We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Savannah(Savannah)
$175
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Best Western Central Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$188
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$202
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$167
$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
River Street Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
$172
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The DeSoto(Savannah)
$169
$135
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Planters Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
$164
$149
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,674)
Filter reviews
2,674 results
Traveler rating
1,722
747
141
40
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,722
747
141
40
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolhistoric districtbay streetvalet parkinghi expressgreat locationwithin walking distanceriver viewcorner roomfree breakfastcity garageself parkper daywould definitely stay here againfront desk stafftrolley stopvalet service
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 2,674 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited Savannah over the holiday and stayed at this property. A great decision. The hotel is very centrally located and only a block from the river and the riverwalk. Check in was quick and efficient. Parking is valet only ($22/day) and used the adjoining city garage. We did not use the car until we departed to home but the valet crew was friendly and courteous.

Despite seeing some lobby signs talking about renovations we did not see anything amiss that would impact our stay.

The room was nicely appointed but a tad on the smaller side. Other than some normal wear and tear everything was ship shape and clean. The bed was quite comfortable. The room was quiet too which made it even better for sleeping.

Bathroom had plenty of towels and strong, hot shower water. Nice.

We did not use the wifi much but when we did it was reliable and with good signal strength.

The breakfast was just as others have described. Nice way to start the morning. There is a co-located pub with a daily afternoon happy hour but they are closed on Sundays. I need to add my kudos to Faye who works the breakfast room. Always friendly and smiling. Very personable lady.

The lobby concierge was helpful in arranging day and evening tours for us.

All in all, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and anticipate revisiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Langley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your Memorial Weekend Getaway with us at our Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District!
We so appreciate the specifics you shared in your review as they not only help us maintain our high standards of customer service, but also help your fellow Trip Advisor travelers as they decide where to stay in our fine city!
Great to hear your stay from check in to check out was so wonderful. We are wrapping up some renovations so it was good to hear they did not impact your stay.
Thanks also for the awesome shout-out to Faye on our breakfast team. She and all our entire breakfast team work hard to make sure all our guests are well-fed and well taken care of each and every day!
We hope we get the pleasure of hosting you and your wife again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was neat and clean.The housekeepers were friendly and kept our room tidy. The beds were comfortable and it was great having the refrigerator/microwave combo in the room.The hotel was close to several places including Olde Pink House and Leopolds. The continental breakfast was an added bonus. Micheal was an awesome front desk associate who was helpful with giving us dining options and things to do at our check-in. He was very good at exceeding our expectations during our stay. He found us plastic cutlery in the middle of the night. Thank you Michael for your positive attitude and southern hospitality. I would also like to thank Alan for being pleasant and helpful during our stay. May God continue to bless you both.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Lukisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us at our Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District!
Great to hear you enjoyed your room, our location, and your breakfast!
Thank you for the wonderful shout-out to our housekeeping team - they are truly the unsung heroes of our hotel - they all work hard to make sure our rooms are clean, well-appointed and ready when our guests arrive!
And special thanks for recognizing Michael and Alan on our front team - they are awesome and we'll be sure to share your kind words with them!
Please come back and stay with us again the next time your travels bring you back to Savannah!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Two things:
1. Tabatha is my hero. We originally had three people to our room: me, my wife, and her sister. But her sister couldn’t come. When we arrived to check into our room with two beds, Tabatha, realizing there were only two of us, asked, “do you still need two beds?” We said no, and so she started looking for a better room. Turns out she put us into a one-bedroom queen, which we said was perfectly fine, and ended up saving us $156 from our originally booked itinerary! She went out of her way to ask a simple question and ended up saving us huge!
2. My wife has celiac disease, and so gluten is strictly prohibited. THEY HAD UDI’S BLUEBERRY MUFFINS AND UDI’S BAGELS! We’ve NEVER seen that before in a free continental breakfast. My wife was beside herself. Thank you Holiday Inn!

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

There is nothing better than hearing from our guests that the service they received was "excellent!" Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your time with us at our Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District!
Thank you also for your amazing shout-out about Tabatha on our front desk team. She's a gem and we're delighted to hear she took such good care of you!
We're also thrilled to know you found our gluten free options for breakfast just perfect!
We sure hope you will come back and stay with us again- can't wait to see you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

HIE is getting ready for room renovations, which are needed. Room wasn’t bad - just needs updating. WiFi easy to use. Breakfast was good. Staff pleasant. The concierge Sonja is a big plus! Location great. On block from river and central east-west in historic district. One big issue that I have with HIE is the fact that my credit card was billed the day before we checked in!! Never heard of such a policy! Was explained that had we not kept our reservation we would have had to pay for one night. Also we paid for parking with our room (discount that way) but I was still billed separately for parking which they assure me will be removed from my card. Seems to me that their billing practices also need “renovation”

Stayed: May 2018
Thank ejohnsonc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2018

Really enjoyed our time at the HI Express. We arrived over 5 hours before check-in and they already had a room ready for us. Right across the street from the river and less than a 10 min walk to the Market district. Before we checked out the next day, we got breakfast where we met Faye. What a lovely lady. She was so kind and even said an extra prayer for us so we would have a safe trip home. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpipino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2018

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District and for writing such a wonderful review of your stay with us!
Its great to know our team was able to get your room ready early so you could venture out and take in our wonderful city!
Love to hear you enjoyed our location and our breakfast team! Thanks for the specific shout-out to Faye - she is a gem and truly enjoys all our guests, helpoing to make sure they have everything they need.
We hope we get the pleasure of hosting you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews