We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Midnight in the Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Book Gift Shop

The Book Gift Shop
Ranked #29 of 78 Shopping in Savannah
Attraction details
Oralndo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Midnight in the Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I love the movie "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil and found this shop was well worth the visit. She has everything about the characters in the book as well as additional items you could not find anywhere else.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist4003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Charming little gift shop...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a delightful shpping experience while recently visiting Savannah, at the "The Book" Gift Shop on Calhoun Square. The shop was full of interesting little Savannah mementos and many items relating to the book, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. The shop attendant was a wealth of local information and colorful stories, the merchandise eclectic and varied. We wandered in by accident after visiting the Cathedral, and were most glad we did - a very interesting little find!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fan of Midnight? Stop in here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This little book store located on Calhoun Square in thie historic district is a must do for fans of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. This shop has anything and everything associated with this book and movie.

The lady who owns the shop is very knowledgeable about the story and even has had some interaction with the sister of Jim Williams and knows her. She had a lot of good stories to tell. Stop in after the Mercer-Williams house tour for great stories!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MLM39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, IN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's about "The Book"...not a bookstore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

The owner was super friendly, but make sure your purpose for going there is for Midnight in the Garden memorabilia...not for a traditional bookstore. Great book and movie articles posted throughout. This gift shop is a little pricey: I paid more for a book there than the bookstore across the street that was charging the list price.

Helpful?
Thank sstraiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Querky treasures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Overseeing all was the owner herself ready and able to give background information not only about The Book but also about Savannah and 'the slow, if at all' to change culture. Nothing was too much trouble and I felt I had my moneys' worth.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gloqueen-54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Book Gift Shop also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Book Gift Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing