We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
link044
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

Have been to Savannah several times. It is our favorite place in the States. We love it there.
Have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express 4 times. It is absolutely the best hotel. Great location, extremely clean and without a doubt the best staff in Savannah. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. I have stayed at one of the more higher end hotels. It didn't hold a candle to the Holiday Inn Express. We just paid more for a name.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank link044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelliepickhardt, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for being a loyal guest of the Holiday Inn Express, Historic Savannah. It is so good to hear that you not only had a good stay recently but that you have been here 4 times and still loving it. That is certainly our goal and we hope to see you again soon. Amanda Pouyat, AGM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,442
    676
    121
    35
    24
See reviews for
558
1,088
70
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

The hotel staff and facilities were great. Our son is in a wheelchair and everything was very accessible. The valet parking was $5 more per day than the lot next door to the hotel, but it was well worth it. Generally if we called before we left the room, the vehicle was waiting for us when we got downstairs. Breakfast was also great with a wide selection that pleased each of us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jccnjjcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelliepickhardt, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so pleased to hear that your stay was a pleasant one. I will pass your great feedback on to our breakfast and valet staff both teams work very hard to make sure your expereince is a pleasant one and it is great to hear that they hit the mark on both. The entire team hopes to welcome you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

My friend and I booked this hotel because it was the best priced for the location. We walked all over the place from here. The Hotel staff was so good to us, gave us a beautiful view of the river on the 8th floor. Always there to help us with directions and questions. The breakfast area was neat and clean and well stocked, the food was good the staff was there to please always smiling. We even went down on Labor Day weekend.
The only draw back we had was the hot tub was out of service, and the pool was half the size it depicted in the pictures, couldn't swim laps as it was only 4 ft deep. Nice view from the top of the building.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebethluvspurses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelliepickhardt, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out this review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel!! I am so sorry for the time that the hot tub was out of service. Maintenance issues are never a welcome problem, just one we are forced to deal with. I apologize if this disrupted your trip in any way. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon!! Amanda Pouyat AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

This hotel was beautiful and clean. But you really pay for it! The location was as safe as possible considering some dark allys further down on the way to the hot spots, But I never felt uncomfortable there at night. The River walk is just across the street; full of art, music, locals, bbq, acrobats, all kinds of fun stuff. We will take our kid next time. The Parks are absolutely gorgeous and just a short walk away. Everything was in walking distance!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cantstopfishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelliepickhardt, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
We hope that you spend every honeymoon with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

I am a hotel snob and had my doubts. It's just a Holiday Inn Express, after all. But the reviews were great so I took a chance, and am so glad I did! This was the best experience we have ever had at a hotel, and we have stayed at some pretty ritzy places. The staff was incredible: efficient, friendly, helpful, professional, attentive. The decor was impressive, the rooms lovely and comfortable, and the buffet breakfast far exceeded our expectations. Hands down the best we have ever had. Don't skip the hot cinnamon rolls - yum! The whole place was great, but the staff is what really sets it apart. Every one of them worked to make our stay special. It felt like we were staying at a 5-star hotel, but with a warm, bed-and-breakfast type staff that was personally invested in making the experience wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelliepickhardt, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
We agree!! Our goal is to be the hotel of choice in downtown Savannah. I am so happy that your stay was a success!! Please tell all your friends to come and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights from August 16th through the 21st. I was delightfully surprised to see that they had upgraded our room (at no cost) to a king bed after only paying for a Queen. The continental breakfast was quite large and was actually really good. When we decided we wanted to stay an extra night, the manager allowed us to stay at the same rate even though it was a weekend night and should have cost considerably more per the rates online. The fitness center was small, but could have easily served the purpose. However, there was only two treadmills, one elliptical, and a large machine for weights, etc. The elliptical moved when you were on it and did not feel at all secure. The rooftop pool was nice and the view was awesome. Honestly, I really only have one complaint/concern about this hotel. On our last day there, we were getting ready to go to Tybee Island. However, it had started storming really bad. The electric had actually flickered a couple of times. Apparently this caused the elevators to stop working. We stood at the elevators (on the ground floor) for 2-3 minutes before I finally had to ask the desk clerk if they were working. Since they weren't, we decided to wait it out since we didn't feel like walking up 8 flights of stairs. The storm got worse and the thunder and lightening became quite scary. I watched several other guests walk up to the elevators and stand while the desk clerks failed to saying notify them that the elevator was down. I decided to tell them myself since no one else was apparently going to. Within a few minutes a siren started to go off outside of the hotel. I approached the hotel clerk to ask him what it was to which he replied that he "thought" it was a tornado warning. I asked to clarify if it was a "warning" or a "watch" and he didn't seem to be sure. Long story short, the siren eventually stopped going off and there apparently was no tornado. If anything, I would say that the hotel could use some training on customer handling during severe weather etc. Aside from that, the location is perfect and you can't beat the value for the price! I'm not sure how much the valet parking actually is, but I would recommend parking in the garage beside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogMom35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

My wife and I visited historic Savannah and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on East Bay St. with a group of approximately 20 couples. To my knowledge everyone was as delighted as we were with the way we were treated from check in until check out. It is in an ideal location, the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff very professional and friendly. A great value.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesterrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing