We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm greetings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Gateway
Ranked #59 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Walkerton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm greetings”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were travelling from Ontario, Canada and stopped at this hotel. Lillie the night clerk was very nice and welcomed me and my family! We had checked in so late and only slept for 4 hours then we were in the road again on our way to Florida. We had checked in so late that breakfast was going to be served in 1.5 hours. Not everyone in my party made it out to the breakfast, but those that did it was your basic continental breakfast, though there was a shortage on fresh fruit, we had coffee and waffles. The check out was not up to par with what I'm use to. I had requested from the front desk to get a printed copy of the bill before I checked out and the clerk was not able to do that. Surprisingly I have had no problem getting one at other hotels.
This hotel was ideal for stopping by, but I would not come to stay for more then 1 night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46Mamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Amy M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are so glad that you decided to stop and visit us as you traveled along Interstate 95 towards Florida. We appreciate the kind words about our welcoming staff members and we are glad that a few of your family members were able to join us for our complimentary breakfast buffet to enjoy waffles, coffee, eggs, meat, fruit, and more. We will share your feedback with our breakfast team to ensure that the fruit selection is fully stocked during breakfast hours. We would also like to apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced at check out. If guests book directly through our hotel, they receive a printed copy of the bill upon check out. However, if guests make reservations through a third party website such as Expedia, they will receive a copy of the bill via email from the third party site. Please feel free to contact our General Manager, Alisha Patel, directly with any questions regarding your hotel bill. Again, we apologize for any confusion that this may have caused. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We are always searching for ways to improve the overall experience for future guests.

Sincerely
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    183
    167
    91
    53
See reviews for
272
219
55
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Price was right: We found a great deal after calling in to the hotel to book. They also have discounts available on some of the local tours.

Room:The room was clean but seemed old. After reading some of the other reviews I went in with low expectations so I was pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness and layout. You can tell it was a 70s room that went through some aesthetic modernizations (aka change the spreads). The AC unit was loud and the filter seemed to need to be replaced. We all woke up stuffy and sneezing.

Bathroom:The bathroom was clean. The toilet was leaking and the seat was broken. The towels were old looking and I wished I brought my own.

Location: Although our room faced the highway we never heard the traffic. We did not go to downtown (DT) for this one day trip since we were specifically there for an family event. I can say that it is not very close to DT if that is what you're looking for however, the price may make it worth the drive. We have stayed nearby in the past for a long weekend trip and visited DT and Tybee Island and didn't feel too inconvenienced.

Breakfast: The breakfast was good. It consisted of pastries, mini muffins, cereal, coffee/tea/cocoa mix, biscuits&gravy, the use of a waffle maker and apple&orange juice. You get 10% off at the Denny's that's on location if you show your room key.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live4Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Live4Traveling,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the Best Western Savannah Gateway hotel! We truly appreciate the kind words about our great value, clean guest rooms, clean bathrooms, quiet atmosphere, and complimentary breakfast buffet. However, we would like to apologize for the noisy AC unit and the leaking toilet. We strive to offer comfortable accommodations for each and every one of our guests and we are very sorry that you experienced these inconveniences during your stay. We encourage travelers to contact our front desk team right away if they encounter any problems during their stay. This way, we can do our best to solve the problem immediately or find a new room for our guests. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We appreciate it and hope that you will come back to see us again in the future so that you can explore historic downtown and other popular Savannah attractions.

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
675 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 821 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We made this reservation from the internet. As with any special requests, we checked ahead with the hotel in person so there should have been no problems.

That said: We made reservations for two adults, one child and one dog. They were initially unable to accomodate us, stating that they did not receive this request. When I showed them on my phone, the internet exchanges, they did find a room for us. The price for the dog was exorbitant (35.00) and they refused to clean the room even though we were gone (with the dog) from 0630 until late at night. The room was dirty and not very comfortable to begin with, we were short towels and moreso after we used what we had and doubled up on one.

There was nowhere for the dog to walk which was okay because we NEVER leave a dog in a hotel room anyway and ALWAYS make sure she has plenty of exercise, air and opportunities for food, water and relief. Our dog is an expensive one and pampered like it.

The breakfast was packaged and we refused it both days, prefering to eat out even though the continental offering was part of the price of the room.

The one bright spot was that the manager was kind and helpful as far as finding us a room (since it was already paid for).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nabenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere KY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stopped here on our way the FL for spring break. The carpets looked like they hadn't been vacuumed the bathtub had hair in it. The room was smoking and we asked to be moved and we were told that we did request nonsmoking so it was our fault I have never had to request nonsmoking!!!!!!. Very disappointed!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KYgirl0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
KYgirl0308,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is our goal to offer excellent customer service and comfortable accommodations to each and every one of our guests. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you can share your room number with us so that we can further investigate the concerns mentioned in your review. It is feedback like yours that allows us to improve and better serve our future guests. Thanks in advance for all of your time and assistance. We appreciate it and hopethat you will choose to stay with us again in the future so that we can offer the excellent accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Usually travelling on business and easily paying twice their rate, I was certainly happy with what was found at this property. Great service, nice accomodations and a free breakfast, too. Easy access to the Interstate and a straight drive downtown to Savannah....close to restaurants as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Jack C,

A special thanks to you and your family for joining us at the Best Western Savannah Gateway hotel! We are so glad to hear that you feel we offer a great value to our guests and cannot thank you enough for the kind words about our customer service, comfortable accommodations, and complimentary breakfast buffet. In addition, we are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the Interstate, historic downtown Savannah, and popular local restaurants. Please come back to visit us again soon at the Best Western Savannah hotel!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Lake, MI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here while travelling from Michigan to Florida. I was very disappointed in this Best Western because the last one I had stayed in was super nice (California). This hotel is kind of run down, but it was clean. The tub didn't drain very well, and the refrigerator was so noisy we finally unplugged it. The bed was awful. The staff was friendly, though. When I told her about the problems she said she'd have maintenance look into it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorimerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear lorimerk,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are so glad that you decided to join us for a quick stopover while traveling from Michigan to Florida. We truly appreciate the kind words about our clean hotel and friendly staff members. However, we are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We encourage all of our travelers to contact us right away if they encounter any problems during their stay. This way, we can do our best to have the situation resolved immediately. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will share your room number with us. This way, we can follow up to make sure these issues have been resolved. Thanks again for all of your time as it is feedback like yours that allows us to improve the overall experience for future guests.

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nestled in a cluster of hotels just off I-95, this recently renovated motel- style Best Western was a great value. The lobby seemed to merge into a Denny's where your room key could get you a 10% discount, but they also had their own breakfast which was included in the rate.

Check-in was quick and easy and even included the network access code without asking. Our room was on the second floor, no elevator. The room was quite spacious and comfortable, quiet in spite of car traffic, well lit, King bed, sitting chair with hassock, desk with desk chair, microwave, fridge with a freezer that actually worked, and a flat screen TV with sanitized remote.

Couple of demerits for fitted sheet not quite big enough for the king mattress and for electrical outlets being neither abundant nor accessible (behind the bed). I've learned to travel with an extension cord but even that doesn't help if you can't plug it in. Final issue was the heating/AC which was either sauna-like or quite chilly with nothing between.

The breakfast room was very small and the food selections few, so finding no table available, we decided to go to Dennys at the other end of the hall and were happily surprised by both the service and food. Would definitely book this hotel again, but maybe requesting first floor accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MosbyScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear MosbyScout,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We really appreciate the kind words about our quick check-in process, free wireless internet, spacious guest rooms, quiet atmosphere, and close proximity to Interstate 95. In addition, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the microwave, refrigerator, and flat screen TV which are found in each guest room. While we are grateful for all of your compliments, we are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We encourage all of our guests to contact us right away with any questions or concerns so that we can do our best to solve the problem right away. From switching out the fitted sheet to assisting with the AC unit, we are happy to do anything that we can to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you will come back to join us again in the future. When you call to make your reservation, please let us know that you would like a room on the first floor so that we can add your request directly to your guest profile. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#49 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah South
9.7 mi away
Best Western Central Inn
Best Western Central Inn
#40 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#77 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#85 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Gateway

Property: Best Western Savannah Gateway
Address: 1 Gateway Blvd., Savannah, GA 31419 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Savannah Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Savannah Gateway Hotel Savannah
Savannah Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing