We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location/Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Ranked #51 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winter Haven, FL, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location/Great Service”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We wanted a quick getaway to Savannah, and a deal for this hotel on Travelzoo. It was a great location, within walking distance of Factor's Walk, City Market, downtown/historic district and lots of restaurants. The staff was excellent and very helpful with recommendations and inforamation on things to do in the area. The location (on Bay Street) was noisy, with a lot of traffic, but that was a small price to pay for the convenience. The rooms were adequate and comfortable, though the decor was somewhat dated. Parking is an additional $15/day. Overall, a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    466
    285
    122
    85
See reviews for
326
555
59
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pooler, Georgia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We spent 2 nights here for Christmas 2013 to be near family. This BW has really nice updated furnishings and beds. The room had a microwave and frig. The location is great and within an easy 2 block walk to both River Street and The Market area that both have restaurants and shops. The $12 a day parking fee is a bargain because parking in downtown Savannah comes at a premium if you can find a space. The breakfast was really good with a large variety to choose from both hot and cold breakfast foods. A tour guide is on location to book any city tours you want and recommended. This hotel is located on a busy downtown corner so traffic noise could be a problem unless you get a room on the back side of the building. The funniest thing was the giant mirror in the bathroom in front of the toilet, but you can multi-task - comb your hair while taking care of other business.

Room Tip: For light sleepers - get a room on the back side. If you can get a 3rd floor room on the back side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great location. Good internet access, and good breakfast. All in all an excellent value. I appreciated that they had a white noise machine in the room (though I did not have a problem with noise). My one quibble was that parking was a little tight.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chava Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, NY, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Our stay at the Best Western Plus in Historic District, Savannah was a very enjoyable experience. The staff was very helpful in arranging our stay with our dog and in guiding us around the city. The breakfast bar had a wide variety of healthy food and there was access to coffee or hot tea 24/7. Also, off-street parking was available. We plan to stop again on our way south next year. A beautiful and historic city!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Beware: In addition to the charge for the room, they charge a daily parking fee to park in their lot! I guess we were supposed to be dropped in by helicopter. No one said a word to us during check in about paying extra to park at the hotel.

On top of that, the walls were paper thin and we heard clearly the people in rooms on either side of us. They were also out of items at 8:00 am on the continental breakfast. The bathroom had not been fully cleaned; there were tissues under the bathroom vanity.

It's a great location, too bad they can't be honest about what the actual charge will be to stay there. We will not go back.

Room Tip: Best advice we can give is to stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scstar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for contacting Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay.

I am embarrassed by the lack of information you received at check-in, and I will speak with the Front Office Manager immediately. We audit our own website as well as our partner’s websites regularly to ensure guests are made aware of all fees charged by this hotel. In addition, at the time of arrival we provide each guest a letter explaining the benefits and fees of the hotel as well as information regarding noise that is out of the hotel's control. Information regarding the parking fee is posted on signs at the front desk and also highlighted on the registration card presented for your signature at arrival. Again, I am very sorry if the staff here at the hotel did not provide you with any of the above mentioned documentation when you arrived which would've outlined all fess and helped to clarify expectations.

It is our goal to provide the highest level of customer satisfaction. We rely on our guests to let us know when we have fallen short. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps to remedy the situation.

If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-233-1011. Again, please accept my sincere apologies.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fouste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We loved the location of this hotel. It is literally steps away from River Street and a block away from the historical district. With all the restuarants and areas of leisure, we had no problem keeping ourselves busy. We will definitely be staying at this Best Western with our next trip!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I chose this hotel last minute. It was a very good price for the location. We were very close to everything, within walking distance. Both woman that worked at the front desk were so friendly, courteous, kind, professional, and very knowledgeable. They both told us a lot of information about the area, where to go, etc. Miss Mary (The Concierge) was the best! She gave us loads of information about the area! She also was a very nice person to talk to. It was like talking with a friend you haven't seen in awhile. We absolutely enjoyed our stay and especially spending time with Miss Mary! Thank you to all of you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbJ49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Holiday Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Historic District

Property: Best Western Savannah Historic District
Address: 412 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Savannah Historic District is an inviting hotel with superior amenities, and genuine southern hospitality. Enjoy Savannah's unique southern charm with a generous slice of the local culture. Our fantastic location with close proximity to River Street, City Market, local museums, and historic sites is why many guests choose to stay at this hotel. Limited on-site assigned parking is available for a fee of $20 per day, which is a competitive price for the Historic District. If you're looking to explore the many tours, restaurants and boutiques that welcome Savannah's four-legged visitors then look no further this is a pet friendly hotel accepting "Dogs Only" based on the availability of dog friendly rooms. Each dog friendly room is allowed up to 2 dogs per room with an 80 pound weight limit for an additional $20 per day with a $100 maximum weekly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing