We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #11 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2010

This hotel is well situated for those who wish to walk around the historic district and it employs a friendly, welcoming staff. The hotel is well appointed and nicely kept and the breakfast is a comfortable extra.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autotraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,483)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,197 - 2,203 of 2,483 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2010

very nice and new hotel.. the staff was awesome. from the moment we arrived in the pouring rain, their warmth made it feel sunny even though it wasn't. the breakfast is very nice as you set out to explore savannah on foot. wish there were more computers b/c too many people were taking so long on them it was hard to find a minute to use one.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearclawOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

I heard the horn. Coming from the river. Looking out the window on the 7th floor you could see the ship moving down river and out to sea. Moving slowly but majestically, this mammoth ship in the channel was riding high. The bridge was the same level as I was.
I could live here, there is so much to do just downtown.
Looking out from the rooftoop pool was great, as the view was clear, and the weather - brisk, but not cold. It is February, and about as cold as Savannah gets.
Later, walked to Loco Bar & Grill for a meeting, and on to the Morocco restaurant for meal + belly dancer. What a great night.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayhawkNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

This was our first time staying in a hotel in savannah. Normally we stay in a B&B so i wasnt sure what to expect. From the moment we walked in the door the hotel staff was very friendly. They have a valet service for $15 a day. We opted to park ourselves in the parking garage that is right next door. When we stay in Savannah we never use our car so for 3 days of parking the cost was only $13. The hotel looked brand new and modern. We stayed in a queen room which also had a sitting area,desk, flat screen tv, bar with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The bed was very comforable ,The bathroom was also huge. The location was perfect. Across the road was the river and then the historic district was only steps away. They also have a very nice rooftop area with pool, hot tub, and lounge chairs. We loved going on the roof and looking out at the river and watching the large container ships coming in. They also have a great free breakfast. We will def be staying here again!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Atrn30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Just walking into the lobby of this hotel sets the tone and you feel like you are in a historical town already. A town that is clean, a hotel that is sheek and up to date and friendly! All of the personal welcomed me and the customer service was very good. This is one of the few Holiday Inn Express hotels that has a bar called Port Royal which was a nice experience as well. The rooms were very clean and I did not feel like I was in a Holiday Inn Express. The breakfast was also very good with lots of choices for a hot meal or fruit for a lighter fare. Also a great location that is within walking distance to the river front and historic district.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBBAlpharetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Expecting a no-thrills motel, I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, which is in a prime location in an 18th century(-looking ?) building on Bay Street, just one block from all the riverside bars and restaurants on River Street, and right in the middle of the historic district.

The hotel is very new and the rooms and lobby are more 4-star than your normal Holiday Inn Express standard. The rooftop pool is very small and the terrace area around won't fit in many people but its a great place to see the sunset. Breakfast was included in the price and was the standard American affair of toast, waffles, coffee and juice, served in plastic cups and with plastic cutlery, certainly no thrills here. Free wireless internet, good reception.

A branch of my favourite burger chain in the US, Five Guys, is 5 minutes walk along Bay Street.

My only complaint is that the rooms had a bit of a blocked drain smell.

Otherwise it would be hard to beat this hotel at this price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casualist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

A new hotel with clean rooms and excellent staff. Beckie the bar manager was great. Really frendly with tips and advice about where to eat and visit. She also introduced guests to each other and it made for a really friendly atmosphere.

The buffet breakfast included in the price was really good and well stocked. If I was going to criticise, which would seem a little petty, the bar did close early on some nights, so if you returned for a nightcap you couldn't always get one.

It is situated right near to plenty of places to eat and shop, all within walking distance. A great place for a holiday, and we will be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swampduckgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,944 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 114 in Savannah
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $158 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing