We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tour With Chad and a Fun Way to Spend the Evening!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tara Haunted Tours

Tara Haunted Tours
Ranked #45 of 141 Tours in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Add a little "fright" to your night.......The Boos and Brews Ghost Tour. This haunted tour is definately for the vacationing Adult! Take a leisurely scary stroll through the heart of Savannah's Haunted Historic District. Walk around with your favorite adult beverage in hand, hear terrifying ghost stories, and actually go into old creepy buildings (Moon River Brewing Company and 17Hundred90 Inn) to experience these paranormal pub stories for yourself!
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Tour With Chad and a Fun Way to Spend the Evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I were recently able to take the Boos and Brews tour with Chad while visiting Savannah. The tour was excellent and we really had a blast!! Great combo of stopping for a few drinks (which is purely optional - but why not try some of the tavern specialities while you are out?) with a very fun and informative tour about Savannah's ghostly, paranormal side. Chad is a great guy - very personable and shared some great information. We stopped at four bars total (McDonoughs, 1790, Zunzi and Moon River Brewery)- a really great eclectic mix to get a neat vibe of the city while getting a great ghost tour. The culmination of the tour had us stopping at Moon River Brewery - I won't drag out the details here, but it is one of the most haunted spots in the city. We were actually able to go in and visit the basement (which I am told sometimes doesn't happen due to rented events - so we were lucky) as well as the upstairs area. All I can tell you is that many of us on the tour we able to capture orbs and had some interesting experiences. Chad does a great job of telling you where to take photos, how to take them to get the best shots/possibility for something on camera, etc. We took a number of tours while in town and this was awesome. The timing was well-paced and Chad did an excellent job of managing a large group of folks. Thanks for a great time!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lmwendli347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gablondewv, Owner at Tara Haunted Tours, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your heartfelt review. We are so glad you had such a blast on tour. It always makes me tremenously happy when a reviewer takes the time to post a review and mention that even though they took several tours while in Savannah, ours was the one they enjoyed the most.

I'm glad you were able to also get some unique pictures while on tour. It just seems Moon River never disappoints tour ghosts enthusiasts.

Thanks again,
Tara & Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    45
    21
    10
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Heart pounding history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Even the most sceptical may be a little wary after this fascinating, ghostly tour in the historical district of Savannah. Chad walked us through some of the most unusual pub locations, and past many of the haunted houses and of course, the cemetary. His knowledge of the area and stories of past experiences on the tour made this memorable and a little hair raising. The last stop, the upper floor of the Moon River Brewing Co. has to be the most creepy. One person thought she saw something, and I heard a whisper when no one was next to me!! Don't believe it? Try it - I recommend this one.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CDRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gablondewv, Owner at Tara Haunted Tours, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
I loved your review " Heart pounding history".

What we do on our tours in unlike no other tour in Savannah. We combine ghost stories, dark history ( customs and burials from early Savannah) and a small portion of history to help you get familiar with Savannah and achieve a true sense of how and why paranormal activity is so prominent in my hometown. It's very special for me when a reviewer picks up on that. It means we're doing our job right, and people are really having a great time.

Thanks again,
Tara & Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Chad rocked!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a fun time, chad is well spoken & did a great job! We had a lot of rowdy people in our crowd, but chad remained calm, cool & collected and did a great job!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoBeechbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gablondewv, Owner at Tara Haunted Tours, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks for the review. I think Chad rocks his tours too!
He told me there was a birthday celebration going on with the tour that night. I'm glad everyone had a good time. Chad is extremely professional, and definately knows how to handle a crowd.
-Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We did the Boos & Brews tour on 9/16. Jackie was our tour guide. She was very knowledgeable and fun. Loved hearing her personal experiences. We met at McDonough's, walked to a cemetery, 17hundred90 inn, and Moon River Brewing Co. I wish we would have stopped at more places but you can only do so much with a group of people, some older who walked slower. Every stop was very fascinating. We love how you can walk around with a drink. We can't do that at home. After the tour was over, we were headed back to McDonough's (we parked there) and so was Jackie so she let us walk with her. Which was very nice since we have never been to Savannah before. Wonderful tour. Must do :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gablondewv, Owner at Tara Haunted Tours, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. Jackie is a very considerate lady, and takes very good care of her tour guests. Walking you back to the start location is just something she does.
We do try to pack as much as we can in 2 hrs. It really goes by fast when you're having a lot of fun.
-Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time on this tour. Chad was our guide. He was very informative and interesting. The stops on the tour were timed perfectly. Would do it again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank shmoogator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gablondewv, Owner at Tara Haunted Tours, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed the tour. It means so much to us that you took the time to post a review.
-Tara & Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tara Haunted Tours also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tara Haunted Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing