We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this was a bad place to be...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Ranked #50 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“this was a bad place to be...”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

booked a four day stay here last month (Jan 2014)...have stayed here once before. Very disappointed. The room was old and the bed was very uncomfortable. The door to the room had issues closing properly. The biggest problem was the traffic noise from Bay Street. Loud tractor trailers, noisy motorcycles, sirens from police cars and ambulances, and pedestrians walking by yelling, all hours of the night. The food at breakfast time was edible but you had to elbow your way up to it to get some.

We ended up leaving a day early....

Room Tip: if you have to stay here...try to get a room on the river side of the hotel away from the street. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will I Am R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I was very disappointed to read your review and hear you did not enjoy your stay. I wanted to personally apologize for the issue with your room door, and to let you know I will certainly follow-up on all of the the other issue's you mentioned as well as apologize for the noisy streets that interfered with your stay in Savannah.

Thank you again for your comments and if you are returning to the Savannah area, I would love for you to call me (912) 629-2101. I will be happy to offer you a discount on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fouste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    458
    282
    121
    83
See reviews for
320
546
58
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I went for a 5 night road trip to the Smoky Mountains. We planned for an overnight stay in Savannah on our way home and booked the Best Western due to its price point and proximity to the River Street area. This couldn't have been a more wonderful end to a great weekend. This place was amazing...much better than expected. They were working on renovations, and our room must have been one of the recently renovated ones. You can definitely tell that this owner takes pride in his establishment, and wants his customers to be happy. We didn't take advantage of the free breakfast because we had plans to eat at Huey's on River Street. Although, I did venture to get coffee while we were getting ready. From what I saw, the free breakfast looked on the upper end of what you will find at most hotels. All in all, this was a great place, with a great location. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
I am thrilled you chose the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer such as our great location, and awesome service!

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable feedback with others!

I hope when you return to Savannah you become one of the many BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District fans and a repeat guest! I am glad you enjoyed everything!

Thank you,
Jeffrey A Fouste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medinah
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Friendly staff and the concierge was fabulous help in steering us on our visit of the historic district. This is an older property which has had the rooms updated. It is right on Bay Street and if you are on that side of the building you will hear traffic all night. They actually have "white noise" machines in the rooms for your use. Overall it provided a place to stay but nothing fancy. It is right at the edge of the historic district and therefore is within walking distance of all the attractions.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing Bay Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel but very disappointed to hear about your negative experience with the noise in your room. If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-629-2101. I sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations.

Thank you,
Jeffrey Fouste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel is undergoing a renovation so some work is being done in the hotel. The rooms are ok and the bathrooms look like they were recently remodeled. The hotel is just off the street and there is traffic noise but they do have white noise machines in the rooms to use if you so desire. Breakfast was good and above average. The concierge in the hotel was excellent as she gave us wonderful tips and ideas on what to do, what to see and where to eat. If you go there make sure you talk to the concierge! The location to the historic district and the city market was perfect.

Room Tip: Maybe a room facing the back would be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Good News! I am happy to annouce that the new flooring has been installed in 75% of the guest rooms with the final completion expected prior to March 1st. In addition our lobby renovations are fast approaching completion and with any luck will be completed around the same time as the new guestroom flooring.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! We appreciate your kind words and appreciate your business! Have a wonderful day!

Thank you,
Jeffrey A Fouste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Best Western was located in the perfect location to get to all the important sites. The cocierge in the lobby (Mary) was very helpful getting us to the best places to visit before we left. The rooms were very clean & confortable. We will return soon!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Edward O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are so excited you all enjoyed your stay in Savannah and the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District as well! We look forward to your return!

Thanks again,
Jeffrey A Fouste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were looking for a pet friendly hotel in the Historic District. BW was great! Nice room and parking ($15) Of course it was extra for the dog and there were some additional fees that got us up to almost $200 but it was worth it. Location was great, so we got to walk River St. and take the dog to dinner with us at Annie's Pizza in an open air shopping and bar area. Husband fell in love with Wet Willie's and we were able to walk with our slushy cocktails. Very nice. It was hard to get the internet to boot up but we've been finding that's pretty standard. And breakfast was GREAT!!

Room Tip: Dog friendly rooms were only available with two double beds. Can't imagine why.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! We are so happy you enjoyed your trip to Savannah! We hope to see you again in the near future!

Thanks,
Jeff Fouste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Called for reservation from a few blocks away. Booked 2 rooms with no problem, Pleasently surprised with facility. Located in the historic district near what we wanred to see. Parking convenient. Breakfast very above average.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Holiday Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Historic District

Property: Best Western Savannah Historic District
Address: 412 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1115 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Savannah Historic District is an inviting hotel with superior amenities, and genuine southern hospitality. Enjoy Savannah's unique southern charm with a generous slice of the local culture. Our fantastic location with close proximity to River Street, City Market, local museums, and historic sites is why many guests choose to stay at this hotel. Limited on-site assigned parking is available for a fee of $20 per day, which is a competitive price for the Historic District. If you're looking to explore the many tours, restaurants and boutiques that welcome Savannah's four-legged visitors then look no further this is a pet friendly hotel accepting "Dogs Only" based on the availability of dog friendly rooms. Each dog friendly room is allowed up to 2 dogs per room with an 80 pound weight limit for an additional $20 per day with a $100 maximum weekly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing