We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay in Historical B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Ranked #1 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

When approaching the Kehoe house my first impression was WOW. The home was beautiful, contained period furniture which gave it an authentic feel. Location is perfect right in front of a square, perfect to enjoy an evening walk. However, what made my stay exceptional was the staff, friendly, accomadating and filled with that southern charm. The morning breakfasts were delicious. I would recommend the French Toast, out of this world delicious.

Room Tip: If you want some quiet time, I recommend going up to the attic with a glass of wine and book. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guadalupe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 857 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

I’m confused. Kehoe House is part of a group that calls itself Bed And Breakfast of Savannah, which includes the Marshall House – which by appearances is anything but a bed and breakfast. I found Kehoe House searching for a Bed and Breakfast, yet Kehoe House presents as a “Hotel” on Tripadvisor. Which is it? Hotel? B&B? Inn?

I think I’ll go with calling it an Inn. While it has many characteristics of a B&B, including a very good breakfast, it lacks the warmth and welcome of a more typical B&B.

The room was quite comfortable, with a bit of an odd mix of beautiful antique furniture, and 60’s era retro fitted plumbing. There was a fair amount of street noise intrusion, as a result of the old single pane windows. I believe that this has something to do with local Savannah by laws that prohibit any sort of exterior renovations to historic buildings. Not a big deal. One wonders thought, how Joe Namath managed to install an elevator in an external brick shaft when he owned that building. (That's another story).

Location is excellent – not more than a 10 or 15 minute walk from anywhere in the historic district, and thankfully a few blocks removed from the noisy and busy tourist areas of the riverfront and the City Market.

The inn offers a 5pm wine and hors d’oeuvres in the very inviting and beautifully furnished parlor. In our experience, this is a great opportunity to get to know other guests and share ideas for dining and the next day's activities. Sadly, it was poorly attended, so we took our wine outside to the very nice verandah facing President Street, and waved at the trolley and horse & buggy tours going by.

The staff was very nice and accommodating. But the lack of any visible ownership presence left just a bit of an empty feeling. One gets the impression that this and the other properties in the group are owned by a group of investors, who hire managers to run their properties. Not that this is a bad thing, and I could be completely wrong, but the lack of personal owner attention is what left us feeling just a bit incomplete as far as an a small inn or B&B experience is concerned.

Nice property, well located, excellent staff, excellent breakfast. Just missing that certain intangible that we associate and have come to expect with a true B&B, or even a small privately run inn.

Maybe that's why its listed as a "hotel" on TA.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed for two nights at this beautiful bed and breakfast in the hear of Savannah's historic district. If you have never been to Savannah, make sure you put it on our your list. It has to be one of the most beautifully preserved historic districts in the United States.

The Kehoe House is an architectural treasure. The house has 13 magnificent rooms. When you arrive you are greeted by the most amazing group of dedicated professionals. There is a convenient loading zone right in front of the hotel. You can pull your car up there, the staff unloads your luggage and takes you to registration. You register sitting down in front of a wonderful host named Phil. He was extremely helpful, as if he were welcoming an old friend to his own home. He invites you to relax for a bit before going back to your car to take it to the parking lot. The private parking lot is around the corner on a well-lit street. The $12 per day charge was very reasonable and parking was ample.

When you enter your room you have taken a spiritual step back in time. With beautiful furnishings, modern amenities like great Wi-Fi and air conditioning, we had a wonderful and comfortable room.

The next morning we met Christopher, the day time guest services employee. He is a gem. He asked us if we' d like to sit on the verandah for breakfast since it was a gorgeous day. We of course said yes. That evening we received a personal note from him asking us if we'd like the verandah again the next day. This attention to detail was awesome.

The food was amazing. Chef Terre could easily work for the finest restaurants in Savannah. They actually give you a menu the night before with two choices for breakfast. I ate the crepes and my husband ate the crab cakes. Terre serves the breakfast herself and her smile and southern charming personality were delightful.

This is by far one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in. They were very welcoming of us as a gay couple and that meant a lot to us. We plan on coming back next year for a whole week to experience the beauty of Savannah and to be spoiled rotten again by Terre, Christopher and Phil.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor, "deluxe" have private balconies and king size beds. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingTheWorld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I just spent three nights at the Kehoe House, and enjoyed every minute. The staff, especially Christopher, Bridget, Richard and Albert were friendly and attentive to our every need. The made to order breakfasts were fantastic. Christopher was very helpful with suggestions for tours and restaurants, and made us feel so comfortable and welcome it felt like we were staying with friends. The house itself is gorgeous, and staying in an old mansion was exactly what I had in mind on our first trip to Savannah. It was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westbo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had the opportunity to stay at the Kehoe house- what a great experience. I love old homes and this one was built earlier than my underground railroad house. I know how expensive it is to maintain a great house like this and they have done a nice job of keeping it up. Our room was great but what really made the stay pleasant was the staff. From our welcoming to our departure, they could not do enough for us. They made dinner suggestions and reservations and even provided me coffee very early in the morning when everyone else was in deep sleep.
Of course Bed and Breakfasts are know for their breakfasts and the Kehoe House kept up that tradition. I should have taken a picture because both our breakfasts were great looking and really tested our taste buds!
The location is right in the heart of Savannah. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. There is no doubt that when we come back to Savannah, we will be enjoying the Kehoe House again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Kehoe House for two nights in early May. When we arrived, we were instantly delighted with our choice. Christopher the day Manager was inviting and helpful. The house is beautiful, the location is perfect. Christopher made reservations for a private carriage ride and dinner at the Pink House Restaurant. We were excited. Then two things changed our feelings for the worse. Not horrible, but just not right. The first thing that bothered us was the conduct of the evening Manager. A nice enough guy, but a non-stop talker. Each evening from 5-7 the House offers wine and h'oderves in the parlor, and both nights there he was, in the Parlor. If he was offering his insight into the things to do in the beautiful city of Savannah, it would be OK. But all he did was talk about him and his "many" girl friends. On and on and on. He was neither interesting nor funny yet he interjected his "stories" continuously, interupting guests, talking to guests. This should be an opportunity for the guests to meet each other or just relax alone, not listen to a bragart tell his uninteresting "tall tales" non-stop. This happened both nights. The other issue we had was the Turn Down service advertised. First night it was not done. Second night it consisted of 2 cookies on the bed in the dark, not turned down room when we returned from our evening out. I mentioned this to the evening manager who responded, "yea, I was running behind". Talk less, work more. I mentioned the disappointment with the Turn Down Service to Christopher at check out. His response was neither concerned nor genuine. The Kehoe House is a very nice property that can be amazing. The evening staff is having a very negative effect on this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Love Savannah and we truly enjoyed our stay at Kehoe House. Our room was very large and quiet. The TV was not working but once we notified management, they had someone there to fix it right away. Wine on the side deck was very nice and breakfast is excellent. We met very nice people who gave us great travelling tips. The front desk is very helpful and informative. They even made dinner reservations for us. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,341 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,854 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,130 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 114 in Savannah
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn

Address: 123 Habersham St, Savannah, GA 31401-3820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $197 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kehoe House is an beautifully restored 1892 Renaissance Revival mansion, located in the Savannah historic district. The Inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and features 13 original guest rooms. This inn's amenities include complimentary WiFi, cooked-to-order breakfast, and a wine and hors d oeuvres reception. Voted "Best of Savannah" multiple times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kehoe House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing