We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Spot and Ideal for Sightseeing in Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Spot and Ideal for Sightseeing in Savannah”
Reviewed May 26, 2010

My wife and I decided to stay at the Holiday Inn Express after reading other reviews. I am in total agreement with the praise! We arrived early (11:30 a.m.) and were immediately able to check into a 3rd floor/rear king leisure room. This gave us just enough time to quickly walk to Mrs. Wilkes' for a late lunch. The 2 1/2 hour wait is a Savannah experience and worth it. Although the room had no view and it wasn't especially spacious, there was also no street noise and it was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was functional with a walk in shower, but no tub. We couldn't take in the view from the rooftop as the pool was being repaired with no access permitted. Three day weekend public parking next door was only $13-$14 instead of the $15/day valet parking at the hotel. Located just across the street from river attractions and within the historic district, it was a great place to park the car and walk everywhere. Breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of room to eat in a pleasant setting. Becki's in-house bar was a nice touch and she was more than helpful with reservations and touring advice.

There is so much to see and do in Savannah. Take the Old Town Trolly for the tour and to get on and off at the numerous stops. Keep the shirt sticker as you may be able to ride for more than one day at no additional charge. Stroll the riverwalk, take the free boat ride from River St to the Westin and back, admire the many historic squares, walk through senic Forsythe Park, and tour the big/beautiful homes. We ate lunches at Vic's on the River (very nice with great fried green tomato sandwiches) and Boar's Head Grill (good burgers). The Pink House Mansion was very nice with an outside table and good food.

The desk staff was young, polite, and helpful, but didn't seem to have much concierge pull with reservations.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DERetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,532
    703
    129
    36
    23
See reviews for
599
1,145
71
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

being in the downtown area it is on a busy street, you can walk to all the historic areas, right across the street from the river, if on the river side and high floor you can see the boats, From the roof top pool area at night you can see the lit city lights. The front desk staff were helpful and the valet service was a plus. Does have a full free breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feather_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

My two friends and I stayed in 3 rooms at this hotel. Perfect location for all the sightseeing, eating and drinking we wanted to do. The bartender (female) was fabulous! What a treasure! She was knowledgable about the area, places to eat, kept a lively conversation going. Was smart and while giving out men's names in the bar, was very discreet about women's names. My room had plumbing issues and the hotel staff tried to fix it but were unable. I got a different room and moved. Thought I should have had something taken off my bill for the hassle (and now not being close to my two friends), but I would stay there again in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenifr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Yes - it is a chain hotel but once you step inside - all that stays behind.
I secured a corner room and the view of the river was very nice. Lots of windows and great room layout.
Employees were very friendly.
I did think it was a little too expensive.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Averyfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateshead, england
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at the beginning of our tour of Georgia & Florida. Everything was excellant, the staff very helpful & pleasant. The breakfast just a little extra special from the normal with hot bacon & scrambled eggs plus the cereal, toast etc. The parking in the garage next door was effortless and cheaper than the valet parking at the hotel. We didn't have a view of the river from our room, but on a high floor it was very quiet, no street noise. Very comfy beds with a lovely bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ????
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We booked this hotel based on the reviews here and it's true it deserves a high score. Arrived in the area by car May 10, 2010. Requested a 7th floor room (advised by a TA reviewer) overlooking the river upon booking and was granted when we checked in. The view of the river especially at night is breathtaking! Parked the car in the public parking garage next door ($10/24hr vs $15/night valet). The staff are very friendly and helpful, checking in was very smooth. The room is very nice, clean, modern (the best among HI express we stayed during the 2- week vacation), bed is comfortable. Breakfast is good. The hotel is in a perfect location in the historic district and river front shopping. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Stayed here based on reviews from Tripadvisor.com and was very pleased with hotel. Staff was very friendly and courteous, every time we entered they greeted us with a smile. David who worked the front desk was polite and engaged us with conversation every time we saw him. Room was spacious with upgraded amenities. Walk in tile shower was a nice surprise! The only thing that might be a negative would be the room we had was right by the elevator on 8th floor and seemed like the door didn't keep out all the noises. Could hear some people talk in the hall at 3:00am. Not a big deal, I'm a light sleeper anyway. Will stay here again, centrally located and excellent customer service!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fertiml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,832 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 113 in Savannah
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing