a cup, a waffle cone, on a brownie, you name it. Ask for a cup of water to wash the sugar outta your system or you may go into overload, though. Ok, that's a personal view of mine (and I watch my health but monitoring what I eat), but honestly, this is place of utter indulgence where the only thing to hold you back from going into fat/sugar overload is how much money you're carrying, or possibly a strong desire to keep healthy. I visit this place with my husband maybe once a year because it just devastates his blood sugar levels and I always feel bleary and a bit light-headed with the sugar and fat, quite happy to return to my fresh fruit & yogurt to satisfy my sweet-tooth. Indulge if you must, but please drink plenty of water afterwards and consider having some lean protein to balance out the immense sugar. There, you've been warned. Go for it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heart_of_Imladris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ice Cream”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I like a snack, and to grab and go while shopping. This is a real treat for fun, and creative eating in the mall.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shoshannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gotta Love It!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

DELICIOUS! Best ice cream! If you are gonna eat those calories, this is worth it. FYI Sweet Cream tastes like Whipped Cream.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GottaLoveItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cold Stone Creamery also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Cold Stone Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing