We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savannah, GA Spring trip”
Review of Foley House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foley House Inn
Ranked #7 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Foley House Inn is a wonderful bed and breakfast in the Historic District of Savannah. The room was beautiful and had a balcony area as well. The room was very clean and well kept. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful in recommending places to eat and tours to take. The breakfast was delicious each morning too! The Inn is within walking distance to shopping and River Street which made getting around easy as well. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdrappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went to the Foley Inn for our wedding anniversary. From the minuet we walked through the door the staff treated us like they had know us for 20 years. To say they were friendly is an understatement.

On a whole, the Inn is a microcosm of Savannah itself in every sense of the word. It is located smack in the middle of the Historic District. The Inn has every bit of the historic charm. The rooms have ornate decor with modern touches (a gas fire place with a timer, flat screen television, jacuzzi bath tub and a beautiful shower). Also, Savannah is considered a "haunted" city and the Inn has it's own spirit with an apropos name "Wally". The Inn also overlooks the Square where the narrative of Forrest Gump was filmed. Also, around the block is where the majority of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil takes place.

The breakfast was served with a delicious locally sourced coffee, fresh fruit, and a delicate pastry every morning. Starting at 3 they serve sweet tea and sweets with the inn master on duty.

You are free to walk around the city with adult beverages, so long as they are in a plastic cup. Grab a cold beer or bloody mary, head down to the river and bask in the warn Georgian sun. There, you will find entertainment of all sorts whether you are into listing to the many people playing various musical instruments or just people watching, this is the place to be.

If you are going to Savannah, leave the kids at home and stay at the Foley Inn.

Room Tip: Room 205 has a balcony that overlooks the Square in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Staying here was a very comfortable and romantic choice. The house is gorgeous. Perfectly set up for privacy or interaction with other guests. The bedrooms are spacious and we loved the patio and garden. Breakfast was delicious and coffee always available. The staff was helpful and attentive. The bed was very comfy and loved the bath towels. We always felt welcome. We will always return to this B & B and recommend it! Thank you Christine, Tyler, Ed, Ms "D"...and the whole staff. Foley house is lucky to have you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabetht398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here back in December and we loved everything about it. The rooms were very cozy and the staff was exceptional! The breakfast we had every morning was delicious. The Inn was beautiful, and the location was fantastic. I do recommend the Foley House Inn and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This B & B is in a great location, but it is in serious need of some upkeep. The carpeting in the entry and up the back stairs was shabby. Our room was on the 3rd floor and the staircases has holes in the metal and the outside door was in need of paint. The room itself was fine, but nothing remarkable. The breakfasts were a bit small, but the afternoon sweets and appetizers were very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and they carried our bags up to our 3rd floor room.

We are early breakfast people and on the second morning we were there, we came down to only 1 or 2 coffee cups on a dirty tray that had not been cleaned up from the night before. We took cups off the breakfast tables instead. I liked the looks of the Foley house from a distance, but once inside, we could see that no one was paying attention to the details.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house if you can. It is much better than having to go outside and climb 3 flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Never Too Old to Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just got back from staying in the Foley House Inn for 2 nights - what a treat! The room was spacious, nicely decorated, and had a gas fireplace. The bathroom was huge and the shower a dream. The included hot breakfast was delicious. Staff at the Foley House is plentiful and helpful - interesting characters, which make for fun conversation! We had the opportunity to chat with a lot of the other occupants and shared places to visit or eat. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bljocj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Location, Location, Location....this place is located within walking distance to all of Historic Savannah. We didn't have to drive to any location unless we wanted to. The Inn hosts were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was served every morning with that great Southern Charm. I would definitely recommend the Foley House Inn.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a 1st floor room if stairs are a problem. Our room was on the 3rd floor so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,922 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 30 in Savannah
739 reviews
Presidents' Quarters Inn
#5 of 30 in Savannah
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley House Inn

Address: 14 W Hull St, Savannah, GA 31401-3903
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $192 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic Foley House Inn bed and breakfast in Savannah, Georgia is made up of two lavishly renovated historic mansions facing the quiet and lovely Chippewa Square. This romantic Savannah Inn is distinguished both by location and historic prominence. This historic bed and breakfast mansion hotel is located in the exact center of your Savannah Georgia destination journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Foley House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foley House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing