We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stress-free and relaxing night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Gateway
Ranked #54 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed September 14, 2012

With a long road still to travel this summer we need stress-free accommodation. The staff and management here made our stay seamless; we didn't have a care in the world. Everything was very clean, rooms were quiet. We'll happily go back if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runningdevendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha P, Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

harmonyrunner,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Savannah Gateway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 752 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at the Best Western Gateway for 3 nights during a layover on a long drive from Maine to Florida. I'd been driving for days and was pretty tired when I got there. Best Western had gotten my reservation wrong (through the 800 number) but the lovely front desk person (Bea) quickly remedied that and had me in a clean, quiet room with an oversoft bed (old mattress). During the night I got up to adjust the privacy shades and found the floor damp near the A/C unit. In the morning the carpet was completely soaked.

Bea very quickly and nicely changed my room where the bed was even older and softer (technically a pillow top mattress but not functionally). I stayed here without complaint for the next two, quiet days. Even in this room, the carpet near the A/C unit was dampish, but the room didn't have a feel of mold. It was clean and well care for, if a bit tired.

The continental breakfast was completely uninspiring, which actually drives a lot of travelers to the Denny's restaurant in the main lobby. I actually appreciated a change from the items they had in the hotel breakfast nook and frequented Denny's 2 of my 3 mornings there. Hard to judge whether they deliberately keep their own breakfast unappealing.

This wasn't my worst BW experience, but also not the best.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha P, Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Meredith J,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will be sure to share your feedback with my team so that we can make the necessary changes to better serve our guests in the future. I hope you choose to stay with us on your next visit to Savannah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

nice and clean,front desk clerk was nice and helpful suggested place to eat in savannah,she was right on her call.rooms and pool area was clean,no problem,ice machine didn;t work on the first floor,resturants were close by,enjoyed my stay,will stay again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha P, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Abcman33,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is always nice to hear positive comments from guests. Glad you enjoyed cooling off in our recently renovated pool area. I hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Savannah, GA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

i just got home from a three day ,two night stay in savannah.i will start with saying it was my second trip to the city ,with my wife the two of us loved Bee at the front desk, she was very imformative,attentive and friendly customer service was very great the room was ok i hope Alisha Patel keep bee around for a long time this hotel need to do something nice for bee

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodtime613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha P, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Goodtime613,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I will be sure to pass along the kind words to my team. I hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Savannah, GA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I just got home from a three day, two night stay in Savannah. I will start with saying it was my second trip to the city, and the first for my mom and son. The three of us loved Bee at the front desk, she was very informative, attentive and friendly! Customer service was great!

Our thoughts about the room? Well...let's just say. We didn't sleep as well as I know we would have at a more expensive hotel. I agree with previous comments regarding the moldy smell. Our room could have and should have been inspected a lil more in the corners of the ceilings, there were spider webs with live spiders in EVERY corner! We didn't feel that the room was horrible it just could have used a lil more attention.

I would not stay here for an extended amount of time, it was ok for what we needed, a few hours of sleep and a shower each day.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VMR15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha P, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear VMR15,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We greatly appreciate your kind words about our customer service. While I am happy to hear about that positive experience, I am very sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We set high standards at our hotel so that we can offer guests comfortable accommodations down to the very last detail and I want to thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I will be sharing this with our team so that we can make necessary changes and better serve our guests in the future. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again so that we can ensure you have a positive experience here at the Best Western Savannah Gateway.



Sincerely,

Alisha Patel

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We didn't like this hotel, the first room we got smelled like milldew and had stains from water on the carpets with no working air conditioner. The second room was better but not great! stains on the carpets, mildew in the shower! cracked walls, felt yucky. They ding you $10.00 for your teenagers so we just put them in as 17 or under. There is so many hotels on this street and I wouldn't stay in this one again. Pick another one they are all about the same price! Breakfast was aweful and tucked into a back corner while the Dennys was in the front. Towel holder came crashing down in the mens room when someone tried to dry their hands. Pool was the nicest thing, it is outdoor and well maintained. However Good luck trying to find pool towels or getting any from the front desk. We were told that she had put some on the pic nik table but didn't have anymore and would come out and check or get some more. That Never Happened!!! She never did bring towels and in the end we walked back to our rooms wet!When I told them about the mold in the tub they just looked down and basically ignored me. No "I'm terribly sorry mame, or let me take care of that right away. Nothing, I thought it was rude and unprofessional! Beds folded in the middle so your head and feet were both in the air at the same time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha P, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Mena G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We strive to offer each and every one of our guests a positive experience at the Best Western Savannah Gateway and I am sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with your stay at our hotel. I appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for your kind words about the pool. I will share your concerns mentioned above with our team so that we can make necessary changes and improve the overall guest experience. Again, thank you for your time. It is your feedback that allows us to better serve future guests. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future so that we can ensure you have a positive experience here at the Best Western Savannah Gateway hotel.



Sincerely,
Alisha Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We pulled in at 11pm on Sunday night. We were just looking for a cheap, clean place. The hotels across the street had a better rating but they wanted to charge us for the kids. Outside looked old and a bit sketchy so my husband went in to make sure it was clean. It was very humid since the air wasn't on, but that was the only issue. Most fixtures were updated. It's an older building but it seems to have been kept up. The front desk was very nice. Beds were comfortable. We stayed opposite the highway side. We found a good rate on the Priceline App, but we didn't book it there. My husband told them the Priceline rate and they matched it. For a short overnight stop, it was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asvmdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha P, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for taking time to do this- It is always nice to hear from satisfied guests. Please let us be of service to you again should you have a hotel need in Savannah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#48 of 114 in Savannah
1,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah South
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
#82 of 114 in Savannah
831 reviews
9.6 mi away
Best Western Central Inn
Best Western Central Inn
#38 of 114 in Savannah
874 reviews
9.8 mi away
Quality Inn Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown
#59 of 114 in Savannah
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Gateway

Address: 1 Gateway Blvd., Savannah, GA 31419 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $64 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Savannah Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Savannah Gateway Hotel Savannah
Savannah Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing