We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in beautiful Savannah - perfect location”
Review of Foley House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foley House Inn
Ranked #8 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2009

The Foley Inn is a wonderful place to stay. The location is great....in the heart of the historic district, right off of Chippewa Square. It is less than a 10 minute walk to pretty much anywhere downtown. The staff is great, especially Jason, who is warm and very knowledgeable about Savannah....(great recommendations: a BBQ place right around the corner (Angel's) and not-to-miss ice cream at Leopold's). He also directed us to the lower priced trolley tour, and it was more than sufficient for our needs.
The Inn itself is lovely, and while it is somewhat pricey, the price seems to be in line with the other Inns around town. Savannah is not cheap for either hotels or restaurants. The public areas (lobby/breakfast area) were small but quite comfortable; we enjoyed hanging around downstairs before our day started or sitting there for a few minutes when we returned from our activities at the end of the day (with a glass of complimentary port wine, of course!).
We stayed in room 204 (Stafford)...great view of the Square from the balcony. The bed was comfortable, it had wireless internet and cable TV, and the bathroom was roomy and well appointed. The public spaces in the Inn were well maintained, but could probably use a little touch of updating (newer carpet,newer upholstery), but that is an extremely minor issue.
Breakfast (included) was good. Choice of two hot breakfasts or cereal, and excellent coffee. Not gourmet, but very good for a location without a full-service restaurant. You do need to select your time of breakfast the night before, as well as inside vs outside, but this planning helped us get out of bed on time so that we could start our day.

Parking is not really an issue....there is parking around the Inn on the street, and you pay $12 for a 48 hour permit to park anywhere in Savannah. We got a space right in front of the Inn, so we were a little lucky. There is a loading/unloading zone where you can unload your luggage. We wouldn't have minded parking farther away if we had to; we understood that we were staying at a place downtown w/ no parking lot. If we wanted a parking lot, we would have stayed at the Hyatt or Marriott.

Would stay here again next time we are in Savannah!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndyApril2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,105)
There are newer reviews for Foley House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

932 - 938 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2009

Everything about this B&B is superb. From the gracious welcome to the wonderful food. Rooms and bathrooms are quite large. All the staff is very accomodating. Everything is first class!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Okay...first the positive points. The Foley House Inn's main rooms are lovely - pleasant and historical ambiance, warm, and a step back in time. Jason is very friendly and welcoming, and the afternoon desserts were delicious and homemade. There is an evening cocktail hour which we missed, so I can't speak to that. The Inn's location is right near Chippawa Square, the site of the bench scenes from "Forrest Gump," and is in a lovely walking neighborhood. We had breakfast in the lovely gardens on the property - a very nice touch. Overall, the Foley House is a lovely experience. However. I must make mention of a few not-so-positive points. We stayed in the Beakman Room, which is located in the carriage house. The decor is fine - they did the best they could to make the room seem like you were staying in one of the rooms in the main house. But, as soon as we entered the room, my husband and I immediately noticed a somewhat musty, damp smell. We turned on the A/C and while it helped to minimize the smell, it was still there--faintly. I'd suggest that the staff have the A/C on prior to the guests arrival. Also, the carpeting--especially over near the entrance door--could use a shampooing. Last, when we went to retire for the night--around 11:30-midnight--I pulled back the covers, only to see a purplish stain about the size of a quarter on the top sheet. The stain was sticky, almost like someone had put down a piece of candy or lollipop. Now, this should have come out in the wash (I'm a mother of four and know about such things!!) but, at the very least, the person making up the bed definitely HAD to see it - I saw it immediately. I'm sure that staff would have come to change the sheets had I called them, but given the very late hour we returned from sightseeing and dinner, I did not want to call someone at that time. I would suggest management direct the staff to be more observant when cleaning rooms and making beds so to avoid something like this in the future. Finally, we have stayed at several Select Registry locations in several states, and I'm sorry to say that the breakfast at the Foley House Inn left a lot to be desired. It was just nothing special, something which we've become accustomed to having when staying at a Select Registry inn. At Foley House, it was just eggs any style with toast and grits. That's it. A big disappointment to say the least. To be quite honest, we've had more creative and substantial breakfasts at the Hilton Garden Inn's. Oh, and, despite what we were told, we could not access the internet in our room. They do have a computer in the parlor, however. Anyway, my observations should not dissuade anyone from staying there; I'm just offering my experiences as a way to give you a heads up - something Trip Advisor is all about.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheWools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

From the moment Jason opened the front door, we felt welcomed and well cared for. All of the staff was friendly, helpful, and professional. The food was outstanding from the breakfast to the sweets to the hors d'oeuvres and wine. We also met wonderful guests from all over the country. We would highly recommend the beautiful Foley Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbw1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Wonderful old building in the heart of the historic district. Staff were great, especially Jason who has found his true calling as manager of a BandB

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryAlbertaBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Our recent stay at the Foley House was nothing short of Wonderful! The beatuiful house and spacious rooms were just the beginning of a great experience. The "Sweets & Tea" in the afternoon and the "Snacks & Wine" in the evening were fresh and welcoming. The staff (Especially Jason) made you feel welcome at all times. the location was on historic Chippewa Square was a great location for allof our activities. When we come back to Savannah - we will be staying at The Foley House!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosslovesPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Great value for the amenities, service, accommodations, and location ! Everyone at the Foley Inn treated us like family, Miss Marney, Indigo, Dan, and especially Jason – We felt like part of the Foley Family. Even other guests socialized and made for a pleasant experience. There are more luxurious B&B’s in Savannah but you can’t beat the Foley Inn for Value and Comfort. Jason is very knowledgeable about the local restaurants and activities in Savannah and was a great help and gave him an A+ for his recommendations. Only 1 day out of the 5 days we stayed we had a luke warm shower. The wine from 6-7:00 pm and coffee and treats from 3:00 – 5:00 pm were an added treat that we indulged ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mfrisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,809 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Ballastone Inn
#15 of 114 in Savannah
830 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 114 in Savannah
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley House Inn

Address: 14 W Hull St, Savannah, GA 31401-3903
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $206 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic Foley House Inn bed and breakfast in Savannah, Georgia is made up of two lavishly renovated historic mansions facing the quiet and lovely Chippewa Square. This romantic Savannah Inn is distinguished both by location and historic prominence. This historic bed and breakfast mansion hotel is located in the exact center of your Savannah Georgia destination journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Foley House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foley House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing