We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe when I was 20, but not now...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Ranked #52 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maybe when I was 20, but not now...”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I was thrilled when I booked about the location of our hotel. I was a little frustrated when we pulled up, because I did not realize this was a motel. Upon arrival I received a disclaimer from management...apparently they are aware it is incredibly loud and you are welcome to leave if the noise bothers you. Oddly, the expletives that were shouted outside our room by drunk students staggering in at 2:00 in the morning did not bother my 10 year old and me nearly as much as hearing other guests' toilets flush after they threw up in their bathrooms. I will cancel my trip to Savannah before I stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
I am very disappointed to read your review and hear you did not enjoy your stay. I wanted to personally apologize and to let you know I will certainly follow-up on the issue's you mentioned.

If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-629-2101. I sincerely apologize.

Thank you,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    479
    294
    128
    94
See reviews for
348
566
60
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The positives. In spite of some other reviews, we found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating, the room to be comfortable, even though it was somewhat dated, and the breakfast had a good variety of foods to consider.
What hurt the rating, however, was the constant road noise as we had a room facing Bay Street. I had read previous reviews complaining of this and saw a white noise machine in the room, so I erroneously guessed that this would alleviate the noise. Wrong. I should have taken a room at the rear of the hotel, where our friends had a room. They said that the room was quiet all night. The worse part of the noise was the trucks, which diminished slightly after 10:00, but picked up again around 02:15 a.m. Yes, I was awake enough to track this.
If you visit the hotel, definitely get a room at the rear of the hotel, or find another place to stay.

Room Tip: As noted, take a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed the great location, free breakfast and our awesome staff at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District. I do however apologize for the noisy streets, and I am sorry if it interfered with your stay in Savannah. I hope you are able to visit us again in the near future.

Thank you,
JEffrey A Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel is located at the very beginning of the River experience in Savannah and about 2 blocks from City Market. Expect lots of street and party noise but there is a "canceller" that helps. A bit pricey for the quality but then that's Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank PatsyCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable feedback with others! Thank you and enjoy your day! We hope you visit us again in the near future!

Thanks,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The door to the room had almost a two inch gap between the bottom of the door and the threshold. Went I proceed to the front desk to request a new room I noticed the other rooms were the same, so no need to ask. That night bugs were coming in so we had to stuff our pills under the door. Went to the front desk and cancelled the next two nights of our stay. In the morning the water pressure was horrible. Also, our room was not available until almost a hour after check in time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Erik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, when you post on Trip Advisor your comments are posted a day later. I am not only disappointed but embarrassed regarding your comments, and I will follow-up with the Housekeeping Manager and Maintenance Team immediately.

If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-629-2101. Again, please accept my sincere apologies.

Sincerely,
Jeffrey A Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2014

If you want the most awesome, the friendliest concierge, in the US, you need to see Mary at this Best Western. She is soooo great. My trip wouldn't have been as nice had I not had her to help us. The hotel is on the main road, so request a room in the back and maybe the noise of the street will be better. The breakfast is fabulous and the rooms are updated and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Arlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! We appreciate your kind words and appreciate your business! Have a wonderful day!

Thanks,
Jeffrey Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel was a great location, walkable to terrific restaurants, the historic district, the river and boardwalk and all that glorious Savannah has to offer. The beds were comfortable; we ordered a king, but got two queens, however. It's a clean spot, with very helpful staff.

Room Tip: We stayed on the north side of the building which was very quiet and our vehicle was nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WideWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
I am so excited to hear you enjoyed your visit in Savannah and your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District as well! We look forward to your return!

Thanks again,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The staff was very courteous, room was clean, hotel grounds were clean, this was a perfect hotel to stay in. The computer wasn't working in the hotel lobby, but Guest Services was more than willing to print something up for me. Breakfast was very good also.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel but very disappointed to hear about your negative experience with the lobby computers. I will speak with the IT Company immediatley to get that resolved. Thank you and have a great day!

Sincerely,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yamacraw Village
Holiday Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Historic District

Property: Best Western Savannah Historic District
Address: 412 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Savannah Historic District is an inviting hotel with superior amenities, and genuine southern hospitality. Enjoy Savannah's unique southern charm with a generous slice of the local culture. Our fantastic location with close proximity to River Street, City Market, local museums, and historic sites is why many guests choose to stay at this hotel. Limited on-site assigned parking is available for a fee of $20 per day, which is a competitive price for the Historic District. If you're looking to explore the many tours, restaurants and boutiques that welcome Savannah's four-legged visitors then look no further this is a pet friendly hotel accepting "Dogs Only" based on the availability of dog friendly rooms. Each dog friendly room is allowed up to 2 dogs per room with an 80 pound weight limit for an additional $20 per day with a $100 maximum weekly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing