We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attractive B&B on Chippewa Square with excellent service"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foley House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foley House Inn
Ranked #7 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Attractive B&B on Chippewa Square with excellent service"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

This was our second stay at the Foley House and we enjoyed it even more than the first. The staff could not have been more helpful in finding the best restaurants and attractions in Savannah. It is on the beautiful (and quiet) Chippewa square and in close walking distance to all the other squares, attractions and great restaurants in this lovely city. We had an attractive, clean room in this historic house which was not overdecorated. The breakfast was delicious, well prepared and hot with many options. When we return to Savannah, we will definately stay at the Foley House.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate93426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    142
    56
    37
    10
See reviews for
73
680
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

Our trip couldn't be better! My husband and i stayed during the 4th of July and the staff was amazing. Our room was beautiful and the perfect romantic getaway... just what we needed. Breakfast was delicious. The location couldn't be beat! It was within walking distance to the river and around the corner from beautiful squares. We loved it! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jw597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

My husband and I needed a romantic, quiet, and luxurious place to stay for our 25th wedding anniversary. We found all of this and more at the Foley House. The staff went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful time, and honored us greatly with their kind words. The food was delicious and well prepared. The inn itself is filled with Southern charm and elegance. We greatly recomend this inn to anyone who wants to celbrate anything in their lives. Thank you to the staff of the Foley House for making our anniversary a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmagre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

My girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay at the Foley Inn. It is centrally located to all the historical sites as well as River Street. The rooms were great and the staff was very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. In the warmer months there is a nice patio to enjoy your breakfast or afternoon snack. This B&B was very accommodating for people with a big appetite as it serves breakfast and afternoon hors d'voures, and drinks which you don't find at a lot of places. I would definitely recommend the Foley Inn to anyone interested in a weekend in Savannah.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayes32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and found our room was not ready. The staff immediately comped us up to a nicer room - the room was perfect - a bay window overlooking Chipawa Square in Savannah's historic district. My wife loved the 2 fireplaces in our large room and the spacious living area. Tea/Coffee at 3-5 pm and wine/port at 5-7 pm in the parlor and dinning area every day The breakfast was very good and the menu varied each day - wait staff were attentive and not intruding. The staff made all of our reservations - on a moment's notice too! The restaurants recommended were excellent and worth the price. They arrange private buggy rides to tour the historic district and you are picked up at the front door of the Foley House. Parking was in front of the Foley House and we never had to use our car during our trip. With every event during our stay the staff assisted us to make our 4 days in Savannah a memorable one. We will return again next year.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EasilyAmused1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

Room was filthy with dust covered woodwork and furniture. One day the staff never took the dirty towels. The breakfast staff were pleasant. The breakfast menu was over enginneered. How about just french toast, just an omelette save the exotic items or offer them as an option. Outside gardens are ridden with green mold making it not an option to sit out there. The doors to the garden were left open to allow bugs to come in to the house. The pictures on the web site are beautiful but they don't reflect the experience. For the money it was a disappoinment.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 112010Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foleyinnowner, Owner at Foley House Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
I am sorry that this guest did not enjoy her stay. We try to make breakfast special everyday but if what we serve is not to your liking, please just tell us what you want. We can always make an omelet or eggs any style; it’s listed right on our daily menu. I have inspected this room with both our manager and assistant manager and was not able to confirm the cleaning issues that this guest describes. We are meticulous about our cleaning process and I have never witnessed any woodwork or furniture that is “dust covered” nor are our garden areas “ridden in green mold”. I would not stand for it and neither would our manager or our housekeeping supervisor. They both have a very high standard of cleanliness. People eat in our garden every day that the weather permits. We change toels that are left on the floor, when they are hung up we do not. If this guest did not get fresh towels that she desired I am sorry for that. When the weather outside is beautiful, we do leave the door facing the garden open. I have never seen any bugs in our inn. I am sorry that this guest received a bug bite during her stay.

Finally let me say that I take guest comments and complaints very seriously but what this guest has written is just not reflective of how we operate here. When there is a problem, we take action. I never want a guest to leave here unhappy. This guest made no complaints to us during her 2-night stay. I would have been happy to move her to a different room or fix anything not to her liking and make her a “less engineered” breakfast. We strive to make staying at the Foley House Inn a special experience for everyone. The photos on are websit are accurate and perfectly reflect what you will find when you stay here.

This is my personal guarantee to every guest: If you are unhappy with your accommodation when you walk through our door and if our staff does not impress you, then I will fix the problem to your satisfaction or you can check-out that day at no charge and we will help you find suitable accommodations. If you are not happy then we are not happy, period!

Grant Rogers
Owner, Foley House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

Had an opportunity to pass through Savannah on business and couldn't resist another night at the Foley House Inn. Just lovely. Enjoyed dinner at Paula Deen's (happy to be able to walk back--maybe a little too much wine with dinner).
What a great break from those chain hotels! The bath towels are so luxurious what girl doesn't love some Aveda product! Was delighted to find a new flat screen tv in that antique armoire. Breakfast was super, too. Great staff, great service!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephGeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley House Inn

Property: Foley House Inn
Address: 14 W Hull St, Savannah, GA 31401-3903
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic Foley House Inn bed and breakfast in Savannah, Georgia is made up of two lavishly renovated historic mansions facing the quiet and lovely Chippewa Square. This romantic Savannah Inn is distinguished both by location and historic prominence. This historic bed and breakfast mansion hotel is located in the exact center of your Savannah Georgia destination journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Foley House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foley House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing