We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, standard hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Ranked #54 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Room: something in between a hotel and a motel room. It was clean and had a nice bathroom, though. The A/C worked fine, but the linens felt slightly damp.

Breakfast: included buffet breakfast. Nothing outstanding. It was very crowded around 9AM

Location: great location, walking distance to riverfront,Historic District, restaurants, bars...

Pool: small pool with too much chlorine, but still nice in Savannah's heat

OK value, just not good enough to give it 4 stars, but still OK.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jutrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable feedback with others! Thank you and enjoy your day! We hope you visit us again in the near future!

Sincerely
Jeffrey A Fouste
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,142 - 1,148 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Rooms are attractive. Bathroom is quite large. Breakfast--same old same old! Extra cost for parking, and late check out. Their website says rooms have refrigerators. My room did not! I was in one room where the a/c did not work. A very nice maintenance man worked on it twice, but eventually I had to change rooms. Good location in historic district.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review. I am dissapointed to read that there was not a refrigerator in teh room, and that we could not resolve the air conditioner issue. If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-629-2101. I sincerely apologize.

Thank you,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I recently spent a night at this hotel with my 17-year old son and small dog en route to Florida. Traveling with a pet limits hotel options but I feel fortunate we found this place. It's a pretty basic "motel style" property with exterior corridors but the front desk staff was very pleasant and accommodating, the interior of the rooms was tasteful and well appointed, the pool area was terrific, and the location was really perfect for showing my son Savannah for the first time. Parking was free. They have a concierge in the lobby during the day to assist with trolley tours, etc. The noise is definitely a problem but our room came with one of those sound machines which helped to drown out the noise from the street. I would stay again.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue for you, ask for a room on the back side of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJtravelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

A good value is the key to enjoying your vacation! I am thrilled you chose the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer including our free concierge services, complimentary breakfast, and a great "pet friendly" location! I'm excited to inform you that all rooms are now equipped with the sound machines you described! We hope to see you again in the near future!

Thanks,
Jeffrey A Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is not the hotel to stay at if you like to sleep at night. Stayed over the weekend, the hotel is located between two party zones (City Market and River Street) There are drunks going from one zone to the other on street next to hotel all night. Saturday night the bar behind the hotel had a band outside playing heavy metal music that was so loud you couldn't hear anything. Then there was a fight at 2:30 in the morning. Between all the drunks whooping and yelling and the traffic out front we didn't get much sleep. I guess we should of known when they put noise machines in the room there is a problem. We've stayed at other hotels in the historic district and didn't have any problems. This hotel must not have any kind of soundproofing at all. Other than that the room was small and dated, carpet looked worn and dirty. Next time we're in Savannah we will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoPawsUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

At the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District it is always our goal to exceed the expectations of all of our guests. We regret that the author of this review had a bad experience. We pride ourselves in providing outstanding service and accommodations.

Sincerely,
Jeffrey A Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We showed up in downtown Savannah with no booking on a Friday night while on a road trip. We walked around a few hotels and found this place to be the cheapest. Parking was free and the staff were friendly. Breakfast is basic and room is basic. If you want reasonably priced but central and not phased on the 'atmosphere' of where you stay then this should do the job.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank biggiesalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! We appreciate your kind words and appreciate your business! Have a wonderful day!

Thanks again,
Jeffrey A Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

100% non-smoking hotel, new gym, nice pool, elevator. Parking in front & back (next to gym)

We spent (my hubby & I) Sunday, Monday & Tuesday here at the Best Western Plus on Bay street here in Savannah, GA! He booked our stay with Travelzoo & got a great deal! We arrived a little after 3pm. My FIRST impression was "Oh boy, property looks OK, but, I hope the rooms aren't mediocre, sigh..."

As we unpacked the car, I took a closer look; clean...well-marked parking lot, clean hallways, no trash. While waiting for the elevator, I looked at the uniformed & busy staff helping customers...modern decor in the check-in counters, internet cafe, and breakfast/ dining area…hmm, nice.

Finally arrive to our room. As soon as we opened the hotel door...what a breath of fresh air! Modern decor all the way around; flat screen TV, mini coffee maker, bed covers were updated & I like the pillows "stack" style on the bed. The bathroom is well...gorgeous & new everything! The view from our room faced the back of a building, but that's ok, because you can still see the bridge & a good part of Savannah River. Overall, the area was CLEAN.

The workers in and around were very nice, always busy & professionally uniformed.

I told the staff at the reservation desk, I know that Best Western wants to stick with the "yellow & Green theme" (YUCK) however, this hotel color is ULTRA-DRAB and doesn't do the hotel justice.

Message to BEST WESTERN CEO's: a bit of modern colored paint & trim job could make a great difference. At least compliment the building with the sharp maroon & black uniforms your staff wears. Just sayin...

Room Tip: I heard some reviews say it was noisy. The hotel rooms face outside towards the hustle & bustle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank i-luv-ocho-rios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

We are delighted you made the decision to stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! Thank you for the wonderful compliments and we look forward to your return!

Thanks,
Jeff Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We decided to pay a little more for a goo location and it's worth it for this hotel. It was still under $100 and had lots of amenities including a big bathroom and comfy bed. Our room was in the back of the hotel so the view wasnt great but the room itself was really nice and we could walk to anywhere downtown. The hotel is a very short walk to market square and the riverwalk. The staff was very friendly and the pool was nice. We chose to go out for breakfast but I would assume the continental breakfast would have been nice considering the large eating area and nice set up. My only complaint was the we had to pay $10 to park at the hotel which seemed like a bit of a rip of considering we were guests at the hotel and the lot behind the hotel seemed a little shady. Also, when the bathroom mirror fogged up from showering it said "get out- redrum" which was funny yet creepy and assumingly from the previous guests but If you have little kids be warned!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rowleyisaband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I appreciate your feedback, and I would like to apologize for the incident with the mirror. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps to remedy the situation. Thank you and have a great day!

Sincerley,
Jeffrey Fouste
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Historic District

Address: 412 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1115 (Formerly Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $105 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Savannah Historic District is an inviting hotel with superior amenities, and genuine southern hospitality. Enjoy Savannah's unique southern charm with a generous slice of the local culture. Our fantastic location with close proximity to River Street, City Market, local museums, and historic sites is why many guests choose to stay at this hotel. Limited on-site assigned parking is available for a fee of $20 per day, which is a competitive price for the Historic District. If you're looking to explore the many tours, restaurants and boutiques that welcome Savannah's four-legged visitors then look no further this is a pet friendly hotel accepting "Dogs Only" based on the availability of dog friendly rooms. Each dog friendly room is allowed up to 2 dogs per room with an 80 pound weight limit for an additional $20 per day with a $100 maximum weekly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing