We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Savannah Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Ranked #56 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 24, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MELINDA N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,132 - 1,138 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was a fairly typical Best Western, which is a chain I generally like. Room was not immaculate but clean enough; service was friendly and helpful. Ample parking was nice. Great location, although it is on the edge of the nice downtown area, and if you walk the wrong way you may find yourself in some pretty bad neighborhoods. The biggest con was the noise; with the courtyard style building, there is nothing but a thin door between you and thousands of cars driving throughout the night on Savannah's main drag, complete with trucks, horns, yelling, etc. If you don't mind noise, go for it, but the noise bumped it down from 4 to 3 for me.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishernaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

At the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District it is always our goal to exceed the expectations of all of our guests. We regret that the author of this review had a bad experience in regards to the noise issue. We pride ourselves in providing outstanding service and accommodations.

Cody Rentschler
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great place to stay! Located close to everything! The Hotel is on west side of the historic district and there are 2 trolley stops across the street. The rooms facing Bay street are a little loud but the have a "sleep-mate" in the rooms that make "white noise" and that tunes out any noise!
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful!!
Mary, the concierge, is amazing!! She had soooooo many tips and she booked everything for us!!
We will definitely be back when we go to Savannah!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We are so excited you all enjoyed your stay in Savannah and the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District as well! We look forward to your return!

Cody Rentschler
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for 8 days over the Winter Holidays and thoroughly enjoyed being right in the historical District with easy access to River Street and the New Year's Eve Celebration in Market Square. The breakfast included everything to get us off to a great start, including BW's waffle offering. It was a treat to have hot chocolate, coffee, and tea available 24/7, since it does get chilly in Savannah. We made frequent use of the computer/printer in the lobby to access maps and driving instructions to some of the sites. On an extended stay, we were able to get to know the housekeeper and she actually left us a note at the end of our stay with wishes for safe travels! We wished of course, that the large parking lot had been free,(would have earned that 5th dot) but $10 per day turned out to be reasonable in that neighborhood and it was illuminated and "secure" (Altho hotel next door offered free parking in addition to breakfast and internet.) The internet connection at the BW+ was reliable, desk staff and concierge very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend or stay there again. We heard city sounds and music from outside, but accepted that as appropriate for the location

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We are delighted you made the decision to stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! Thank you for the wonderful compliments and we look forward to your return!

Cody Rentschler
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I think the title pretty much says it all. The price was very affordable for this area of Savannah. Great price. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. Great bed! The complimentary breakfast was decent as well. The location was excellent, and a short walk from River Street and all its wonderful offerings. However....be advised of a considerable amount of noise coming from the very busy street. Trucks, buses, cars, motorcycles....all modes of transport, and all night long. Too bad. This would have been a five otherwise. Xavier at the front desk was very professional and courteous during check in. Kudos to him. Savannah...what a great town!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCosmicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! We appreciate your kind words and appreciate your business! We are sorry to hear about the noise issue. Have a wonderful day!

COdy Rentschler
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

For the price, the rooms are decent. The beds are very small with lots of pillows. The bathrooms are nicely renovated and spacious. The refrigerator is in the bathroom which is really strange. I could not find a safe anywhere in our room. This hotel is very convenient to the river walk and city market. However, at night it is unbelievably noisy, worse than you could ever imagine. You hear people, loud cars, bass and music. I couldn't fall asleep for hours. There is a $10 charge for parking.
I had never been to savannah and I was completely unaware that is was such a party town, there are tons of college kids and with the open container laws it can be a little rowdy at night. I would
Steer clear of river walk after dark.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidney7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

I apologize for the less than pleasant stay. The safe is located at the front desk for which you are given a key for, I am sorry no one had informed you about that. While in your room, I hope you had a chance to try out our white noise machine which blocks out the outside noise; we have received positive feedback about htem. We strive to provide our guest the highest quality of customer care, I am sorry you feel we did not. Thank you for your feedback.

Cody Rentschler
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

You will not see the river from your room. Good free. Breakfast, the lady at the cafe is very helpful. Cost you $10.00/day for parking while Quality Inn next door give it for free and even advertise about it on their board. The person who checked us in was not very friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thanh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

The BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District would like to take the time to apologize to the author of this review. While we never list that we are located on the river, we are a very short walk from it. The parking charge is something that is posted on every website of ours and helps pay for the security that walks the property at night to ensure your safety. We strive to provide the highest quality of customer care to all of our guests. I am sorry if we fell short.

Cody Rentschler
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Best Western Central Inn
#36 of 116 in Savannah
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Historic District

Address: 412 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1115 (Formerly Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $128 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Savannah Historic District is an inviting hotel with superior amenities, and genuine southern hospitality. Enjoy Savannah's unique southern charm with a generous slice of the local culture. Our fantastic location with close proximity to River Street, City Market, local museums, and historic sites is why many guests choose to stay at this hotel. Limited on-site assigned parking is available for a fee of $20 per day, which is a competitive price for the Historic District. If you're looking to explore the many tours, restaurants and boutiques that welcome Savannah's four-legged visitors then look no further this is a pet friendly hotel accepting "Dogs Only" based on the availability of dog friendly rooms. Each dog friendly room is allowed up to 2 dogs per room with an 80 pound weight limit for an additional $20 per day with a $100 maximum weekly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing