We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Nearby Hotels
$175
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Central Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$215
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
River Street Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
$199
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$141
$132
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The DeSoto(Savannah)
$199
$155
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$314
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,554)
Filter reviews
1,554 results
Traveler rating
413
528
344
155
114
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
528
344
155
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationhistoric districtriver streetcity marketwithin walking distancestreet noisebay stcontinental breakfastthe room was niceyogurtfront desk staffbeds were comfortablewalked everywherethe breakfast areavisiting savannahbwpet
Filter
Updating list...
1,168 - 1,173 of 1,554 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Dog friendly and great location led me to choose this hotel. The staff was nice, the room was nice and VERY convenient, and the quick breakfast in the morn was more than adequate. The trolley makes a stop in their parking lot and a concierge will set you up for a tour. She also had some great maps. And the price was VERY reasonable. All these pluses more than made up for the 'not the most comfortable bed and a few barking dogs during the nite mostly because of the loud noise of doors closing. The loud door closing(s) have been an irritant at just about every hotel I've ever stayed in. > In fact I've thought of suggesting to another "chain" that they post instructions on how to be aware and close the door without making a huge noise especially in partying locales where people return late at nite/early morn and in business locales where people leave at 5 am.<

For a short overnight trip this place was great and because my stay was so short I couldn't comment on whatever other ammenities they offer..... I believe there was an indoor pool somewhere but I never had time to even look at it let alone use it. The back rooms definately have an urban feel which I did not mind since there was a security patrol on duty.

Nothing fancy but everything was nicely adequate and convenient and the price was right. I would definately stay here again for a nite or two.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsChi-V-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! We appreciate your kind words and appreciate your business! Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to Savannah for conferences twice a year for the last 15 years, and stayed in most of the Bay Street hotels. The Best Western has been my hotel of choice since it was renovated a few years ago. The staff is super-nice, the rooms are clean, and the continental breakfast is great. It is also in a perfect location if you are going to be going over the bridge to the convention center frequently. And of course, River Street is just right there. The beds are comfy, and the bathrooms spacious. The workout room and pool were nice additions from the Reno.

All of that is the good stuff. What this place has working against it are things no amount of Reno or management can fix. It has exterior corridors. Since River Street and all the bars ARE right there, you want to stay on the Bay Street side of the hotel on the 2nd or 3rd floor to cut down on the noise at 2 AM when the bars close. It is older construction, with thinner walls. You WILL get noise from outside your room. This trip, we stayed in 326, evidently next to a mechanical room. It sounded as if we were on a cruise ship right next to the engine room. They had provided a white noise machine, and it didn't keep us from sleeping.

Long story short- if you go to Savannah often, this one is by far your best bet, and a great value. However, if you are going for your one and only trip to Savannah, spend another $100, and stay in one of the higher end hotels, especially if you are a light sleeper!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyousjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Music to my ears! We love Repeat Guests! Thank you for taking the time to share on Trip Advisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We checked in and were prepared for the traffic noise after reading past reviews. However we were not prepared for the fact that we could literally hear the people in the room above us using the bathroom at night, and we could make out the conversation in the room next to ours. Also we spent the first two nights in a room with some type of sewer gas/smell leaking into the room from the shower drain (this appeared to be something the hotel was aware of, as when we checked in the shower plug was in the drain). The beds were also incredibly hard. This being said the place did look nicely remodeled, and the rooms were clean. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and personable. The concierge Mary was a sweetheart and very helpful as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

At the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District it is always our goal to exceed the expectations of all of our guests. We regret that the author of this review had a bad experience. We pride ourselves in providing outstanding service and accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was a fairly typical Best Western, which is a chain I generally like. Room was not immaculate but clean enough; service was friendly and helpful. Ample parking was nice. Great location, although it is on the edge of the nice downtown area, and if you walk the wrong way you may find yourself in some pretty bad neighborhoods. The biggest con was the noise; with the courtyard style building, there is nothing but a thin door between you and thousands of cars driving throughout the night on Savannah's main drag, complete with trucks, horns, yelling, etc. If you don't mind noise, go for it, but the noise bumped it down from 4 to 3 for me.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishernaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

At the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District it is always our goal to exceed the expectations of all of our guests. We regret that the author of this review had a bad experience in regards to the noise issue. We pride ourselves in providing outstanding service and accommodations.

Cody Rentschler
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews